about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: mskad  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mskad to your Buddy List
Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8D ED AF

1986NAS_180
Review Date: Mar 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Ultra sharp, even wide open (f/2.8), superb color and bokeh, affordable, fast AF
Cons:
See review

I love this lens very much: if sharpness is your concern, go for it! No need to stop it down, it is plenty sharp at f/2.8, from 80mm to 180mm and still very good at 200mm. AF is very fast and accurate with D2H, not so good with D70. Strangely, the lens seems to be soft at close-up distance.

 
Nikon 20mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor

1913NAS_180
Review Date: Mar 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Compact, light.
Cons:
A bit soft, even stopped down (D70 and D100)

The lens is really small, great build quality and relatively fast (f/2.8). But I was a bit surprised to see that the 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DX AF-S zoom is sharper at all f/stop, with better contrast and color. On the other hand, the 20mm f/2.8 exhibits less CA.

Used with D70 and D100.


 
Canon EOS 10D

10D
Review Date: Dec 17, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Incredible low noise, even at high ISO. Color accuracy and overall image quality. Construction. Price. Buffer and burst rate.
Cons:
The AF system on this camera is a joke. Small viewfinder doesn't help for manual focus.

I would like to love this camera, but the AF is such an issue that I can't. I had to send it 3 times to Canon to have a barely usable AF that is still back focusing from time to time. In the meantime, I bought a second body, hoping that the first one was just a lemon, but same thing: back focusing issue with all my 5 (Canon) lenses. I sent it back.

Don't expect that you will be able to manual focus either. Not with this kind of viewfinder. I tried the angle finder C and it works fine, but obviously only with still subject.

Other than this ridiculous AF issue, the the image quality is fantastic and the camara would have been othewise a dramatic improvement over the D60.

I'm hoping now that Canon will release the mythical 3D or whatever they name it so I could get rid of the 10D.


 
Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM

ef20mmf_28usm_1_
Review Date: Nov 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $420.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Construction / All the benefits of having Ring USM / (Relative) sharpness
Cons:
Not wide enough with 1.6 crop factor / Big lens

I like almost everything in this lens: sharp from center to corners, fast and silent AF with full time MF, color rendition, no visible CA or distortion (at least with my Canon EOS 10D).
Construction wise, this lens is really well done. MF ring is large enough and well damped.
Only complain is the field of view with a 10D/D30/D60/Rebel: 32mm equivalent. Also, the lens is quite big.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Jul 10, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast (f/1.4), quiet AF
Cons:
Cheap construction (for the price), haze wide open, slow and inaccurate AF

It's a good/fair lens but I guess I was expecting too much when I moved from the cheap ($70) 50mm f/1.8 Mk II to this expensive 50mm f/1.4.

From the optical quality viewpoint, this lens performs almost identically than the 50mm f/1.8. AF is slow and not really accurate, although quiet (micro USM).

Some "haze" (veiling) shows up from f/1.4 up to f/2.8. At f/2.8 and up this lens is incredibly sharp and contrast is excellent. Color wise, this lens perform superbly.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Apr 12, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $575.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Performance "wide" open, construction, USM
Cons:
Inconvenient lens hood, Expansive optional tripod mount ring

An excellent lens, build like a tank with outstanding (USM) AF performances. No need to stop with this lens (at least on my D60): sharp from f/4 to f/16, center to corners. Wonderful color rendition and contrast.

 
Sigma 28-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DF

28_70df_1_
Review Date: Apr 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $296.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent: color, sharpness. Good: construction, contrast. Fast zoom (constant f/2.8). Excellent price/performance ratio.
Cons:
Cumbersome dual-focus (DF) mechanism. You have to use the AF/MF switch AND the AF/MF ring in order to swap between auto and manual focus.

I am pretty happy with this lens. F/2.8 more than usable from 28mm up to 60mm. At 70mm, it needs to be stopped a bit (f/5.6 is enough).

Warmish color rendering, good contrast when you stop a bit and really nice focusing ring. AF motor is OK. HSM (Sigma version of Canon's USM) would have been nice but I never had to complain about AF performances.

It comes with a nice carrying case and an efficient lens hood.

I used it with my Canon EOS D60...

Added 5/13/2003: ...and now with my Canon 10D. Works fine with this camera body but slight front focusing at close-up distance.