about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: jmraso  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jmraso to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: May 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, 21 Mpixels, microadjusment, ISO 1600 quite good.
Cons:
CF door is weak.

Hi all,

I finally decided to get a 5D mark II, yesterday I bought it and used it as much as I could.

All my lenes (24, 50. 85, 135 and 16-35) had no problems just +/- 3 or 4 points of microadjusments in th 24 and 16-35 and I found them sharper than ever ( my be I was overexiceted ) which pleased me quite a bit.

The AF seems to be fast enough or more than enough for what this camera is meant to shoot ( I just used the central point).

IQ from RAW is quite, quite good (assuming the photo is taken properly and processed the same way).

Well, after 7 years shooting only 1D series I felt the body tiny but tough & felt myself a little unconfortable which, hopefully, will disappear soon.

ISO is quite good up to 1600.

I am sure I will find negative things if I just focus and compare the 5D II with all the 1D series I have ever used but I beleive this would be a USER ERROR

Thank you all for the comments.

Jaime


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jan 9, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: f2 at 135 focal, fast, silent, accurate, and sharpness
Cons:
No IS.

I just bought this peace of lens although I have the 85 1.2 and dont regret it, they are totally diferent.

It is very sharp at f2 (sharper my 85 at 1.2 anyway), fast and you feel safe with it mounted on the camera.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com



 
Canon Extender EF 2x II

Extender_2x2_1_
Review Date: Mar 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very useble, AF works on 1D series
Cons:
Just a little hunting.

With my Canon 300 2.8 IS the image quality is more than useble at 5.6 as long as you keep speeds around 1/1000 and the subject fills the circle of the focussing screen in the 1D series.

Very happy for not having to buy a 500 or 600 IS f4 at the moment.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com



 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Oct 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness of course, IS, handholdable and very good with the 1.4 TC
Cons:
No so good with the 2.0TC but I suppose it is not the lens but the TC.

I am amazed and in love with this lens.
I think function 19 in 1 series cameras along with these teles, 300 2.8 is one of them, is something extremely helpful.

I do recomend this lens

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jun 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, color rendition, built.
Cons:
None

Best lens for portrait on a FF body (1Ds for me).

Never disappointed.

I do recomend it for this work !!!

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent color redition, Sharpness is unbeatable. Built like a tank.
Cons:
A litle too big for a wide angle.

Amazing lens on a FF body, it has almost sent my 16-35 to retirement.
Beautiful pictures and wonderful color.

I do recomend it.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: May 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, Sharpness, Sharpness and also Shapness. Color rendition, aperture (and the posibilities of it.
Cons:
Nothing.

Excellent control of everything once you have learnt how to use it as at 1.2 it is not a joke.

Very little processing with it when monunted on 1D bodies.

I do recommend it.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EOS 1Ds

21Ds
Review Date: Apr 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: FF, 11 million pixel, confidence of a 1D body, film looking prints.
Cons:
Noise but not an issue if you can control light or have another body,which is my case 1D Mark II N

I bought a Brand New one on Stock for a song and I can stop using it even having a more modern DSRL (Mark II N) but the 1Ds gives me plenty of confidence up yo 400 ISO or even higher taken for granted some post proccesing (Noise Ninja).

I do recomend it if the price is good.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Feb 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: FF, resolution and low noise. Quality pictures is the main positive aspect of this "toy".
Cons:
Price and no FEL function. Flash syn. it is only 1/200 !!!

Excellent wedding camera, no need to go for a 1 series yet.
Beautifull photos straight out of the camera with little processing.

My first real Pro DSRL.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Feb 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp and focals at a time. Color rendition IS
Cons:
F4 is my only regret.

Very proffessional walk-around lens when there is light.

Very happy clients when see the prints.

"L" glass is "L" glass anyway.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Jan 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Walk around lens, built and color rendition.
Cons:
the zoom system.

Not as sharp as the 400 5.6 but it is very versatile though.
When there is plenty of light (Summer, sunny winter ...) this lens is quite sharp, but when light falls youīd better put it back in the bag.
Jaime wrote.
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Very sharp even at 16 2.8 as ussual in all my L glass. Beatutifull color redition. smoth zooming. Not a complain.
Cons:
None.

Quite happy with the prints that I sell around and specially
these church shots when I do wedding.

I do recommend it.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Dec 13, 2005 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Extremely sharp lens not being a prime. excellent color rendition. Built, confidence.
Cons:
None, honestlly.

Just another Canon master piece.

Very happy clients when I sell my work.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Dec 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IS, sharpness, touch and the wonderful color rendition.
Cons:
none at the moment, honsetly.

I do recomend this lens to any one who want certain reach and donīt want a boring prime.

Excellent prints, never a complain from my clients.

Go for it.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Nov 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great lens. very sharp and fast focusing. Afforable price compare with its brothers.
Cons:
No IS for handheld shots.

Since I got it I hardly use the 100 400 IS when I go birding.

Pretty nice images when printing.

Iīm very happy.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Nov 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: So sharp even at 1.4 that I forget isnīt "L" glass
Cons:
Is not "L" built quality

Again all it matters is the quality of the prints the client pays, this lens just do it.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


 

Page:  1 · 2  next