about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: neridah  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add neridah to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Mar 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build Quality-Bokeh-Sharpness.
Cons:
Price...But that is negligible for what it offers and represents.

This is big daddy the godfather of optical engineering and excellence!
If this was the only lens i owned i would be totally satisfied.
The soft spot when shooting @1.2 will take a little time to master however when u have worked out the limitations and capabilities of this baby you will treasure it for a lifetime.
This lens isnt expensive it's a priceless lifetime investment.
It doesnt get much better than this.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Feb 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice Color rendition improved iso range and low light capabilities live view is a nice added sweetener that will expand creative possibilities.
Cons:
Overpriced considering the build,exaggerated iso performance,different battery + grip = another canon money grab.

Overall the files and slightly improved iso capabilities and noise reduction warranted the upgrade however the build quality is reminiscent of a 50D with an inflated price tag.

 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Nov 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Screen resolution-Image Quality-Live View
Cons:
Iso capabilities are hugely exaggerated and misleading - overpriced.

I am happy with the improved resolution and image quality @ all iso's under 1600.
The big let down are the noise levels at the so called expandable iso which was a huge let down as i was looking for an accomodating partner to compliment my fast prime lenses.


 
Sigma 50-500mm f4-6.3 EX APO RF HSM

50_500EX_mdl_1_
Review Date: Jul 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price-Build Quality-Versatility-Range-"One Lens Does all" convenience factor.
Cons:
Heavy-Needs good light to sing.

Ok let me start by saying you get what you pay for and in this case you certainly get great value for money.
I was at a youth rally/concert and this lens was my "one lens" solution it simply did the lot!
Fantastic range and versatility i am very happy with this purchase the A/focus is fantastic and very responsive.
Its not the fastest lens out there however to combat this and its considerable weight i found that shooting TV Mode min 300th sec in sufficient lighting will ensure great results.
A helluva lot lens for the money.


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: May 4, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Ergonomic perfection speed durability a quality piece of equipment!!!
Cons:
LCD can be deceptive so look closer...to ensure sharpness

Nice upgrade however the colors and overall image quality do not compare to the 5D.

 
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: May 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $760.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Feel-Performance-Durability-A truly handsome camera.
Cons:
Battery life-4.1mp-2 finger menu settings can get a little tedious.

Absolutely adore this machine it simply works!!!
Love the sound craftsmanship and the engineering that goes behind every quality image that it produces.
They are relatively cheap at the moment so if an opportunity arises grab one immediately it definately has a great deal of sentimental value as it was canons benchmark DSLR.


 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Apr 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy navigation-User friendly-FF-Image Quality/IQ...Professional world class tool at a very down to earth price. Quite simply an outstanding camera and a privilege to shoot with.
Cons:
No Weather sealing - Sensor requires regular cleaning due to the well documented dust issues.

I also own and shoot with a 1D Mark III however i find myself reaching for my beloved 5D more regularly as to put it simply
"I trust it"
Outstanding camera that simply works what you see usually dictates what you will get the adjustments and effects are only limited by your input and imagination...!


 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Mar 25, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: bigger screen
Cons:
Poor LCD Screen resolution awkward sounding shutter mechanism plastic cf card compartment

I upgraded to this from a 30-D and will be selling it to get another 30-D (Back-up) Very disappointed with this so called upgrade.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Mar 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons:
N/A



 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM

ef14mmf_28l_1_
Review Date: Mar 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp-image quality-Build
Cons:
Nil

Outstanding lens despite the Version II release this still packs serious punch....

 
Sigma 15mm f2.8 EX Diagonal Fisheye

15mm_Lg_1_
Review Date: Jan 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding picture quality - Tack Sharp - Unobtrusive - Affordability...!
Cons:
Feels a little plasticky...In comparison to Sturdy "L"Metal Mounts...!

I am a canon addict and wholly swear by their lenses i own most 'L Lenses so it was going to be difficult to convince me of switching to an inferior manufacturer however after rigorous testing and comparing both the Canon EF15mm 2.8 and the sigma equivalent...I can honestly say this lens blew the canon out of the water in areas of sharpness color reproduction responsiveness and above all price!

This is a brilliant lens! "The ultimate fish eye" an absolute must have addition to any real estate architectural or landscape photographers arsenal. It simply represents "L" Series quality at a very down to earth and affordable price!

Go grab it you gotta have it !!!


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Sep 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Rugged Build quality - A real handsome looking machine - Ergonomically enhanced feels good in the hand.Outstanding responsiveness image quality improved battery output.A more user friendly design and menu interface
Cons:
Wish it was a Full frame (FF)...The price is justifiable based on how it is built & for what it does...Highly recommended !

Outstanding camera it is everything that it says it is.
If it was a full frame with 15mp then it would be an absolute dream machine.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Sep 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build Quality - Buttery Bokeh - Sharpness/Contrast - Intuitive A/F speed...
Cons:
Definately overpriced for its focal range however is a specialty lens in low light therefore i highly recommend.

I have just sold my beloved 50 1.4 to upgrade to this one and have absolutely no regrets yes it is expensive however the extra F stop build quality and that Universally recognised Red Ring does make a substantial difference the general image quality at 1.8 upwards is similar to the 1.4 however in low light 1.2-1.4 this one really shines....Highly Recommended!

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jun 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build Quality - Tack Sharp - Punchy Contrast - Lightweight - Inconspicuous.
Cons:
Slightly Overpriced...!

I initially had my reservations about paying so much for this type of focal range however i must say i followed my heart and took the plunge.WOW an exceptional must have piece of photographic arsenal its size is deceptively small in comparison to the rest of the L series family.But this lens is a serious piece of engineering excellence.
This lens along with my 1DMark IIN Are now firmly joined at the hip and make a formiddable team!
I would be lost without it...Simply stunning!


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Outstanding sharpness-Build-Bokeh-Affordability & Value for money.
Cons:
No lens hood....Not as fast as comparable "L"Series lenses.

I purchased this lens today and have played with it extensively shooting everything from detailed jewellery to plants flowers and pets.
The sharpness and detail have blown me away.
I also sampled some portraits that were outstanding im amazed at the versatility of this lens as it doubles as a 2 in 1 (Macro and Standard)...The price was suprisingly affordable for such a quality lens...
This ones a keeper! Highly recommended in every way.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great build relatively light L glass!Sharp & versatile Consistent performer.
Cons:
Nil

After sampling both this lens and the 16-35mm 2.8.
I decided in favour of the 17-40 due to its excellent clarity optics and price.
I couldnt justify the $1000 difference for the one f stop.
Great value for money "L" Series lens...Go grab it!


 

Page:  1 · 2  next