about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: noncho  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add noncho to your Buddy List
Canon EF-M 11-22mm f/4-5.6 IS STM

666-canon-EF-M-11-22mm-f4-5_1370503151
Review Date: Mar 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great image quality, small, inexpensive, flare resistance, minimum focus distance
Cons:
IS does not improve much handhold shooting, no hood included.

This is very nice small little lens!

I have made a few tests with my lens and the results are impressive - there are not much visible problems even wide open, this might be the best UWA lens for overall image quality and price. There are no visible flaws like chromatic aberrations, unacceptable distortion, bad flares.

Here is one example at 11mm F4 with default sharpening in ACR 8 and no lens profile (vignetting and distortion are not corrected):
http://www.nonchoiliev.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/IMG_38101.jpg

You can check out my full review, samples and comparison with Sigma 10-20 4-5.6: http://www.nonchoiliev.com/blog/1099
(Google Translate link in English) http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=&sl=bg&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nonchoiliev.com%2Fblog%2F1099&sandbox=1


 
Canon EF-M 22mm f/2 STM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_4_18_12_PM
Review Date: Mar 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $130.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, great image and build quality, cheap.
Cons:

This lens was one of the reasons why I got EOS-M - it's small, cheap and with great image and build quality. There is no such lens for DSLR crop cameras and I'll be happy to see more small prime lens for M(and faster AF).

Here are some samples:
http://www.nonchoiliev.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/snow1.jpg
http://www.nonchoiliev.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Cenestelle11.jpg
Night landscape 30 sec, F2:
http://www.nonchoiliev.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/esen9.jpg
And even a metal concert shot:
http://img.photo-forum.net/site_pics/120/1378232158_IMG_1084_.jpg


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM

ef100mmf_2usm_1_
Review Date: Dec 12, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good overall image and build quality
Cons:
Purple fringing

I like this lens, but on crop camera you can see why this lens is not L. Good for the money, but it's time for upgrade for Canon - I need better quality IS prime between 85 and 120mm.


P.S. I'm using it for portraits and concert photos, here are some samples:
concert(with EOS-M and adapter): http://www.nonchoiliev.com/blog/647
portrait: http://www.nonchoiliev.com/blog/759


 
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

pancake-1
Review Date: Jan 20, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, small, build quality, price, STM
Cons:
Nothing for the price.

What a nice great little lens!

I was curious about it, but I didn't expect such image quality from this small lens. It's sharp and feels like there is no lens on the camera, this is nice for walking around. Focus is good, STM is nice even that I haven't using it for video.

I can't ask more for this price, like it more than 50 1.8 II.

What could be better - F2, but would be bigger and more expensive.


 
Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

efs60_28macro_usm
Review Date: Dec 23, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb image quality, color, contrast, compact size.
Cons:
None

Amazing little lens, maybe the best EF-S in terms of image quality.
Very useful for macro, nature, landscapes, concerts, portraits...

I like to shoot hand held and with 60mm is easier than with 100(or longer) macro. Also you have larger DOF, better for close macro.

This lens now is my standard for image quality.

Here are some pictures with it:

http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=13193172
http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=12790353
http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=14092713









 
Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

3_5-5
Review Date: Dec 23, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, colors, build quality, range.
Cons:
Price, not constant F4.

Very nice lens, great zoom range, very useful for traveling and walking around. It's balanced better with EOS xxD or xD body.

The only thing that I would really like to improve is constant F4 aperture. I prefer something like 15-75 IS F4.

It's expensive for 3.5-5.6 zoom IMO.

Here are some pictures with it:

http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=14906493
http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=15391252
http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=14316314


 
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_
Review Date: Dec 23, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good overall image quality for the price, nice zoom range, light.
Cons:
Slow, bad non-center image quality at 250mm.

I'm quite happy with the lens(I had 2 copies), best telephoto lens for the price. I'm using it even for birds.

Here are some pictures with it(click for larger):

http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=16004572
http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=16666772
http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=15176334