about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: jejphotobug  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jejphotobug to your Buddy List
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX SD

atx124afprodx
Review Date: Jun 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $499.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, Color Rendition, Build, Focusing Speed
Cons:
None yet. But if I had to choose a couple of negatives then I would would have to say the CA and proneness to flare (with sun in front of camera) that have been reported in some reviews. CA is easily correctable in many photo editing software programs.

I must begin by stating that, although I had debated between this lens and the Canon EF-S 10-22mm lens, I had actually decided to buy the Canon because I had rented it 6 months ago and was happy with it. But, as luck would have it, B&H was out of the Canon lens when I went to purchase it a week ago. I had read some good reviews on the Tokina and decided to purchase it instead of waiting a couple of weeks. In the back of mind, I figured that I could always sell the Tokina and get the Canon if I wasn't happy with it.

But I am quite happy with this lens so far. It is built, as someone else had commented, like an L lens. It provides you with sharp photos. Color rendition is accurate and can be quite vivid depending on the subject matter. And I have been quite pleased with its autofocusing speed --- even if it doesn't have USM or HSM, the Tokina focus quite rapidly and accurately.

Would I have liked the extra 2mm at the wide end? Sure, without a doubt. Aren't we always looking for a lens with the most that it can give us? But, I am not certain that I will need it, or at least not often enough for me to have said that I will just wait for the Canon 10-22mm or to give the Sigma 10-20mm a try.

I did have to exchange the first copy, which had a slight soft right side even when stopped down to f/8 or f/10. I do not have that issue with my second copy. (In case anyone is curious, B&H was still out of the Canon 10-22mm lens but, in any case, I still wanted to give the Tokina another try.)

Here are a few samples that I took down the block from B&H Photo in midtown Manhattan (NYC) as soon as I picked up my second copy (fresh out of the box):


http://i.pbase.com/o6/00/260700/1/81025851.u8nCrGgr.Tokina12to24mmLensSample027.jpg

http://i.pbase.com/o6/00/260700/1/81025804.W5wvdgl3.Tokina12to24mmLensSample022.jpg

http://i.pbase.com/o6/00/260700/1/81025742.VDcQt851.Tokina12to24mmLensSample015.jpg

http://i.pbase.com/o6/00/260700/1/81025776.EVmRngxP.Tokina12to_rpness.jpg

http://i.pbase.com/o6/00/260700/1/81025719.lqAewRq7.Tokina12to24mmLensSample013.jpg


Overall, I am quite pleased with this lens and am looking forward to trying it out during the months of July and August when I will be on vacation and am especially looking forward to taking it with me to Disney World in August when I go with my wife and two daughters. I gave it an overall rating of 9 only because of the reports of CA and flare in reviews.