about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: oldshutterhand  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add oldshutterhand to your Buddy List
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM A1

sigma35
Review Date: Oct 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp at f1.4, nice contrast from f1.4, quick and quiet focus, relatively small
Cons:
Non I can think of

This is a dream lens: sharp at f1.4 with very nice contrast and colours, which is true perhaps almost all apertures. Build quality is very nice also. Rounded aperture blades, creates nice bokeh. Chromatic aberration very low if any.


See in more detail at:

http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/sigma-35-1-4-review/


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Sep 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very fine picture quality, unified in the range, excellent build qualitym quick and accurate USM autofocus
Cons:
Huge, expensive


This is a very fine lens, excellently built, optical qualities are awesome, a real pro lens, but a little bit big(No free lunch.) For me it is not heavy at all, perhaps heavy for smaller people.


See in more detail here:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-70-200mm-f2-8-review/


 
Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

3_5-5
Review Date: Sep 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: The best one lens solution for Aps-C, excellent range, good macro capabilities, nice sharpness, colours and contrast
Cons:
Not FF compatible, price is high, not so bright

Perhaps this lens is the best one lens solution for a Canon Aps-C camera, this camera has lot to offer: picture quality, Usm focus, excellent range, macro abilities

See in more detail here
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-15-85-review/
http://oldshutterhand.com/canon-lenses/


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Sep 24, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very nice build quality, saturated colours, nice contrast and sharpness, quick autofocus, nice rings, very good price
Cons:
Vignetting in full frame

This is a very nice lens, with a very good sharpness, contrast and colours, with a good focal length, and quick and almost silent autofocus, one of the best bargain in the Canon line-up.


See in more detail here:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-70-200-f4-review/
http://oldshutterhand.com/?p=9375


 
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

111_small
Review Date: Sep 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice built quality, small, wide angle, sharp in the center, not bad in the corners
Cons:
flare(common with Uwa lenses)


This is a quite nice little lens, with nice built quality and huge angle of view. Seems the Tokina 11-16 is better though, but with smaller range, and bigger CA.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/sigma-10-20mm-f4-5-6/


 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Sep 13, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compact, small and light, sharp at f2.8 very sharp at f4
Cons:
non usm focus, price little high


This is a very compact lens with great picture quality. At f4 sharp and clear everywhere.
Built quality is much better than the 50/1.8

See in more detail at
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-35mm-f2-review/


 
Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X 116 PRO DX SD

atx116
Review Date: Sep 13, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality, sharp and contrasty with nice colours
Cons:
chromatic aberration, price little high


This is perhaps the best Ultra wide angle currently for Canon mount. Sharp and has very good contrast, not big distortion.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/tokina-11-16mm-review/


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Aug 21, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very unique and excellent image quality, good and quiet autofocus
Cons:
perhaps some distortion on FF, and built quality little fragile


This is a wonderful lens for portrait or for wedding. I can imagine a sharper lens, but this lens makes excellent images even when out of focus, or completely in the shade. F1.4 sharpness is very useful in a dark room. I highly recommend this lens if you after image quality and need this focal length. I heard about different quality copies though.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-1-4-50mm/


 
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

pancake-1
Review Date: Aug 20, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, f2.8 aperture, good focal length, nice manual focus, not very expensive, if it were an f1.4 or 1.8 or 1.0 ?? would be a real winner
Cons:
perhaps vignetting on FF



This lens is very nice, sharp at all apertures, small, light, not long

See more detail at:

http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-40mm/


 
Nikon 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX -Nikkor

pic_001-1
Review Date: Aug 1, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, good range, Vr, light, nice colours, price
Cons:
plastic mount, distortion at wide end, brightness


This lens is not bad for the price. The range is very good and with a Nikon d5200 body the autofocus is surprisingly quick. Recommended as a travel lens, or for beginners. With some post processing can make very nice images.

See my review at more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/nikon-18-105mm-vr-review/


 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: Jul 28, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great built quality, very good picture quality, customizable picture style, good autofocus in center focus point
Cons:
the biggest con is the sub-standard LCD, compare to recent Dslr's only the center focus point is cross type, I would say the other points are almost useless, high iso quality are not so good than recent Dsrls, I frequently use it up iso 1600, iso 3200 is very ugly, overall is a very good value today. No video, No live view.

This is my first Dsrl. It has very good built quality, I dropped and has knocked to stone has no problem, and decent picture quality, most of my bird pictures has been made with this camera. Better picture quality than 500D for example. Some of newer Dsrl's are better at high iso department (7d,550d). Not bad camera even today.
See pictures at :www.oldshutterhand.com


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Jun 28, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice colours, consistent output, useful focal length, versatility, strong build quality, good picture quality in close distances as well, constant f2.8, Full frame
Cons:
zoom ring opposite from long end to wide end, not constant physical length, price too high, little big and heavy

This lens has a very nice, consistent picture quality with a very useful focal length. On Aps-C the focal length is good for portraits as well (not so good for landscapes). The lens optical qualities are not up to the price I think.

See my review with samples at below link:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-24-70-f2-8-l-review/


 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: May 31, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, nice contrast, vibrant colours, stabilizator, very good even with the 1,4 converter
Cons:
Price

This is a very nice lens with beautiful colours, shapness and contrast. The stabilizator is also a very useful feature. Highly recommended.

See my review at :
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-300-f4-is/


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: May 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good optical quality, good contrast, nice colours, good built quality, very quick autofocus system, f2 brightness
Cons:
Not really has a bad aspect, just a price little high for an amateur, perhaps a plastic filter thread is the weakest point


This lens is very good optically and mechanically as well, f2 brightness is really helps to keep the quality high. A really useful tool for portraits, and other kinds of photography with this focal lenght.

See my review with samples at www.oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-135-f2/


 
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: Apr 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, in middle apertures very sharp, nice colours, constant f2,8 aperture at all range
Cons:
autofocus little noisy, sometimes not precise, built quality can be little more expensive looking



Tamron makes a very good job with this lens. This lens is a very good compromise in many ways: price, brightness, weight. I would recommend this lens. Honestly I want the lens at f2,8 to be sharper, but it is reasonable.

My review with samples about the lens can be found here:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/tamron-17-50-review/


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Oct 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact size, fantastic picture quality, very precise, and fast autofocus
Cons:
manual focus can be little bit more easy to turn

Since my first review I got an 1.4 Kenko dgx converter. I use the lens now without converter, with an 1.4X, with a 2X, and with two converters stacked. Whopping 560mm focal length with still acceptable, and sometimes surprisingly good results. With an 1.4 Kenko dgx the results are very good even wide open at f4, with a 2x good at f8, with the two converters stacked I use at f9 sometimes, or shutter priority from 1/1000 sec. I have the MK I version I prefer the built in hood.See my review and sample pictures with all combination in my website:

http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-2002-8-usm-l/



 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next