about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: packpe89  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add packpe89 to your Buddy List
Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

3_5-5
Review Date: Aug 15, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Sharp, Good color and contrast, IS works great and AF is spot on.
Cons:
Wish it was 77mm instead of 72, so more of my filters would fit it. Price still a little high

I purchased this lens for a trip to Yellowstone and it performed great! I got it refurbished from Canon. The zoom range is ideal for walk around.

 
Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM

113_small
Review Date: May 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Speed, Size, Build
Cons:
Had to tune in AF

I debated this and the canon 28/1.8 for a while, was just drawn in by the 1.4 and how sharp some of the samples I saw were. I was concerened about the af mis-focus issue, that seems to be somehwat prevelant with this lens, however since I knew I could try to dial it in on my 7d, I gave it a try. I did have to dial it in, so I try to only use it on my 7d and not the 40D, but on the 7d, AF (+6) is great, fast and accurate. It is very sharp, sharper at 1.4 than any 2.8 zoom i've ever had (70-200, 24-70 or 18-50), in fact rivals my 60efs macro wide open and pairs very nicly with this lens for a 2 lens travel or portrait combo. Has easily become my favorite lens.

 
Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

efs60_28macro_usm
Review Date: May 17, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, Sharp, Good AF
Cons:
EF-S mount

I like to pair this with a Sigma 30/1.4 for a great small travel & portrait combo. Very Sharp and versital. Great for macro (obviously) as well as head and shoulder portraits.

 
Sigma 100-300mm f4 EX IF HSM APO

100-300if_1_
Review Date: Jul 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, AF Speed
Cons:
Weight

I recently got this lens to replace a 300F4 L, non-IS. I really liked the 300, but had always wanted to try the Sigma. Before trading the 300, I did some test and, yes the prime was a bit sharper at 300 and F4 about equal at 5.6, but at 200, the Sigma was as good as my 70-200 2.8IS. What really surprised me, was the AF. It is on par with the Canons. At least as fast as the 70-200, and very close to the 300. It is heavy, but I usually shoot sports with a monopod, so no problem there. Focus was good with both my 30D and 1dmk2. A great sports lens!

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: May 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Range, AF and solid construction
Cons:
Distortion on wide end

Traded a 17-55/2.8is for the 24-105. Did this when I traded my 20D for a 1dmkii. I love the range and size of this lens. AF is spot on. Great walk around for the 1D! There is some barrel distortion on the wide end, but somewhat expected with a zoom range of this degree. With this on a 1d and a 70-200 on my 30D, great combo and range.

 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Dec 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $580.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Good Contrast and IS.
Cons:
AF not Ring USM, but knew that going in.

Love this lens. Debated on this ot the 70-200 F4, but this was just more versitle. Happy I made this choice. Holding on to my 70-210 USM until I try this for the kids sports, but AF is not that bad, so I think it will be ok. First IS lens, and can tell a huge difference. Works well with my Tamron 1.4 TC also.

 
Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X 840 AF-II

atx840af2
Review Date: Nov 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, Range, Build
Cons:
Not much considering the range and price

Great build, and somewhat small size. Optics are fairly good as is the AF. Sure I'd like a 100-400 L, but this was 1/4 the price with more range. Not a lens I use every day, but a fun one to take to the zoo or when you are not sure what you might be shooting.

 
Canon Deluxe Backpack 200 EG

46512canon_200EG_1_
Review Date: Jul 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $40.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, price and fit. Holds all my equipment. I still use a smaller bag for a short trip when I only need one or two lenses, but nice to be able to carry everything. For the price, hard to beat.
Cons:
The zipper unzips too easy. The first weekend I used it, my 10d with BG-3 and Tamron 28-75, fell out. I had pulled each zipper to a 12:00 position. When i turned the bag so the weight was shifted toward the top of the bag, the camera fell out, pushing open the zipper. Fortunately, nothing broke. I now pull one zipper all trhe way around and have not had anymore problems.