about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: perpera  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add perpera to your Buddy List
Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L

17tse
Review Date: Feb 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: VERY best wideangle I've ever used. Sharp from corner to corner at every aperture. Flare and ghosting very well controlled.
Cons:
You can't use filters! Pricey!

Sets new standards for Canon wideangles!

 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Mar 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality, full frame, resolution, iso performance, build quality, screen, auto sensor cleaning, operation speed, center point AF performance
Cons:
none for landscape photography

Being into landscape photography everything is just perfect from my point of view.

 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $616.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp and lightweight, very resistant to flare
Cons:
noisy AF

My copy of this excellent lens is sharp wide open in center and sharp from corner to corner at aperture 5.6.
The only con is a very noisy AF when compared to USM.
Very recommendable.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Oct 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, great contrasts, great colors, fast focusing, lightweight
Cons:
needs to be stopped a bit down to be sharp in corners

I'm really happy with this lense. It's a wide angle lens, it's a zoom and not a prime, so don't expect it to be as sharp wide open as a prime.
Upgraded from the elder 17-35 L USM - and this is a tad better.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Oct 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP, SHARP, SHARP. Image Stabilizer amazingly effective.
Cons:
none

very VERY amazingly sharp wide open and from corner to corner. IQ couldn't be better. Expensive but worth the price.
The IS is the best of any IS lens I ever tried, four f/stop for handheld shots is real and I do not have the steadiest of hands.
Highly recommended for anybody who is looking for a lightweight, very high performance tele-zoom.


 
Sigma 14mm f2.8 EX Aspherical

14mmEXhsm_1_
Review Date: Dec 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $315.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open. Fast AF. Build quality. Fast aperture
Cons:
Flare, lens cap system annoying

This is a very special lens - focal lenght 14mm! And as such it has very special characteristics.
My copy of the Sigma 14mm f/2.8 Aspheric lens is great! It's built beautifully and focuses fast. On 1dMkII I've found this lens' image quality outstanding from it's F/2.8 full aperture till the diffraction limitation of it's smallest apertures which is an inherent flaw in practically any lens. But my Sigma 14mm f/2.8 Aspheric is very good at full aperture and with a unique Bokeh when focused on (very) closeup subjects.
This is clearly one of Sigma's success's. If you need or desire a 14mm superwide for Canon mount then this gets my best recommandations!
NB: Bought it used!


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $985.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp wide open, contrasty, good color, relatively lightweight
Cons:
flares a bit, but not more than you would expect on a wideangle

Very good available light wideangle. Got it used and is very pleased.
See pro and cons.


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jun 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good range. Sharp at all apertures. Contrasty with good neutral colours. Nice Bokeh.
Cons:
none

Very good allround on 1DM2.

 
Canon EF 17-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef17_35_1_
Review Date: Jan 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 2.8 from wide to long, fast AF, L build quality, light, sharp at ALL focal length
Cons:
Closest Focusing Distance 42 mm.

I seem to be lucky getting a very sharp copy of this lens. It's tack sharp in the center at all focal lenght, though soft in corners wide-open which is to be expected. Sharpness is very much better than shown in Fred Miranda's review in the articles section of this site.

Optical performance is better than my old Tamron 17-35 and par to Canon 17-40L. I haven't had opportunity to try Canon 16-35L.

The only cons is that the closest focusing distance is 42 cm and that distortions wideopen at 17mm are significant.

Considering the price i'll rate it a 10.


 
Sigma 18-125mm F3.5-5.6 DC

4882618_125dc_1_
Review Date: Apr 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Cheap. Good range
Cons:
Soft. Very noisy AF

Bought mine for the Rebel XT, but returned after a week. Way too soft and very noisy AF.

 
Tamron 17-35mm f2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical

sp-af17-35
Review Date: Apr 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast at the wide end. Very sharp. Excellent colour and contrast. Comparable to Canon 17-40 L but faster and cheaper.
Cons:
None for the price

I bought the Sigma 18-125 for my Rebel XT, but returned it because it was way too soft and the AF noisy.

I decided to go for the Canon 17-40 L (which a friend of mine own), but found a used copy of the Tamron and decided to try it because of the price and faster aparture at the wide end.

I strongly recommend the lens. Its sharpness, colours and picture uniformity is as good as Canon's 17-40mm L.