about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: johnastovall  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add johnastovall to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Aug 8, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp wide open, smooth boken and a jewel for very low light
Cons:
None for my use

I to street shooting in a small Texas town until now the 50/1.0 was my only choice for the low light levels was working under with the 5D. This lens now give me a second choice and allows a different look from the 50/1.0.

You can see some examples here.

http://photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=700313

I've also found it very good for archtectural details in old churches when working off a tripod and stopped down.


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Jan 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,075.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build, light, fast and sharp
Cons:
none

I've been very surprised by this lens. I was adding to use with a 35L and thought it might suffer in comparison but it does not.

This is one of the more underrated and apprecated of the Canon 'L' line.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Dec 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazingly sharp wide open at all zoom lengths. It has made a believer in IS of me hand holding on a 5D at 1/30 is perfect.
Cons:
none. Price is fair for what you get and as for weight I don't have a problem with it.

So much better than my 70-200/4.0L which was a great lens but the extra speed and IS make this a killer on a 5D for low light at high ISO's.



 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.0L USM

ef50mmf_10l_1_
Review Date: Sep 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: You can shot where no other Canon lens can. Interesting Monet like Bokeh. This will the low noise Canon dSLRs and you can truly stalk light in the night. Beautiful solid build.
Cons:
Its cost but you get what you pay for. Very hard to learn to use with in it's DOF. But it's the only game in town for SLR's.

I love shooting in low light at night and this is the greatest one for that. It takes time to master and learn what it will do and what it does. But on a 5D body it opens up the nigth to you. No tripod just walking the streets, taking snaps of the dark world. Here is come of the thing's I've doe with it. All were taken before the sun was above the horizion.

http://photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=635539



 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jul 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,136.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing color and image quality. Everything about this lens is true.
Cons:
The only negative is I should have gotten it sooner.

Yes, everything people say about this lens is true. The color is magical. The sharpness and bokeh are right there with the 135L.

On my 5D this lense requires nothing in photoshop to produce stunning images, not even sharpening. It's resolution is amazing, even wide open and at f/8.0 it's eye bleeding sharp.

If you were to have only one L for every day use this would be the one.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: May 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $309.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp Good images after f/2.0. Very sharp at f/8.0
Cons:
So cheaply built and loose, I hate to use it. Not ever the build quality of the 85mm f/1.8. Because of that it stays in my bag most of the time. But it's Canon's fastest 50mm so it's the only game in town.

If Canon made a 50mm L at 1.4 or 1.2 I would dump this in a New York Second. But until they do we are stuck with this thing if we want a fast 50mm for full frame.

The Optics are a great value but the cheap loose build really detracts from them.

The worst built Canon lens I own.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: May 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great range on full frame and very nice on 1.6. Sharp images, great color and ever so fast to focus
Cons:
None

I debated long and hard over getting this lens for my 20D after all the "bad" copy reports about it on the net. I got it and think those are a load of hogwash. This is a great sharp lens with great color.
It was very good on the 20D and gave me the range and speed for daily use but when I got the 5D it really came into it's own.

It's the perfect "walk around" zoom for a full frame Canon.

Don't listen to those who talk about its problems, they are the ones with the problem not the lens.



 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: May 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,408.13 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great color and wonderfully smooth zoom, it really shines on my 5D. I wanted something for it faster than the 17-40 I had gotten for my 20D and to fill in below the 24-70 for events. This does it wonderfull
Cons:
Some CA in the corners with some subjects at 16mm but a quick adjustment in ACR solves that.q45

Got this lens to fill in below my 24-70 and for the extra stop as I found the 17-40 just too slow in many cases. I've not been disapointed with it. It full a slot in my kit that I needed. What little CA I've seen in the corners at 16 is easily fixed. A great companion lense to the 24-70.



 
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM

ef_180_35_1_
Review Date: May 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,264.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great color and so sharp it'll make your eyes bleed. Very glad I got it.
Cons:
Non but be prepared to accept it on it's terms and do the work it demands.

I debate about this L lense and the cheaper 100 or a Tarmon 180 cheaper still. I'm very glad I paid what I did. In just a morning of work it shows it's ever thing one expects from a Canon L lense. Some people complain about the AF speed. I don't expect to use AF that much with a macro and it has silk smooth manual focus. I only have on question for Canon and it's not about the lens, "Where's the MLU button on the 5D!" This lens demands such a feature on the camera body. Also a good heavy tripod is a must.



 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Jan 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,070.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very, very sharp, light and easy to handhold and shot with.
Cons:
None

I got this lense for landscapes and wildlife. It is razor sharp and can be hand held very well and panned just fine. It is a lense which you need to understand it's limitations and it's strong points and work within those. Some complain about the f/5.6 but with Canon's low noise at high ISO in the 20D, I don't find it a problem and accepting there are some early morning or late evening shots I can't make. But there it takes far more "WOW" shots than it can't.




 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Jan 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything about this lense is true. It is razor sharp and provides wonderful Bokeh.
Cons:
None.

I got mine in December and it's rapidly become one of my two favorite lenses for shooting rural Texas landscapes from the road side. One shot made with it has already been published. It is also very good for catching people in small rural towns as it lets you keep distance and doesn't stand out like the white 70-200mm f/4.00 I have does.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Nov 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp detail, lovely cream like bokeh, paper thin DOF wide open.
Cons:
None

I got this lens after seeing what various members here in FM's Canon Mount Group posted about it and seeing their images. I've not been disappointed.

It is an amazing lens and has become the one I pick when just wanting to go shoot for the beauty and joy of images. It is so sharp and the depth of field can be so thin it makes me think and work for each shot. But when it all comes to getter it, "WOW!".