about | support

  Reviews by: phidong  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add phidong to your Buddy List
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Review Date: Mar 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $625.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, fast focusing, great value for the money.

This is an amazing lens. I didn't think I would like it so much but after using it for a couple events I have become a believer. If this isn't a part of your kit, maybe it should be!

Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 EX DC

Review Date: Jun 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $420.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp all the way to corners, peppy focus (but not laser quick), great build quality, reasonable front filter size, affordable
DC lens, vignettes wide open on wide end (not a lot), requires thin filters

This is an amazing lens, and a winner in the price column by all means. The competition is double the price (16-35 f/2.8, etc.). This has a better range (longer) and is incredibly sharp.

Sigma 15mm f2.8 EX Diagonal Fisheye

Review Date: Jun 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $315.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: fast focus, excellent build quality, affordable, comes with pouch
if i had to say one thing, it's the double lens cap (theres a cap and a ring, canon just has a cover that is one piece, the sigma is two)

This is an excellent lens. The quality, colors, etc. rival the Canon in every way and the price shatters the competition. It is significantly cheaper than the Canon equivalent, but the performance is on par or better. On a 1.6x crop body, there is still some distortion, but not a lot.

If you want a full fisheye effect, the 8mm is the way to go, but I like the look of the 15mm. Everything about this lens is a winner.

Sigma 100-300mm f4 EX IF HSM APO

Review Date: Jun 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: affordable, great reach (100-300 or 140-420 w/ 1.4x), constant f/4, great build (very solid), comes with hood and pouch, 4 year warranty for US, fast focus (hsm), very very very sharp
minimum focusing distance sharpness

The Sigma 100-300mm f/4 EX HSM is an excellent lens. I would even dare to claim that it is Sigma's finest lens (and despite some hatred for third party, they do in fact have several great lenses). It is by far the sharpest zoom lens that I have ever mounted on my camera or used for that matter (This includes the 100-400L, 70-200L [all 3], 24-70L, 28-75, etc.)

The speedy focus, even with a 1.4x teleconverter, makes this lens a very special lens. An effective 140-420mm f/5.6 is a great lens for daytime shooting. I figure if I'm outside already, I could always use the little extra reach. For low light shooting, you probably want to put this lens away, unless you're tripod shooting still objects or your have incredibly steady hands. This is hardly a con in my opinion though because this lens wasn't designed to be a low light telephoto.

At minimum focusing distance (~5ft) the lens isn't as sharp as it is when a bit further away.

I definitely recommend this lens to anybody who needs reach. To put things into perspective, I was planning to purchase a 300mm f/4L prior to getting a great deal on this gem and now that isn't even in my plans anymore. The 70-200mm f/2.8L IS I was going to purchase has been moved to a way lower priority.

This lens is amazing. Get it if you can, you will NOT regret it! :O

Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

Review Date: Sep 9, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,024.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: cheap =)
small buffer =(

This is my first dSLR. It is GREAAAAT!! =)

Sigma 20mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical RF

Review Date: Sep 1, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: price, speed (1.8), sharpness

This is an excellent lens. Its a bit big, and the autofocus/mf switch is kind of annoying. Its a two stage process, the AF/MF switch then the ring (have to push it back). Its larger than my Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8.

The upside is even w/o HSM its fast focusing. Decent low light performance.. and pretty sharp (one of my sharpest lenses) =)

Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 XR Di Zoom AF

Review Date: Aug 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $322.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: cost, wide open performance, sharpness
flimsy hood

This is a great lens. For the price, it is an excellent performer. I chose it over the 24-70 because you can get > 3 < of these for the price of a 24-70mm f/2.8L!! The performance is on par with the L which is nice. I haven't had too much gripe with the focusing, which is faster than my 50mm f/1.8. Great lens. I use it about 75% of the time and have no intentions of replacing it with anything anytime soon.

edit: I realized the focusing ring moving during focusing bugs me as well. Its a small price to pay.

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

Review Date: Jun 4, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: This is my sharpest lens. Its a cheapie, but I always finding myself using it when I'm low on light. What can I say? Its a great value!