about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: lextalionis  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lextalionis to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Fraction of the cost over the f/1.2 L and nearly the same results!
Cons:
I say nearly because it does get pretty soft at 1.8

I wanted a good portrait lens at an affordable price. I find this lens to be a real pleasure to use. The bokeh is soooooo dreamy...I love it! It's tricky to use at 1.8 and it's easy to get overly soft captures at 1.8.

I have high-resolution photo samples taken with my Canon 30D here:

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo

mp_e65_28_1_
Review Date: Apr 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Execelent results for the pro. 1-5X Mag!
Cons:
Difficult for beginer

Brian Valentine "LordV" and Dalantech and were kind enough to show some of their work using this lens. See their comments about this lens these fabulous sample high-resolution shots here:

Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5X Macro Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

efs60_28macro_usm
Review Date: Apr 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: About $150 cheaper than the 100 and 180mm macro but also just as sharp and fast as them.
Cons:
Less reach and less bokeh on the shorter focal lenght. Supports only EF-S bodies.

Only drawback is that's it's an EF-S lens and you know what that means.

Execelent lens. The photos speak for themselves:

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A bit better than the nifty-fifty
Cons:
IMHO, it just doesn't justify the price difference from the nifty-fifty

Don't get me wrong, this lens IS better than the 1.8. The build quality is better and the AF is faster and quieter (USM), but when it comes down to side-by-side image comparisons, there's only a small margin of "betterness" with the 1.4 IMHO.

This is a great little lens!

Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Tamron 28-75MM F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical (IF)

2875mm
Review Date: Mar 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $355.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good lens at a very good price. Good size and weight (smaller than Canon's equivalent).
Cons:
Not built as sturdy as Canon's equivalent.

Pros: Very good lens at a very good price. Good size and weight (smaller than Canon's equivalent).

Cons:
Not built as sturdy as Canon's equivalent.

Sample Photos Taken with a Canon 300D

-Roy


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Mar 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,370.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Produces the best bokeh of any Canon L series lens IMHO
Cons:
A little pricy and a little slow on AF

Wonderful lens. Built like a tank and performs like a gem! I don't think this lens carries Canon's top autofocus abilities and therefore it is actually a bit slower on AF than the 50mm 1.4 usm. Give this lens a chance if you struggle at first using it, it takes practice.

Sample photos taken with a Canon 5D

-Roy


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Mar 25, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,579.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, clarity, contrast, and colors are excellent!
Cons:
None really, except that it's a bit expensive.

Even though the Canon EF 16-35 f/2.8 L II USM is and expensive lens, I would highly recommend it. The AF is extremely quiet and very fast; it gives a high image quality!

Pros: Sharpness, clarity, contrast, and colors are excellent!

Cons: None really, except that it's a bit expensive.

Here are some sample shots taken with a Canon 30D

Lex


 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Mar 24, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $610.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: For the price this is a great macro lens. Also lighter than the more professional Canon version.
Cons:
Slow AF...but MF is used a lot in macro. Need a stead hand and fast shutter speed.

For the price this is a great macro lens. Also lighter than the more professional Canon version.

Slow AF...but MF is used a lot in macro. Need a stead hand and fast shutter speed.

Sample Photos taken with a Nikon D80

-Roy


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Mar 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,140.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfect de facto lens, well-balanced in size, very sharp and high IQ lens!
Cons:
A little pricy, but you get what you pay for.

I would be happy with this lens epoxied to my spare Canon 5D body! If I could only have one lens, then this one would be my choice.

Canon EF 35mm f/1.4 L USM Lens Photo Samples

-Roy


 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Mar 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Really sharp wide-angle zoom for APS-C bodies.
Cons:
No hood which is highly recommended. Vignetting and barrel distortion.

Really a very nice lens for APS-C bodies such as the XTi/400D, 30/40D, and the upcoming XSi/450D.

The Vignetting and barrel distortion is easily corrected in post-processing. Really a nice sharp and fun lens to use. Only drawbacks are that it doesn't include a lens hood and it's somewhat slow on aperture sizes and thus is not good in low light w/o a tripod.

Sample Photos taken with a Canon 30D

-Roy


 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Mar 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very very sharp lens...only a wee bit of edge-softness at 300mm and f/2.8
Cons:
Heavy, AF isn't as fast as expected, some Canon 1-series may have focus issues.

A truly remarkable Sigma Zoom. This is a wonderful sports and nature lens. Works very well with the Sigma TC's...highly recommend!

Sample photos taken with a Nikon D200 and Canon 5D

-Roy


 
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM

ef_180_35_1_
Review Date: Mar 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, good color, great for longer reach macro, and built like a tank!
Cons:
Cost and weight.

Built better than the Canon 100mm f/2.8 macro USM, every bit as good as the 100mm macro. Very sharp and good colors. This lens is a tank, but you will get more reach from it. Great lens, no issues here!

Sample Photos Shot with a Canon 30D

-Roy


 
Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 EX DC

18-50f28
Review Date: Mar 14, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Wide angle macro and sharp if stepped down beyond 2.8
Cons:
Soft, soft edges and buid quality is low IMHO

I'm not going to recommend this lens, but this is my opinion.

Photos speak for themselves. Here are samples taken with a Canon XTi:

Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Tamron 18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) AF

18_250mm
Review Date: Mar 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $475.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice walk-around lens if you are not a purist/perfectionist photographer. A definite upgrade from the kit lens.
Cons:
Soft on either end, and noisy AF, and the zoom lock is required to take on/off the lens due to the focus ring being so close to the camera-end of the lens.

I would say at $475 this lens is a fair deal. Good for those traveling photogs that don't have to pride themselves on perfect shots.

If you like and/or have primes in your bag, you may just be a little upset with this one.

Here are some sample photos taken with a Canon XTi:

Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM

ef14mmf_28l_1_
Review Date: Mar 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great rectilinear wide angle and fun to use.
Cons:
Bulbous front element, prone to flare, rear element very exposed and high cost.

Honestly $2000 is hard to justify on this lens. Don't get me wrong, it a very nice lens and IQ is definitely very good among its class.

Here are some sample shots taken with a 5D (take note to some comparison shots between the MkII version and this lens, interesting finds with flare and soft edges):
Sample Photos

-Roy


 
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

111_small
Review Date: Mar 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $510.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid build, low distortion, good color and decent sharpness.
Cons:
A little degree of CA (purple fringing) present and a little slow on the AF side.

This is the widest rectilinear wide-angle lens I would ever recommend. For me, it's exactly what I was looking for in a wide-angle. Expect edge-softness at 10mm and probably more so on a full-frame sensor.

Fun lens for architecture and landscape.

Here are some sample shots taken with a Nikon D50:

Sample Shots taken with Nikon D50

-Lex


 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next