backup
Photoshop actions
 
 


  Reviews by: peterstrong  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add peterstrong to your Buddy List
Canon EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM

843011
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

An amazing performer. I am a professional and use this without hesitation, it is so sharp and has that "look" that I so like in a semi wide prime.

Great for portraits and general streetscape.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp after f2.0 Nice bokeh Nice build even it's an old lens Very fast AF
Cons:

Excellent lens. Such a reliable workhorse. I can always count on this lens to have perfect autofocus and to be sharp. It's a little soft (and has CA) in the corners until between f2 and f2.8. By f2.8 it's very sharp across the frame. But that all seems typical for such a fast WA lens. Can't complain too much there.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very handy small size, impressive IQ.
Cons:
AF is a little noisy, build quality is average

Bougth this for my canon 5D and... travel. Perfect on it. This two can make a real walk around dream kit. On my 5D it's wide enough for most of the indoor subjects with low ligth and NO FLASH because of it's F2.0 aperture. I have the "canons most sacred secret" EF 50 F1.8 wich i love and i was a bit ceptic about the quality difference of this 35 F2.0 but soon as i started comparing both i was surprised! It's even sharper at F4 than my 50 F1.8 !!

 
Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS

35f2is
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent Build, optics near perfect, IS is usefull on a prime! Works great on a Full Frame body.
Cons:

My initial shots are beyond expected. I am not used to a keepable photo rate like this lens delivers. It does even better than my original 24L mark 1! I am blown away by the sharpness of this lens on my full frame body. Tried it in all shooting conditions and it has perfomed nicely.

 
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

pancake-1
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Small and lightweight.
Cons:

It is solid, lightweight, fits in any space, even in a pocket and dramatically reduces the size of the camera. For street photography is perfect: it's like wearing a classic 35mm camera but still your reflex. A nice format because below 40mm (even on APS-C) compositions are somewhat unrealistic for my taste and 40mm looks like human eye sees reality. Good for small landscapes and macros and is great for portraits. Good colors and as sharp as the 50mm F / 1.4 (which I still adore too). Focus quickly enough, although not a rocket and no problem up to date with manual focus.
A perfect combination for 650D/700D with 18- 135mm.


 
Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

ef24mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Good image quality even at full aperture. Cheap. Light weight. Handles well with dedicated hood.
Cons:

I`ve only had the lens for two days, I`ve shot around 300 images on a 5d2. Just of late and getting older I`ve slowed down from using my Contax and Leica lenses in favour of Canon 28 2.8, 35f2, 50 1.8 mk11. I was needing to carry my contax 21 2.8 (old type) for the extra width and saw this lens at the right price with sale or return listed. So, for the cost of return post I decided to give it a try. To say I`m surprised at the lack of distortion and good corner sharpness is an under statement.


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp lens. Great IQ, build, focus speed.
Cons:

My copy captures exotic light at 1.4 especially in low light where it exhibits apparent sharpness. But when I try to get sharp photos in bright light nothing I do helps. F8 you ask? Nope... Hood and front lighting with a totally staged shot? Nope... After hours of trying, luckily the sun will begin to set and then you can coax out a jaw dropper. The closer you try to replicate its low light performance in daylight the farther you will get from it.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Overall sharpness, excellent center sharpness wide open, built and color rendition, bokeh.
Cons:
My version has somewhat unreliable AF when focusing more than about 10m away.

The image quality at F1.4 is so impressive on my copy that despite having AF issues, I haven't returned my lens. This is because I'm concerned that I'll get a copy with great AF but with less image quality. The lens is tack sharp corner to corner at F1.4 at the minimum focusing distance. One caveat here is that you need to be aware of the extremely thin depth of field at F1.4 combined with the minimum focusing distance. I quite often using live view and manual focusing with 10x zoom on to nail it. The poorest performance is when shooting at infinity (i.e sky, landscape etc.) at F1.4. Generally the corner sharpness drops a fair bit but I never really find myself needing to do this so it doesn't bother me a great deal.

 
Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM

ef20mmf_28usm_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Surprisingly sharp, light, cheap, wide, quite well made, decent contrast, silent autofocus USM
Cons:

I bought this lens because it fit into my budget as I've had to scale down my photography equipment temporarily, I've previously owned such gems as the Zeiss 21mm Distagon and even the 17mm TS-E, while they are both obviously better lenses (I should hope so for how much they cost!) the EF 20mm is definitely a GOOD lens, I am confident that it will consistently deliver good quality images that I can present to clients.

 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp at f/2.8, not a strong fish eye effect relatively mild even on FF. Well built but small enough to take everywhere.
Cons:

I carry lens with me wherever I go because it is so much fun to shoot and never fails to produces the most remarkable images. I've not owned any other fisheye lenses so I can't compare it quality wise with anything. All I know is the images this lens produces consistently puts a smile on my face. I own a lot of lenses so it is quite unique in that regard.

 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM

ef14mmf_28l_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great rectilinear wide angle and fun to use.
Cons:
strongest CA I have ever seen, very soft in the edges, flare!

Contrast is very good and the colors are wonderful. Distortions are well controlled. For indoor shots or for a really wide angle perspective, this is the only lens I would pick.

If you use or have used a 16-35mm or 17-35mm, the extra 2-3mm does add to the wide angle perspective significantly. The 14L is/was sharper than the Canon 16-35L Mk 1 at 16mm and has less distortion while providing the extra perspective.


 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM

EF14
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Angle of view; Fairly wide aperture
Cons:

I think the lens is amazing and very fun to use. However, it can also be frustrating to compose with but that is no fault of the lens. You need to be aware that EVERYTHING gets in the frame at 14mm - your feet, the people around you and even the buildings behind you when you're shooting towards the sky! Therefore a 14mm lens can be a challenge to get a *clean* composition with. This is the only reason I would prefer to own a 14-24mm zoom.

 
Canon TS-E 90mm f/2.8

tse90_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: sharp, manual focus, build like a tank
Cons:
Not really any negative aspects....

Excellent lens - as good optically as any other lens canon makes - and I have owned most of the L series up to 200mm at one point or another.
Use it mostly for product photography with extension tubes....


 
Canon TS-E 45mm f/2.8

ts452_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Creativity, sharpness, bokeh quality
Cons:
not weather-sealed, manual focus

The optical quality of the TS-E 45mm is very good. The lens is very sharp (even on the 5DmkII) and delivers good contrast and colors even wide open. What I really like is how this lens renders out of focus areas. I find the bokeh very pleasant (better than my EF 50mm f/1.4), especially highlights (check the link at the bottom for image samples)! Image quality stays at a very high level even fully tilted. When fully shifted and fully tilted at the same time things can get a little ugly wide open. But the situation quickly improves when stopping down.

 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

24tse
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Image quality. I have serious issues with the files in Lightroom. From 90 feet away at 3:1 magnification I cannot read facial expressions. Even my 200mm f/2.8 can do it for half the price. Jokes aside, I can read the facial expressions at 60ft/2:1 mag. That's how sharp this lens is. I was impressed with the image quality of the lens when I first looked at files in LR, then I realized I was looking at them with 2:1 magnification. I was even more impressed! The resolution of this lens is simply astounding. Pixel peepers can finally get a wide angle and rest easy. The optical quality of this lens matches my 300 2.8L IS. It's that impressive. The files hold up to massive scrutiny.

 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L

ts243_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I could live with wide open performance being poor but I thought it would improve stopping down and it really doesn't. I have also read many reviews discussing chromatic aberration and although its there it isn't very pronounced.

 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next