about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: marksct  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add marksct to your Buddy List
Gitzo G2227 Explorer


Review Date: Dec 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Strong, light with much flexability. For outdoor, macro and some product work this is a very sturdy, light weight and flexible tripod that give you lots of alternatives. Carries well in backpack as well. I have used a 4x5, 6x6, and 35mm on this with out any stability problems.
Cons:
Getting used to not haveing standard leg settings when opening the legs. But I got past that now.

You get what you pay for. This is a great photographic tool. It is not for everyone but for those who need the 90 degree neck, light weight, and very strong this is the one you want.

Has not let me down outdoors or indoors.

Like all equipment it took me a few times to get used to it. But, now it is second nature to use.


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Aug 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic! This is one excellent piece of glass. Incredible in low light, with vibrant clarity and color. Well balanced with 20D/Batter pack or a 1D.
Cons:
None what so ever.

I have used this in weddings, and street photography and I find it really great. It is a 35mm with a 20D and approx 30mm with the 1D. It is not for everyone because it has its place in the lens community especially for PJ and wedding work that is in a low light environment.

The color and clarity is better than my 24-70L lens.

For me it, it has already paid for itself in great image.

M


 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Nov 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,499.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: It has been covered before in previous posts. This is a very good value for the money.
Cons:
Three blatant issues: One, can't turn off camera till all images are saved to disk or you lose them. Second, Battery grip is a plastic piece of trash. I don't feel that comfortable in its construction at all. Last but not least, VERY VERY LOUD !!!!!
What where they thinking???? This is a great camera, But what stupid mistakes.

This is a very good DSLR with many inportant features that put it on the cutting edge.
This is a camera for all people who can shell out $1,500 for a camera.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: May 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $65.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light. Sharp, Excellent clarity, color.
Cons:
Build. Made of plastic. So you buy three for the price of the f1.4 and save them for when one wears out.

Money!
My portrait lens on my 10D.

The best value for a photo lens in the world, bar none.

Everyone should have this in their bag.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Apr 9, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,325.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, Quiet with crisp, clear, colorful images.
Cons:
None.

Money!!!

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Apr 9, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast AF, Quiet, Great Images.
Cons:
Easy to turn off AF with left thumb.

I use this mostly hand held where IS pays off. Excellent quality photos.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Apr 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast AF, excellent range.
Cons:

This is a Great lens. It is so great I bought a second 10D just for it. Now I carry 2 cams in the bag one specifically for this lens.

Excellent for PJ, Street, Parties, Editorial.

Love it.



 
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM

ef100mmf_2usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Like 'Butter'. Smooth, rich and creamy. This is my primary Portrait lens, it is clear, crisp with great bokah. A definite add to any bag.
Cons:
None.


Pound for pound the best lens IMHO.