about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: oriwo  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add oriwo to your Buddy List
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

2139NAS_180
Review Date: Nov 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: ... very good and sharp on DX (D200/D2X/D300). Lens is solid rugged. Very fast AF. my second one performes even at f2.8.
Cons:
... disapointing on my D700 (FX) (especially between 120 and 200mm) because the corners are extreamly weak (low contrast, low sharpeness an high vignetting). Seem to be bulid for APS-C ;) .

DX Rating 10
FX Rating 4


 
Nikon D2Xs

d2x
Review Date: Aug 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Perfect handling, fast, 12 MP resolution is great, high image quality and low noise up to ISO 400. Perfect combination with AF-S 4/12-24mm DX, AF-S 2,8/17-55 DX and AF-S 2,8/70-200 mm (below f4,5 to soft!)
Cons:
No dust protection like Olympus E-1. Lens program is missing some f4 DX lenses like AF-S 4/50-200mm DX, AF-S 4/70-300 DX or AF-S 4/20-100mm DX

After F-90X and F100 this is my best Nikon. My 95% camera. I'm only missing a dust protection like this in my old Olympus E-1. Also the lens program of Nikon is not homogeneous for DX form factor. Today there are to much film based lenses and to less DX lenses with f4. If you want to get best result you have to buy f2,8 zoom lenses. I'm missing some Zooms as mentioned above.

 
Nikon 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR

2145NCP_180
Review Date: Jun 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, fast AF, well bulit (higher middleclass)
Cons:
20mm would be better for APS-C

I tested two pieces of this lens for nearly one year with a D70 and I was disappointed by them. They were soft and contrast was very low.

A college of mine made a new test with the D200 and I was very suprised by his pictures. Sharp, good contrats. Only at 24mm an f3,5 it is very soft. on the other whole range one stop down it is very good. To verify this test we made ist again with a D2X with the same results.

So this lens is now my favourite walk around lens. A perfect addition to the 4/12-24mm and 80-400 VR. Hope there will be an AF-S 70-300 VR at Photokina in september.


 
Tokina 24-200mm AT-X 242 AF

8232atx242af
Review Date: Jan 27, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality.
Cons:
Bad sharpness and contrast. "Ghost-Pictures"

I tested this zoom on my Pentax Ist Ds. The build quality of this zoom is superb. Picture quality is really bad on this DSLR. Poor sharpness and contrast and "Ghostpictures" if you photograph white figures on black ground with flash.