about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: phiggys  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add phiggys to your Buddy List
Nikon 85mm f/1.4D IF AF Nikkor

1933NAS_180
Review Date: Apr 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, optical quality, it's simply a dream lens for portraits and weddings. This is my third copy if you include the MF Ais version I had. I started using a couple of zooms to lighten the load but there is something a little special about this lens. The opportunity came along to get another copy so I did a straight trade for a new Nikon AFS105mm f2.8 VR macro I had sitting in the cupboard. It simply produces quality and Bokeh to die for IMO.
Cons:
IMO nothing I still prefer it to my friends new AFS version.



 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor

1902NCP_180
Review Date: Aug 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Speed and extra light gathering power beautiful Bokeh wide open.
Cons:
I have owned a number of 50mm f1.8 versions which IMO are sharper with more contrast

This AFN lens came with a Nikon FM2n I purchased.
And a friend was after a 50mm for his D70 so I sold my AFN 50mm f1.8 to him. "Wish I had kept it now though"


 
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

1987NCP_180
Review Date: Aug 28, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Build and image quality,manual focus feels really good, 62mm filters
Cons:
Slow A.F. but its not needed for macro work. Can be to sharp if used for portraits but the focal length on DX format is perfect @ 90mm

Why cant all AF lenses work and feel as good as this one does when switched to manual?
"The old 105mm micro is the same."
I think this is an excellent lens mine is the D version and I think it's even sharper than the 105mm.
For close up and copying its faultless gives a reasonable working distance from subject works well on digital slrs as well.


 
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

1987NCP_180
Review Date: Aug 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build and image quality,manual focus feels really good, 62mm filters
Cons:
Slow A.F. but its not needed for macro work. Can be to sharp if used for portraits but the focal length on DX format is perfect @ 90mm

Why cant all A.F. lenses work and feel as good as this one does when switched to manual ? "The old 105mm micro feels the same."
I think this is an excellent lens mine is the D but this has now been replaced with the 60mm A.F.S. version by Nikon.
For close up and copying its faultless gives a reasonable working distance from subject works well on digital slrs as well.


 
Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED AF

1998NCP_180
Review Date: Dec 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This has been a excellent lens to have in my bag. Pin sharp images that I have got with this lens convinced me to part with a number of fixed prime lenses that took up space in my bag. Pin sharp,lightweight,build quality.
Cons:
None yet.



 
Nikon 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR

2145NCP_180
Review Date: Jan 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good Zoom range AFS and VR sharp quality optics.
Cons:
None what so ever.

This is now my standard lens its certainly lightweight in comparison with the AFS 28mm-70mm f2.8 that I also own.
I may well replace/trade in for another 24mm-120 VR.
Yes I think its that good!


 
Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

ef24mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp, compact producing razor sharp images great wide angle for group shots,landscapes or general photography.
Cons:
58mm filter thread most of the others 28mm,35mm 50mm 135mm take 52mm filters

Great all round lens I now have just 3 Canon primes this one and the 50mm and 135mm these 3 primes cover 95% of what I need great for available and low light.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2.8 with Softfocus

ef135mmf_28soft_1_
Review Date: Dec 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Its fast,lightweight and pin sharp when used without the soft focuss settings. You can ceate some great s/f images. And it comes at a bargain price IMO.
Cons:
None for the price.

If you buy one of these lenses you should take the time to shoot a couple of test rolls of film using different apertures and s/f settings.Remember different working distances from subjects also change the appearance and depth of field If you write down what settings you have used you will soon be able to set the lens to what you want.
On a digital its even quicker and easier to do your testing.


 
Nikon 135mm f/2D AF-DC Nikkor

1935NAS_180
Review Date: Dec 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast wide aperture gives you a bright viewfinder good in low light, images are razor sharp or as soft as you want them to be.Build and optical quality are second to none.
Cons:
Lens hood is a little on the short side. And its heavy due to the quality build.

I purchased this lens because I have the Canon 135mm f2.8 Soft focus lens for my eos.
I realy liked the images I was able to take with it.
And wanted to be able to cpture the same kind of images with my Nikon gear.
I have also found this to be a good lens for both indoor and outdoor sports.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, Quality, Fast f1.8 Mk1 are better built and a match for the F1.4
Cons:
If you have the MK1 nothing but the MK II is very plastic and feels fragile in comparison.

Have owned both MK 1 and MK II version of this lens and also the f1.4
IMO the MK1 50 f1.8 is the pick of the bunch.
Its also makes a nice portrait lens on the 10D.


 
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC-Nikkor

1932NAS_180
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image and build quality is first class its fast pin sharp or as soft as you want it to be.
Cons:
Heavy and expensive but quality usually is !

Love the results from this lens but need to use it more than I do at the moment.
Works well on digital body as well as film.


 
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

1931NCP_180
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $160.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality,fast, sharp, nice bokeh, compact and excellent value.
Cons:
Larger filter size compared with shorter Prime lenses from Nikon.

The 4th prime lens that I puchased, its a nice fast portrait lens on a 35mm film body.

I have now replaced this with the 105 f2.0 DC lens.


 
Nikon 105mm f/2.8D AF Micro

1988NCP_180
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build and image quality,manual focus feels really good, 52mm filters
Cons:
Slow AF but its not needed for macro work. To sharp for portraits unless you use s/f filter.

Why cant all AF lenses work and feel as good as this one does when switched to manual???
I think this is an excellent lens mine isnt the D version but the earlier one.
For close up and copying its faultless gives a reasonable working distance from subject works well on digital slrs as well.


 
Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

1923NCP_180
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $140.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb image quality and value for money reasonably fast at F2.0
Cons:
None !

This was the 2nd Nikon prime lens that I purchased after the AF 50mm f1.8 and it complements it perfectly.
It makes a good standard lens on a digital body giving you a little over 50mm in focal length.


 
Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor

1919NCP_180
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $165.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Top drawer quality small, light, fast and sharp at any aperture. Will beat even the best pro zooms for image quality.
Cons:
None

Has been in my wedding kit bag from day one after changing to the Nikon system in January 1991.
Along with AF35mm f2.0, AF 50mm 1.8 and AF 85mm f1.8.
Used at more weddings for group shots than I care to remember.


 
Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor

1925NAS_180
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ultra-wide field of view on 35mm film camera and good on digital. Superb build and optical quality.
Cons:
Big,Heavy and expensive. But quality usually is !

Purchased this lens as I missed not having a real wide angle for my digital SLR.
Have since purchased Nikons AFD 16mm f2.8 fisheye and the 14mm has stayed at home since :-(


 

Page:  1 · 2  next