about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: lextalionis  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lextalionis to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Mar 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp and Fast AF. I like to use this lens for environmental portraits (good flexibility). Clever hood design too.
Cons:
Gets heavy after awhile

Another quality "Red Stripe" from Canon. Very useful for environmental portraits where fast AF is necessary.

Only drawback is its weight.

Here are some sample shots taken with a Canon 30D:

Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Mar 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,060.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IMHO I think this is Canon's best quality walk-around lens (on a full-frame sensor body). It's balanced nicely in build size/weight and f/4 throughout its zoom-range and IS is great.
Cons:
Slight vignetteing and the barrel distortion at 24mm but can be eaisly corrected.

Pros:
IMHO I think this is Canon's best quality walk-around lens (on a full-frame sensor body). It's balanced nicely in build size/weight and f/4 throughout its zoom-range and IS is great.

Cons:
Slight vignetteing and the barrel distortion at 24mm but can be eaisly corrected.

Here are some shots taken with a 5D and 40D:
Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Mar 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $920.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Consistently produces sharp vivid captures throughout its entire zoom range.
Cons:
The zoom ring was stiff at about 30mm when I first bought it but now it's smooth throughout the zoom range. I wish the bokeh was a little more OOF at 55mm and f/2.8.

I bought this lens about 5 months ago and it has been a rock-solid performer. I've heard a lot about dust issues, but so far there isn't a spec of dust visible inside the lens. I mostly like this lens for candid family shots (indoors at home) and landscape/architecture shots.

I took this HDR shot hand-held (3 AEB exposures) and placed first for HDR over at texasphotoforums: http://www.motleypixel.com/public/hdr_missouri_shed.jpg

You can see a good handful of other shots taken with this lens and my 30D here:

Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

224-70
Review Date: Mar 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice sharp fast lens and well balanced on the camera. A pleasure to use for model photography.
Cons:
Having some Canon experience as well, I wish the price point was comparable to Canon's 24-70, but I guess you can't compare apples to oranges.

This is a work-horse of a lens. Very fast AF and very sharp. Colors and contrast are perfect. I highly recommend this lens.

Here are some sample photos taken with a D3.

Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

2137NCP_180
Review Date: Mar 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $110.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best bang for the buck...just buy it...you won't be dissapointed.
Cons:
Build isn't as good as the 1.4 but good enough for $100

What's the difference between this one and the 1.4?

1. Price...about 3.3X cheaper.
2. Build quality a bit less over the 1.4
3. If you have a trained eye, then you'll notice harder bokeh highlights.

BUY IT!

Here are some sample taken with the Nikon D70:
Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Feb 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness at 1.2 is great! At 2.2 it's unbelievable! Bokeh is dreamy!
Cons:
AF seem a little slower from other L lenses

Perfect portrait lens in every way! The lens feels quality-built and balances nice on the camera body. This AF does seem a little slower but it doesn't bother me.

Here's a set of sample photos taken with the EOS 1D MkIII:
Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Feb 24, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp and the lowest distortion and image aberation lens I've come across. This will become a renownded Nikon lens for sure!
Cons:
A bit heavy on the $$ side, but you REALLY get what you pay for in this lens!

The sharpest Nikon wide-angle zooms lens available today IMHO. I can't believe the sharpness wide-open with this lens.

Here's a set of sample shots taken with D40 and D300 (note, the first photo was taken with a filter, so it is possible to use filters):

Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Jan 24, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $660.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price-to-Value ratio is very good for this lens. Works fine for landscape. Build quality if nothing-less than what one would expect from an L-series lens.
Cons:
Since I use an apc sensor body aka Canon 30D this lens works really nice IMHO.

I really like this lens and use it a lot to shoot outdoor landscapes. I've got a decent set of sample photos here: http://www.motleypixel.com/reviews/index.htm?openfolder=Canon%20Zooms/Canon%20EF%2017-40mm%20f4%20L/

-Roy


 
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: Oct 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp as a tack! Heck, almost too sharp esp. on potraits. Good price-to-quality ratio.
Cons:
Reverse zoom ring, AF is loud, barrel locking switch awkward to use when removing the lens from the camera body.

I like this lens. I use it on scouting hikes so in the cover of the woods it takes nice group shots. Only "beef" I have about this lens is that the zoom ring is reverse and the AF is loud.

I have high-resolution sample shots here: http://www.motleypixel.com/reviews

Lex


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Oct 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very low cost lens, fairly quick, good for indoor and low light.
Cons:
Poor build quality and lack of USM so AF is a bit "clunky/loud".

I had this lens for 6 months before letting it go. I enjoyed using it and produced some decent shots. I felt the low aperture blade count resulted in harsh OOF highlights and need a better build quality 50mm. I'm seriously considering the EF-S 60mm 2.8 Macro. Good Utility-to-Value ratio.

I have sample shots under the Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II Gallery Folder here: http://www.motleypixel.com/reviews/

Lex


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Oct 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $440.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Affordable, at $440 used for me, it's a great starter zoom lens...gets your feet wet with "L" quality.
Cons:
None really...see I can't say that it needs a lot of light or is poor indoors, because that's what the 2.8 and double the cost if for.

I will do as many others have done and that's use this as a beginner/break-in zoom until I'm ready for the IS and/or F2.8 versions.

I have sample shots with this lens under the Gallery Folder called Canon EF 70-200mm f4 L here: http://www.motleypixel.com/reviews/

Lex


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Sep 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $415.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Internal Focus, quite and fast USM Auto Focus. I find myself using MF on 1:1 shots and AF on all others. Very, Very Sharp! Beautiful buttery bokeh!
Cons:
Doesn't come with a lens hood, so I bought the Cannon hood for $50...waste of money as I don't use it.

I love this lens. All of the photos taken on my site were taken with this lens: http://www.motleypixel.com

 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3