about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: mirages  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mirages to your Buddy List
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: May 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: You name it.
Cons:
For the buck, no valid complaint.

Just a very fine lens to use and to own.
I would guess this may be Tamron's best
in their lineup, or a close second. Wouldn't
hesitate to recommend this to anyone; my
copy arrived like a jewel with no issues. A
tremedous value, and the speed in most
normal situations obviates the need for IS.
For the price and utility this is a can't miss!


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Jan 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,013.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, well designed, discrete and lightweight - simply a pleasure to use.
Cons:
Maybe the price - but who doesn't like buying quality.

This lens is super sharp, and I typically shy away from zooms
(Had the gambit of Canon L zooms, and now this is one of two only). The IQ of this lens resembles much more the quality of a prime; it may be as sharp as my 300 F4 non-is.

Had the opportunity shortly after getting this lens of testing it on two weeks of tropical vacation. I did not come back the least bit disappointed. Used my travel TC, the Kenko Pro 300 1.4x, and there is no discernable image degradation. This combination actually takes wonderfully sharp images (my gal complained of microscopic sharp close-ups)!

This lens is everything that it is advertised to be in my estimate, and then some. If you are at all interested I would strongly suggest renting one. I believe most will be pleasantly surprised at how well it does in low light; as a former owner of the 70-200 2.8 IS I see no reason whatsoever to ever go down that path again. This lens is not a cure-all, but it is damn good; like anything though you really need to try it to be convinced. I am one happy camper; trenchmonkey and I were sharing today that on this lens Canon got it right The FIRST Time! Have fun...


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Sep 9, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Build quality was better than anticipated for a supposed "consumer" lens; I think many L zoom owners would be pleasantly surprised! Optical quality was in a word "mind-blowing" for a consumer lens. Third generation IS with dual panning setting.
Cons:
Really no valid complaints - especially considering the cost. Itís a push-pull model, not my favorite, but I knew that going in. Also, the front lens rotates, making using a CP a challenge.

Well, only had this for a couple days, but have had enough time to play with it to say that I like it a lot. I do not own many zooms, and almost shied away from this purchase. That was until I had the opportunity to try one, and was startled, and then had a chance to read this review by Photozone.

http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/lenses/canon_70300_456is/index.htm

"The performance of the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 USM IS came as a total surprise. Unlike its predecessor the lens is capable to produce a very high performance throughout the zoom range without the significant drop in quality at 300mm typical for most consumer grade lenses in this range. It seems as if the new UD element helps to lift the optical quality significantly. Distortions, CAs as well as vignetting are also very respectable. So in terms of optical quality the EF 70-300mm IS can be almost described as a hidden Canon L lens..."

Central image quality compares very favorably to edge, which in my book is what a quality lens is all about. The zoom ring was smooth enough, especially considering it was moving the entire lens (push-pull style). Of course I would have liked to have L body quality, but that is not what I am paying for here. To me this lens, if not dropped, will last very likely as many years as an L zoom, meaning a lifetime of good use. Initially a skeptic, I couldn't be more happy with this purchase!

P.S. I've heard from very reliable sources that this lens can handle the Kenko Pro 300 1.4x TC; and that the AF function and IQ are great! I'll get a chance next weekend to try one.


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Sep 9, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Build quality was better than anticipated for a supposed "consumer" lens; I think many L zoom owners would be pleasantly surprised! Optical quality was in a word "mind-blowing" for a consumer lens. Third generation IS with dual panning setting.
Cons:
Really no valid complaints - especially considering the cost. Itís a push-pull model, not my favorite, but I knew that going in. Also, the front lens rotates, making using a CP a challenge.

Well, only had this for a couple days, but have had enough time to play with it to say that I like it a lot. I do not own many zooms, and almost shied away from this purchase. That was until I had the opportunity to try one, and was startled, and then had a chance to read this review by Photozone.

http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/lenses/canon_70300_456is/index.htm

"The performance of the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 USM IS came as a total surprise. Unlike its predecessor the lens is capable to produce a very high performance throughout the zoom range without the significant drop in quality at 300mm typical for most consumer grade lenses in this range. It seems as if the new UD element helps to lift the optical quality significantly. Distortions, CAs as well as vignetting are also very respectable. So in terms of optical quality the EF 70-300mm IS can be almost described as a hidden Canon L lens..."

Central image quality compares very favorably to edge, which in my book is what a quality lens is all about. The zoom ring was smooth enough, especially considering it was moving the entire lens (push-pull style). Of course I would have liked to have L body quality, but that is not what I am paying for here. To me this lens, if not dropped, will last very likely as many years as an L zoom, meaning a lifetime of good use. Initially a skeptic, I couldn't be more happy with this purchase!

P.S. I've heard from very reliable sources that this lens can handle the Kenko Pro 300 1.4x TC; and that the AF function and IQ are great! I'll get a chance next weekend to try.

P.S.S. My first thread evaporated, so excuse if the original somehow reappears in front of this; somehow my rating took...


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Sep 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build quality was better than anticipated for a supposed "consumer" lens; I think many L zoom owners would be pleasantly surprised! Optical quality was in a word "mindblowing" for a prosumer lens. Third generation IS with dual panning setting.
Cons:
Really no valid complaints, especially considering the cost. Its a push-pull model, not my favorite, but I knew that going in. Also, the front lens rotates, making using a CP a challenge.

Well, only had this for a couple days, but have had enough time to play with it to say that I like it a lot. I do not own many zooms, and almost shied away from this purchase. That was until I had the opportunity to try one, and was startled, and then had a chance to read this review by Photozone.

http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/lenses/canon_70300_456is/index.htm

"The performance of the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 USM IS came as a total surprise. Unlike its predecessor the lens is capable to produce a very high performance throughout the zoom range without the significant drop in quality at 300mm typical for most consumer grade lenses in this range. It seems as if the new UD element helps to lift the optical quality significantly. Distortions, CAs as well as vignetting are also very respectable. So in terms of optical quality the EF 70-300mm IS can be almost described as a hidden Canon L lens..."

Central image quality compares very favorably to edge, which in my book is what a quality lens is all about. The zoom ring was smooth enough, especially considering it was moving the entire lens (push-pull style). Of course I would have liked to have L body quality, but that is not what I am paying for here. To me this lens, if not dropped, will last very likely as many years as an L zoom, meaning a lifetime of good use. Initially a skeptic, I couldn't be more happy with this purchase!

P.S. I've heard from very reliable sources that this lens can handle the Kenko Pro 300 1.4x TC; and that the AF function and IQ are great! I'll get a chance next weekend to try one.


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Jun 29, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Lightning fast focus; very accurate.
Cons:
None discerned.

Well, this is my second post concerning this lens - not sure where the first disappeared to, but at least my rating stuck!

This lens has met or exceeded all my expectations thus far.
Not nearly as bulky as the 70-200 IS I have yet to write a review about, and lightning quick and accurate.

I can well imagine that on many day hikes this 200mm prime lens, a 24L (or 35L) wide angle, and a 24-105L zoom may well do the all job with the 1.4 Canon extender. I have a belt pack with two cases large enough for the 300L IS and 400L prime (also yet to be reviewed), and another case set that will fit the 200mm and 24-105 zoom perfectly. To round this out I have the 100mm macro ordered now before the rebate deadline, so I am just about set (and have a ton of uphill gradient on the learning curve to do) and totally equipped for hiking and photography with one lens attached to the camera, and two in cases.

Thus far this is my fastest focusing Canon L; and is just a joy to work with. Given the fact that many times, especially in the nature photography, the long end is mainly used; this lens just makes good common sense. And the price - well, it's not cheap, but its a real gem for what it does and compared to many other Canon L primes and comparatively is a bargain.

If you have been contemplating this lens, and already have this range somewhat covered, you might still want to consider it. I know I thought a while before ordering it, but now am so happy that I did due to the flexiblility, color, and deadly accuracy this lens offers. If you are short on ready cash, this lens might come later. But, if you experience anything like what I have with this lens, once bought, it will remain.


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Jun 26, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lightning fast autofocus; faster and more accurate than any other L prime I tested.
Cons:
We all love IS (it doesn't have it).

Well, this is one FINE lens. I have to admit that I was a bit apprehensive of ordering this, but I am sure glad I did now!

Light enough with good balance with a battery pack to hand hold steady. The autofocus is blazingly fast, and by all appearance in my first month or so with it, the focus is spot on as well.

I know its been said before about other Canon lenses; especially certain L's, but this piece of pipe is well worth the cost. Anyone who is hesitating because of no IS, don't any more. I have to believe as well from everything I have read and heard that this is one of the most consitstent QA L lenses Canon makes.

I have some other L lenses to rate that I have recently and not so recently acquired, but felt compelled to comment on this one a bit out of order. Also, I am not yet fully in tune with my 70-200 IS and a WA prime, so those will have to wait their turn.

If you have been on the fence, even if you have a zoom; the mobility and dexterity of this lens is well worth the relatively modest L entry fee. A lifetime keeper, for sure!


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jun 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Reasonably solid build. Sharp, quick focusing, light-weight. Another great street and low light lens.
Cons:
notta

Well, I just commented on the 50 1.4, so I may as well add this while I am thinking critically. The 85 1.8 is a marvelous find for the money; especially when compared to anything else available in this range. The 85 L I series doesn't touch it, and the L II is priced somewhere between purgatory and heaven for what it gives.

With the difference in cost between the 85 1.8 and 85 L II one can easily buy another nice L prime or zoom, likely with some change left over. With the recent review that was discussed on the FM forum posted below, it is obvious that this lens speaks (succinctly) for itself.

http://www.wlcastleman.com/equip/reviews/85mm/index.htm

Though I have spent just slightly less than two months exploring it, I have to say I am as impressed as the author above in this lens.

Unless you have a large amount of money you do not know what to do with, or do not value adding an additional prime to fit a gap in your kit, the 85 1.8 lens will do the job better in 95% of the situations compared to the 85 L glass.

Granted, the blurr is presumably better in the 85 L II than the 85 1.8, but I do not make a living doing portraits. If and when I do, then, and only then, would I consider dumping the kind of money Canon is asking for the 85 L II for what in all intents and purposes is an all-around inferior lens. For me the money is better spent elsewhere and for my dollars belongs in the 85 1.8.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Jun 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Accurate rendition of image seen.
Cons:
Loose ring.

Nice little gem. For low light and street walking, just a fine little unobtrusive lens. Very accurate at repeating what the human eye sees within its range. Build is the weakness, but we all already know that. For now its the best game in town for this range for Canon.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: May 16, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

Pros: My second prime.
Cons:
Quality control issues.

Ordered my second prime (first being the 50mm 1.4). Though I thought the 5Omm focus ring felt grainy inside (it has since made up with photo quality), I have to say I was truely dismayed upon this lenses arrival. Though the build quality appeared good, right away I noticed the focus ring was just a spinning wheel, with no attachment to anything.

So, this has prompted me to now delve into the "L Order" (gak); a 35mm L is on the way from the same company. I don't blame them, just quality control. Maybe ordering in the midst of the rebate period is unwise - might be better to get with the program right away with the lenses that are already built.

With all the hype about the little 35, I was actually looking forward to using it. Now I will be likely be permanently spoiled; and not sure when or if I will ever use one. Already feels like a L bug bit me! I guess part of this post likely belongs on the 5O 1.4 board; as I use it more I will share there.

I am not rating this lens due to the fact that I got only one bad copy - perhaps just fate or random bad luck; I hope others who choose this lens have better! Happy Trails...