about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: oldshutterhand  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add oldshutterhand to your Buddy List
Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8G AF-S DX

DX-17-55_L
Review Date: Jan 10, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It is a very good lens, very sharp, excellent build quality
Cons:
Little heavy, expensive, vr would be useful, only for Dx


This is a very good quality, well built lens, but little heavy and expensive. I prefer the 16-85 and 35 f1.8 combo. Only for DX.

See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/nikon-17-55-f2-8/


 
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX Nikkor

18-55VR
Review Date: Jan 10, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: This little lens is surprisingly good compare to the price, especially at the wide end
Cons:
build quality is not the best

If your budget only allows this lens don't be discouranged this is a very good lens especially at the wide end. Sharp, silent focusing and vr are nice features for this price. According to me the wide end is better than the wide end of the 18 105.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/nikon-18-55-vr-review/


 
Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Micro-Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Jan 10, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I would say for this lens in Nikon system as a "Must have" if you have a budget for it and like to shoot low light and indoors. Would be happy if Canon can offer something similar. Very sharp even wide open. 35mm f1.8 Dx I don't think is a micro
Cons:
Build quality not up to pro standards, but for this price no complain


This is a very useful lens with its brightness and optical quality. The 35mm is much more useful on Dx format than the 50mm according to my liking.
Highly recommended !

See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/nikon-35-1-8/


 
Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR ED-IF AF-S DX S

2178-1_copy
Review Date: Jan 10, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is an excellent lens with an excellent range, highly recommended, the stabilizer also very effective, I made my first sharp shot at 1/8s, I was amazed.
Cons:
None, perhaps some people prefers brighter lenses



This lens has a fantastic value if someone doesn't want to change lenses all the time. The 16mm wide angle is also very nice to have as well the 85 mm long end. Highly recommended. Apart from this lens perhaps only the 35mm f1.8 needed.

See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/nikon-16-85mm-vr-lens-review/



 
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM A1

sigma35
Review Date: Oct 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp at f1.4, nice contrast from f1.4, quick and quiet focus, relatively small
Cons:
Non I can think of

This is a dream lens: sharp at f1.4 with very nice contrast and colours, which is true perhaps almost all apertures. Build quality is very nice also. Rounded aperture blades, creates nice bokeh. Chromatic aberration very low if any.


See in more detail at:

http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/sigma-35-1-4-review/


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Sep 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very fine picture quality, unified in the range, excellent build qualitym quick and accurate USM autofocus
Cons:
Huge, expensive


This is a very fine lens, excellently built, optical qualities are awesome, a real pro lens, but a little bit big(No free lunch.) For me it is not heavy at all, perhaps heavy for smaller people.


See in more detail here:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-70-200mm-f2-8-review/


 
Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

3_5-5
Review Date: Sep 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: The best one lens solution for Aps-C, excellent range, good macro capabilities, nice sharpness, colours and contrast
Cons:
Not FF compatible, price is high, not so bright


Perhaps this lens is the best one lens solution for a Canon Aps-C camera, this camera has lot to offer: picture quality, Usm focus, excellent range, macro abilities

See in more detail here
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-15-85-review/


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Sep 24, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very nice build quality, saturated colours, nice contrast and sharpness, quick autofocus, nice rings, very good price
Cons:
Vignetting in full frame


This is a very nice lens, with a very good sharpness, contrast and colours, with a good focal length, and quick and almost silent autofocus, one of the best bargain in the Canon line-up.


See in more detail here:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-70-200-f4-review/


 
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

111_small
Review Date: Sep 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice built quality, small, wide angle, sharp in the center, not bad in the corners
Cons:
flare(common with Uwa lenses)


This is a quite nice little lens, with nice built quality and huge angle of view. Seems the Tokina 11-16 is better though, but with smaller range, and bigger CA.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/sigma-10-20mm-f4-5-6/


 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Sep 13, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compact, small and light, sharp at f2.8 very sharp at f4
Cons:
non usm focus, price little high


This is a very compact lens with great picture quality. At f4 sharp and clear everywhere.
Built quality is much better than the 50/1.8

See in more detail at
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-35mm-f2-review/


 
Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X 116 PRO DX SD

atx116
Review Date: Sep 13, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality, sharp and contrasty with nice colours
Cons:
chromatic aberration, price little high


This is perhaps the best Ultra wide angle currently for Canon mount. Sharp and has very good contrast, not big distortion.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/tokina-11-16mm-review/


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Aug 21, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very unique and excellent image quality, good and quiet autofocus
Cons:
perhaps some distortion on FF, and built quality little fragile


This is a wonderful lens for portrait or for wedding. I can imagine a sharper lens, but this lens makes excellent images even when out of focus, or completely in the shade. F1.4 sharpness is very useful in a dark room. I highly recommend this lens if you after image quality and need this focal length. I heard about different quality copies though.


See in more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-1-4-50mm/


 
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

pancake-1
Review Date: Aug 20, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, f2.8 aperture, good focal length, nice manual focus, not very expensive, if it were an f1.4 or 1.8 or 1.0 ?? would be a real winner
Cons:
perhaps vignetting on FF



This lens is very nice, sharp at all apertures, small, light, not long

See more detail at:

http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-40mm/


 
Nikon 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX -Nikkor

pic_001-1
Review Date: Aug 1, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, good range, Vr, light, nice colours, price
Cons:
plastic mount, distortion at wide end, brightness


This lens is not bad for the price. The range is very good and with a Nikon d5200 body the autofocus is surprisingly quick. Recommended as a travel lens, or for beginners. With some post processing can make very nice images.

See my review at more detail at:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/nikon-18-105mm-vr-review/


 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: Jul 28, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great built quality, very good picture quality, customizable picture style, good autofocus in center focus point
Cons:
the biggest con is the sub-standard LCD, compare to recent Dslr's only the center focus point is cross type, I would say the other points are almost useless, high iso quality are not so good than recent Dsrls, I frequently use it up iso 1600, iso 3200 is very ugly, overall is a very good value today. No video, No live view.

This is my first Dsrl. It has very good built quality, I dropped and has knocked to stone has no problem, and decent picture quality, most of my bird pictures has been made with this camera. Better picture quality than 500D for example. Some of newer Dsrl's are better at high iso department (7d,550d). Not bad camera even today.
See pictures at :www.oldshutterhand.com


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Jun 28, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice colours, consistent output, useful focal length, versatility, strong build quality, good picture quality in close distances as well, constant f2.8, Full frame
Cons:
zoom ring opposite from long end to wide end, not constant physical length, price too high, little big and heavy

This lens has a very nice, consistent picture quality with a very useful focal length. On Aps-C the focal length is good for portraits as well (not so good for landscapes). The lens optical qualities are not up to the price I think.

See my review with samples at below link:
http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-24-70-f2-8-l-review/


 

Page:  1 · 2  next