about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: nivenu  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nivenu to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Apr 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Contrast, sharpness, bokeh...all are first rate!
Cons:
Watch that back element when changing lenses...it's very vulnerable.

Sorry I did not buy this excellent lens sooner.
It is a joy to use. The IQ is superb, even wide open.
DOF wide open is very small, but remember it's f1.2
Bokeh has been well documented by others so I wont add.
The rear element is vulnerable to damage and great care is needed, especially when changing lenses. Having said that, this lens is that good you may not want to change lenses
often.

The weight is not a problem and you soon get used to the
balance, especially on a D or N body.

Price is always going to be a problem, but I believe this is reflected in the quality of this lens. Optics, build quality,
and weatherproofing.

Mine's a keeper...


 
Sigma 70mm F2.8 EX DG MACRO

139_small_1_
Review Date: Feb 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb contrast and excellent sharpness Bokeh superb at full aperture
Cons:
None

Bought this lens to use mostly for close-ups of small products,
therefore, it is used under good lighting conditions. I also use
it outdoors for nature photography and it is equally as good.
I do not miss HSM as a lot of my work is MF.
The build quality is excellent and it comes with a lens hood]and lens case.
Cannot think of any bad points for this lens and it deserves a 10 imho.



 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III

1dsmk3
Review Date: Dec 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Resolution, color, increased dynamic range. Excellent viewfinder
Cons:
Usual..meaning cost.

Got mine, Friday of last week. My UK dealer rang me to say Canon had sent them 5. I was number 4 on the dealers list.

The camera is astonishing in it's color rendition and resolution.
The shutter seems smoother than on my 1dsMk2.
The viewfinder is a lot brighter and I'm glad to see it now displays the ISO number also.
The body shares most of its aspects with the 1d Mk3. The prism housing being slightly taller.

This is only a brief report as I've only had the camera for
a week, but I've tried it under different conditions and with
all my compatible lenses. The results are truly pleasing as you would expect from usch an expensive piece.

Given a bit more time to evaluate, I will give a fuller report
later. At the moment I'm more than pleased with the reuslts.




 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Jun 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super optics, very sharp, excellent contrast. Ive not noticed any flare. CA very slight at full aperture, but hardly noticeable. Highly recommend this fine lens.
Cons:
Usual 82mm filter size moan.



 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Mar 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb in every respect of modern lens technology! Excellent contrast, sharpness, bokeh. Well engineered with a top class build quality
Cons:
None.



 
Tamron 180mm f/3.5 Di LD IF Macro Autofocus SP AF

19043180mm_1_
Review Date: Jan 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, good build quality, tripod collar included. Good focal length for creepy crawly macro.
Cons:
None that effect its fine optical performance,

It was a tough decision between choosing this lens and the Canon 180mm macro. After trying some shots with the Tamron I was convinced it was for me. It turns in excellent sharpness and very good contrast. Ideal focal length for getting in close to small insects, butterflies, even frogs.
Some do not like the speed of focusing, but it has never bothered me.


 
Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

05_02_1_
Review Date: Jan 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp! Excellent contrast and colors. Bokeh is super. Macro is the best I've used at this focal length
Cons:
Finish is not to my liking,

Can fully recommend this lens in all aspects. I am thrilled be the quality it produces at macro. A worthwhile addition to anybodies kit.



 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jan 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb! Very sharp throughout the range, excellent contrast with no trace of CA. Focussing is fast. Highly recommend this lens to those who can afford it. Those who can't...save up for it. You wont regret it!
Cons:
None.



 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Aug 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: One if the sharpest Canon lenses I've owned. Distortion? That's what I bought it for.
Cons:
Lens cap is a pain. Keeps falling off and this ain't good because the lens front element is very vulnerable withour it.