about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: mahonet  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mahonet to your Buddy List
Canon EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_28-70_28s_1_
Review Date: Sep 23, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very good colours, contrast and saturation. Minimal vignetting and distortion also at 28mm. Good bokeh and sharp.
Cons:
Not in production any more. In wide angle area the sharpness in borders not as good as with Canon L primes (vs 24mm f1.4 II), but matches well with all non L primes. No reason to complain!

Simply the best Canon L zoom. I have used 24-70L, 24-105L, but this is the best. I am happy I could still find a little used copy of this pearl among the zooms.

 
Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

50macro
Review Date: Aug 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome lens! Excellent sharpness, color, contrast and bokeh.
Cons:
None, but it is macro which must be taken into consideration when focusing to infinity. Focusing ring is made for macro use.

Simply said, In my opinion, the best 50mm I have ever used and, I think, one of the best you can ever get. Very solid performer. Compared with Zeiss 1.4 planar the rendition is more contrasty and sharpness is better in apertures 2.0-2.8. That said I donīt blame Zeiss ze 1.4 planar in any way. They are just different tools for different purposes.

 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Aug 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent image quality, colour, contrast and bokeh
Cons:
big, quite heavy, expensive.

Best wide angle lens for Canon body! Especially for FF. Excellent sharpness already at f2.8. also in borders. There is distortion, but usually it doesnīt bother or it is not easy to find.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: May 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good image quality, accurate af. Good structure compared to II-version (as good as with 35mm f2 or 50mm f1.4)
Cons:
compared to price nothing.

What a positive surprise this lens is! I have used Canon 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.8II, Sigma 50mm f1.4, Carl Zeiss 50mm ze and this Canon I-version. Af is more accurarate than that of f1.4, structure is of the same level. All in all I like this older light model most of the Canon 50mm versions. For better bokeh and portraits I use Carl Zeiss 50mm ze. I found this unused copy from eBay.de.

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Feb 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, easily portable high quality lens!
Cons:
Actually nothing!

I bought my lens for under 600 €. I came back to this excellent lens after using some years 70-200 f4 zooms (IS and non IS), because I need a fast and light 200mm tele with ef 300 f2.8 L IS -lens with the same picture quality. And indeed, the quality can be compared with ef 300mm 2.8 L IS! One of the best and cheapest lens in Canon L-lens line up.

 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Dec 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: With Canon 1 D mark III (1,3 crop sensor) in apertures 8-16 sharp also in corners, good colours and contrast, no distortion, no CA. 12mm really wide.
Cons:
a little heavy and bulky, not possible to use uv/skylight filter in front of the front lens.

I bought this lens for Canon 1D mark III in order to get more wide angle. I have also Canon 17-40mm, but difference between 17mm and 12 mm is big in 1,3 -crop body. Must be stopped down to f8-13 to get best results, and in landscape photography itīs usually ok. Works also in indoor or low light situation when camera is supported. I like this bulky friend! Practically no distortion or vignetting at f8.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

ef10028lmisu_586x225
Review Date: Oct 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent resolution even wide open, fast af, good colours, excellent bokeh, new IS.
Cons:
expensive compared to non IS -model

Excellent macro and portrait lens because of itīs bokeh quality. The lens is exceptionally sharp even wide open, which with new IS is a very good combination.
I prefer the colours and especially the fast auto-focus compared to non is version. I think I will sell my 135L IS, because this lens is in my opinion as good but with IS. I have tried almost all possible 100mm macros and this is a keeper!


 
Tamron 180mm f/3.5 Di LD IF Macro Autofocus SP AF

19043180mm_1_
Review Date: Aug 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality really impressive.
Cons:
slow af. The "click-clack" -system in focusing ring does not feel always good.

Excellent macro lens! Optically impressive and leaves just nothing to desire. Really sharp in all apertures, CA well in controll, colours are beautiful, no distortion, vignetting minimal. This is not an easy lens to handle, because Dof is very short in large apertures and because of the slow af the "click-clack" (af-to-mf) -system in focusing ring must be used a lot. But, all in all, after some practice the lens works fine and the most important, the results, are always good. I do not hesitate to recommend this lens. In my opinion belongs to the same league as Canon ef 135 f2.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Aug 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very light and versatile lens, which can be used both with 5D (MkII) and 40/ 50D. A real bargain in Canon lens line up.
Cons:
Bokeh in wide apertures not very good.

Compared to my 35 f1.4L-lens nearly as good in many aspects. Shap even wide open and even with 5D, but with apertures 2.0-2.8 not as sharp as 1.4. Good colours, CA well in controll. My new copy (2009) seems to be better than the older copy I used earlier years ago. Only cons are bokeh especially compared to itīs bigger brother and a little noisy af. Compared to price a really good lens!

 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Nov 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp even wide open and also with full sensor body. Autofocus of my copy is excellent.
Cons:
weight

A very good new prime lens by Sigma. I have read about inconsistency problems with itīs autofocus, but my copy works really well!
Compared to canon 50 f1.4 I am very satisfied with this lens especially concerning itīs ability to produce sharp and CA-free pictures in apertures f1.4-2.0. The bokeh compared to Canon eqv. is more beautiful. Compared to Canon 35 f 1.4 not as sharp wide open but otherwise nearly as good. Good forth of money, if you get a good copy.