about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: malla1962  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add malla1962 to your Buddy List
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Aug 30, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast Focus, very sharp @f2.8, new hood,Updated Stabilizer and handles converters like a dream.
Cons:
None at all.

This is the best zoom I have ever had and I have had a lot over the years, in fact all the canon 70-200's.This lens is extremely sharp wide open, focus is lightning fast and the 4 stop stabilizer is near silent.
I have been using it with a 2X and the results shocked me as the images wide open with the 2X are superb.Focus slows down a lot with the 2X if going from the MFD to infinity but if you are somewhere near its fast.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Feb 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Weight, sharpnes,IS,contrast and weather sealing.
Cons:
price

I needed to cut some weight from my bag for travel so got this lens
to save me taking my 2.8Lis on long flights. I am not a great lover of zooms but sometimes I need to use them, When canon made this zoom they got it right, and I like everything about it, some people have commented about the lack a tripod ring but I don't think it neads one, lets face it the 24-70L hos no tripod mount and weighs
a lump more.





 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Feb 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Weight, 77mm filter is handy, IS, 105mm
Cons:
Bokeh is a bit ropey, distortion.

I got this lens for travel as most uk Airlines only give you 6KG carry on. I am no great lover of zoom lensesbut find this one prety good
for my needs, IQ is not as good as my 24-70L but good enough and think it will make a better walkaround lens for travel, all in all its a good lens for not a bad price.


 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Sep 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super fast focus,razor sharp,Just loves 1.4 and 2x T-cons,hand holdable,For me anyway
Cons:
Negative???? none from me.

This lens is the sharpest and fastest thing ever mounted on my 1dmk2,I used it at a classic scramble but it was to long for the job so I mounted my 70-200f2.8 and thoght there was a problem with the focus as the 300 made it seem slow.The lens cost me a lot of money but I think it is worth every penny.Don't even think about trying this lens unless you want to buy one.

 
Bogen/Manfrotto 3021 Tripod Legs

product_83
Review Date: Oct 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb tripod,built like a tank and at a good price.
Cons:
None



 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Oct 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp,very fast,accurate focusing.
Cons:
??????????? None

What can I say,I just love this lens and think it should have a red ring around the end,it deserves one.

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Oct 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp images with excellent color and contrast. Image stabilizer is a big plus. Build quality fairly light for the zoom range.
Cons:
Dust sucker, buy plenty of sensor cleaner. A bit slow being F5.6 at the long end. You need plenty of light.

At first I didn't like the push-pull zoom, but have now grown to love it. If you're looking for a good hand holdable 400 mm lens, this is the one to have. Great for action photography.

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Oct 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super fast, sharp colour and contrast. Nothing wrong with my copy.
Cons:
The weight to some people may be a problem, but not to me. I feel this is due to the quality build. A bit expensive


I was dubious about buying this lens, due to some bad press. I'm glad I did buy it because this lens is just superb.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, build quality, colour and contrast. Excellent value L glass.
Cons:
I'm not going to complain like others about it being F4, as I knew that fact before I bought it, and I don't find it a problem. Not too keen on the hood.

I bought this lens as a wide angle for my 20D and found it superb. It's sharp and color and contrast are just out of this world. Just upgraded to a 1D, and I find results are even better. Super wide.