about | support

  Reviews by: nick53097  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nick53097 to your Buddy List
Nikon D800E

Review Date: Oct 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,299.00 | Rating: 10 

Live View


Nikon D3

Review Date: Jun 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: I have a D3s, best camera ever (for weddings and dance photography)

Moved from D700 to D3s and was amazed by the difference: AF speed, buffer, high ISO results, ergonomics, rtc.,
This camera is the winner (especially considering the great price for used D3s)

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

Review Date: Jan 27, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $803.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, sharp, beautiful bokeh

Best portrait lens I have, fast AF, tack sharp on my D700 and produce a beautiful bokeh. I like it more than my Nikon 85 f/1.4 D. This is a hit from Sigma

Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

Review Date: Jan 16, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Best Nikon zoom lens I ever had
None so far

I moved from D300s/17-55 combo to D700/24-70 and found it a dream come true combination. Just amazing piece of glass, stays on D700 90% of the time. I can crop image at 30% and still print great 20X30 image. That is my 24, 35, 50 and 70mm combinations of primes in one body.

Tokina 50-135mm f/2.8 AT-X 535 AF PRO DX

Review Date: Feb 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $518.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build like tank, fast AF, excellent image
None so far

Received my lens from Amazon 2 days ago. Much better than Sigma 70-200 HSM, better than Nikon 80-200 AF-D.
Fast, sharp and light.

Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Micro-Nikkor

Review Date: Nov 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp and light
None so far (for that price)

Great lens to use, fits perfect on my D300

Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

Review Date: Oct 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast focus, sharp, excellent colors
Did not found yet

I have HSM II version of this lens and compare to my friends Nikon 70-200 I did not found any difference in sharpness or color reproduction (I think I like Sigma more for better colors)
Very well build, fast and quit
Highly recommened.

Nikon D300

Review Date: Mar 21, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Amazing camera, excellent images in almost every situation

Long time Canon user, had EOS5, 20D, 30D and finally very bad copy of 40D. I did try Canon 5D with 24-105 L lens but wasn't that
happy about old AF and no sensor cleaning.
Ordered Nikon D300 wit 18-200 lens from Ritz Camera and was simply shocked by the difference in almost every aspect
I love that camera, have use it for travel and family pictures
Later I started to do weddings (Nikon primes just fantastic)and this camera with Nikon Creative Flash System can deliver an exceptional results
Highly recommend.

Canon EOS 40D

Review Date: Jun 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $980.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent pictures, ergonomic, viewfinder is much better than on 30D
had problems with autofocus, after calibration is almost perfect

Went through 20D, 30D and finally 40D
Excellent camera, it has some negative sides but as a photography tool its very usable. Don't compare this camera to 5D or Mark, it is a different class, but in 10-20-30D line its a camera with so many welcomed futures (you have to see colors)
I had problems with autofocus (pictures were to soft), send to Canon for calibration and received 10 days later with perfect autofocus and upgrated software. Thank you, CANON!
I am using this camera with Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 lens and Canon 85 mm f/1.8 for portraits and results are truly remarkable.
Love this camera.

That picture I made after calibration