about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: jimyd  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jimyd to your Buddy List
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, speed, IS, weight
Cons:
None.

Excelleny Lens for sports, birds...ie with a 1.4x and 20D, superb focussing and sharpness..best I have ever used

 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

1d_mkii_n
Review Date: Dec 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Its an ALL round top camera, Speed, Build, quality
Cons:
NONE

so far camera seems just as good as the 1DmkII, the new color profiles seem very handy, very nice screen...could be better in sunlight...apart from that camera is worth every cent.

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Nov 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: "L" zoom, cant get better
Cons:
heavy

much better than the Tamrom 28-75, better build, sharper, full time manual focus etc. Top Lens.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Nov 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: lightwieght, fast focus, IS, built in hood.
Cons:
f4

Brilliant lens. Have had the 300 f2.8 for a while now, but I find this lens gets more use...its lighter, very very sharp and easy to handle. It doesnt take to the converters as well as the 2.8, but what do you want for a fraction of the price?


 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Nov 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfect Macro lens...especially with digital sensors.
Cons:
None Yet

I cannot say enough about this lens. Its probably the BEST macro I have ever used. Its working distance is not too far not too close, just right. Lens feels well balanced in the hands and on the camera...I use it with a 1D and 20D. The results from 2.8 to f16 are OUTSTANDING. Very Slight loss at f22..but then again so does Canons 180, 100, 50 and 60. As a telephoto the images resemble the smae sharpness as my 135f2L...it hasnt got the focus speed, but it does deliver the results. Flare is almost NON existent in this lens. I use it without any filters and without the supplied lens hood and I havent seen any flare yet. It is outstanding as a macro. Only gripe, it doesnt take Canon 1.4x converters...no dramas, will have to invest in a Sigma 1.4x. Apart from that I am in love with this lens. The quality I get from my 300f2.8 is almost identical...except for colour saturation..Sigma is slightly less...easily fixed in PS.
As a dedicated MACRO....you cannot go wrong with this baby, this is a lens I will not be getting rid of...its a keeper. Well done Sigma...at last an equal to "L" glass from an aftermarket company.


 
Sigma 20mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical RF

20_f1_8_1_
Review Date: Apr 19, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: wide enough, 1.8 aperature, relatively compact for aprature size
Cons:
flare, not sharp until f4, not full time manual focus

you get what you pay for, at least it would have been good to use this @ f1.8 or even 2.0 but not sharp at all.
Also soft corners at all aperatures up to f11.


 
Tokina 24-200mm AT-X 242 AF

8232atx242af
Review Date: Mar 27, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: zoom range, build quality
Cons:
heavy,

slight vignetting at 24mm fully open.

 
Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 XR Di Zoom AF

28-75mm
Review Date: Mar 27, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 2.8,light,sharp as,compact
Cons:
noisier focus than USM

Top lens , excellent price. Build quality could be better..you wouldnt want to kncok this lens too hard against something hard.

 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Mar 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What a LENS...perfect range for sports photography. Very Sharp and excellent contrast.
Cons:
Slightly heavy...not really considering what your getting.

I have used this lens very closely with my EF300F2.8L, the prime is only marginally better at 2.8, @ f4 and above these two lenses are almost identical in sharpness. The canon focusses quicker and tracks better however the Sigm is not a slow mover either.
I ended up selling my Canon after much thought and tests, ....do i regret it??..not at all. Give me a 120-300f2.8 zoom any day..this lens is a beast that hasnt been given enough respect. Get a good copy and its stays with you for life.


 
Tamron 24-135MM F/3.5-5.6 AD Aspherical (IF) Macro

24135mm_1_
Review Date: Mar 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: nice performer even though it doesnt go to 2.8...well built
Cons:
slightly noisy

nice lens and very good range. Very Sharp from f4 and above

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Mar 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: this lens behaves and feels like a lens should. I cant fault this lens.
Cons:
none

Brilliant..better than my 300F2.8L...a tad sharper..not by much but. On a fuul frame digital camera this is the best walk around lens...street stuff

 
Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

ef24mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: resist flare very well..and sharp.
Cons:
plasticky feel..no usm

nice peice of glass for a cheap price