about | support

  Reviews by: jfk03  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jfk03 to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 40D

Review Date: Feb 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image quality, price, dust reduction

I debated about going for the 50D but settled on the 40D because it has everything I need and the price is right. Don't need the extra pixels. I use the 40D for wildlife, birds and action, the 5D for landscape photography. I particularly like the dust reduction feature. Image quality is superb.

Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

Review Date: Apr 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,199.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent color, IQ and build. Relatively light weight; doesn't stand out as a "professional" camera; controls very intuitive; full frame at very reasonable price
Lacks some features of "pro" cameras that cost thousands more.

This camera is a particularly good deal when purchased with "kit" EF 24-105 f/4L lens. I am very satisfied with the color and image quality. My 30D is better for sports and birds. I bought this as a landscape camera and for portraits. It is a bit heavier than the 30D but feels quite similar in my hands. About the same "heft." Controls are quite similar to those on a 30D, so the transition was quite easy. There was no big learning curve in getting up and running. This is a top notch camera at a reasonable price.

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Review Date: Apr 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, excellent build, reasonably priced, doubles as portrait lens
AF hunts

Love this lens.

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

Review Date: Dec 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,175.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: 2.8 aperture, top notch optics, fast focus, build, price (IMO very reasonable for what you are getting)
Heavy, but that's to be expected considering the speed & optics

I have drooled over this lens for several years. Bought one a few days ago and have not been disappointed. It is excellent for sports and fast-moving action. It is also very good for landscapes, events, weddings, you name it. Top quality and incredibly versatile. I do not feel guilty about the money I spent.

Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

Review Date: Dec 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Price, reasonably sharp, good build for money, range, versatility
Not L

Great lens for travel and street photography. If you want to go light with just a couple lenses, take this one. It is not perfect, but the pluses outweigh the negatives. I think it is an underrated lens.

Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

Review Date: May 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, great color, fast focusing, excellent portrait lens on 1.6 crop camera

My favorite portrait lens.

Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

Review Date: May 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent sharpness, color, build, versatility

I have used this lens for better part of a year on 1.6 crop cameras (30D, 300D). At 35 mm it is functional equivalent of a normal lens. Good for landscape photography, architectural shots, events. At its widest angle you do have to watch your horizons, however. I have this lens on my camera about 50% of the time.

Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

Review Date: May 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,150.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp and clear, great color, fast focusing, excellent build.
Hood won't fit in camera bag

I love this lens! It is extremely versatile, especially for events. Takes excellent portraits. It is on my 30D about 80% of the time.

Canon EOS 30D

Review Date: May 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,360.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Spot metering, buffer, larger LCD, feel & build, responsiveness, image quality

I am still in Hog Heaven since I upgraded from 300D about a month ago. Am still learning my way around this camera, but I find it easy to use, responsive, great image quality. I love this camera.

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Review Date: Apr 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Compact, light, fast, sharp, good bokeh, price

Love this lens. Use for portraits, as medium telephoto for landscapes, and also for indoor sports. Recently took awesome shot of town of Mendocino from across Big River estuary.

Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

Review Date: Mar 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Excellent images; ease of use; price

I have been a casual SLR user for years. Purchased the 300D about 2 years ago as first digital camera and have used it constantly and greatly increased my skills. Have invested in several quality lenses instead of upgrading to 20D. I am finally considering purchase of a 30D or possibly a 5D but will definitely keep the Rebel for utility use.