about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: mmari  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mmari to your Buddy List
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

ef10028lmisu_586x225
Review Date: Feb 24, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very good optics, lightning fast af compared to non-L, nice built, good use of poly carbonate plastic body to lessen the weight
Cons:
tripod collar not included (what where you thinking canon? its an L lens!), IS less effective as it approaches 1:1, not working well with TCs compared to non-L

very satisfied with it. check my gallery > http://www.flickr.com/photos/engrmariano/sets/72157624932084653/

 
Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

image_copy
Review Date: Oct 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,173.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, quite fast & accurate af, nice built, petal shaped hood, nice finish.
Cons:
quite visible color fringing on out of focus, high contrast area when wide open.

sigma nailed it this time...


used on 550D & 5D2, results are stunning...


on par with 85L2 for half the price...


 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Jan 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp wide open, only slight improvement when stopped down. nice built quality even though its an L. fast & accurate AF even though its not USM.
Cons:
front lens cap always & easily detaching by itself. no AF manual overdrive, its more like a clutch type but in switch form. cant use filters. abit noisy AF but its fine with me.

i really loved this lens from the day i bought it. its my new walkabout lens.

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Jan 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,087.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: built quality, AF speed
Cons:
AF inaccuracy (+5 backwards on microadjust of 5D Mark II), not sharp wide open

read above...

 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Dec 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, sharp, & sharp! did i say sharp?... build quality, price
Cons:
slow AF compared to canons. AF hunts more, must use limiter if using macro or non-macro shots. coating. the badge, my only non-canon lens.

i sold my EF 100 macro right away when i saw this lens at BnS. no regrets!

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 11, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: $450.00

 
Pros: sharp sharp sharp even wide open, fast af, non rotating/extending front element, works with 3rd part TC (kenko)
Cons:
hood & tripod collar sold separately

sold my 1st copy buy i miss it so i bought another one. couldn't be any happier with this lens.

 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Dec 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: they put back the buttons on the side of the lcd, much better than at the bottom. still usable ISO6400, i wont hesitate using this ISO range when needed. HD video capable
Cons:
price. needs high speed CF upgrade. 21MP is over kill.

my main reason of buy this DSLR is the high & clean ISO capability, not to mention is FF sensor.

HD video capability is also fine to have with but 21MP is overkill for me.

btw, the kit lens is superb.


 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Jul 11, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: $950.00

 
Pros: good normal zoom range, IQ, 2.8, IS, USM
Cons:
price, weight, hood not included

almost perfect fast normal zoom for my 40D.

heaviest on its league.

many times that 2.8 & IS save the day, i mean night.

i'm inlove with this lens since i got it from day 1, this is my 2nd longest running lens after 50/1.8 which seldomly seen in action.


 
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM

EF17-85
Review Date: Jul 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: range, IS, IQ, looks good
Cons:
zoom creep, f/4-5.6, barrel distortion at 17-23mm, low resale value

this lens was included in my 400D kit 2.

range & IQ is good enough for my needs

i can live with f/4-5.6, it can be compensated if you have flash.

barrel at 17-23 doesnt realy bother me but i know its there.

the biggest dissapointment for me is the zoom creep.

i sold it for $400, very low resale value. now you can even have as low as $300 for a month old.



 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Mar 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: end to end sharpness even wide open | f/2.8 | IS | no zoom creap
Cons:
price | weight | size | looks

perfect combo with 40D.

no complain about performance.

but its pricy, heavy, & big.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: deadly sharp even wide open, accurate focus.
Cons:
hunts when focused at too small objects even under the sun, need IS.

i was looking for ~100mm macro and my bets are Canon, tokina, and tamron.

after asking other forums, canon turned out to be the best choice even with the highest price tag.

after buying a mint 2nd hand, i was very satified. but sometimes i wish i got the tamron180 for longer reach.

if i want to upgrade to tamron180, i can easily sell this for abit higher price than i got it. it's selling like hotcake in the BnS portion of our local photography site.


 
Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 DC OS

18-200OS
Review Date: Mar 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: range, OS, build, price
Cons:
not sharp wide open.

i bought this lens to replace 17-85IS kit of 400D. but sold it after a week. images are very sharp only when stopped down on the entire focal length.

softness is very noticable even on 350D's 1.8" lcd.

range and OS works very fine.

if you can live with f/5-9 to get sharp images, i would recommend this lens.