about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: jb_va2001  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jb_va2001 to your Buddy List
Gitzo G1327 Mountaineer Mk2 Carbon Fiber

G1327_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, rugged, quick to set up and use. I prefer twist locks to snaps on other brands.
Cons:
Expensive.

I have the similar G1325. These Gitzo's are a pleasure to use. Top quality, & rock solid. A little pricey. I prefer the twist locks to snaps on other brands.

 
Nikon D2Hs

D2H
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Rugged, feature rich, fast focusing, fast FPS. A solid pro-grade DSLR.
Cons:
Noise in under exposed areas over 800 ISO.

A rugged pro-grade DSLR which is loaded with features. Excellent image quality under 800 ISO. 4 mpix may limit some enlargements but it easily handles 8x10 and larger. Excellent battery & ergonomics. High ISO noise an issue for some uses over 800 ISO. Long exposure noise reduction makes this a great choice for night photography and infrared. The SB-800 is an ideal flash for the D2H.

 
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

2139NAS_180
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, a quality lens in every way. VR is effective.
Cons:
Large, heavy, expensive.

Large, heavy, expensive and worth it. Another outstanding Nikkor zoom. It's sharp and fast. VR is effective but I use it on a tripod most of the time reducing the need.

 
Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

1961NAS_180
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, rugged, great normal-tele zoom range.
Cons:
Heavy, large, expensive.

Another outstanding Nikon zoom lens. The work horse lens for weddings, events, news and more. It's rugged, fast, sharp and provides a good focal range. One of my favorites, always in the bag, never at home.

 
Nikon 17-35mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF-S

1960NAS_180
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp, fast, suitable for film or digital. Rugged, pro-grade all the way.
Cons:
Heavy, large & expensive.

This zoom seldom leaves my camera, it's my favorite lens. I look for places to use it. The 17-35 is the sharpest zoom I own. Little distortion, fast, a pleasure to shoot. Rock solid performer. Use it with film or digital.

 
Nikon 12-24mm f/4G ED-IF AF-S DX

2144NAS_180
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide-wide-wide. An excellent ultra-wide zoom for Nikon's DSLRs. Sharp from 17mm-24mm. Fairly small & light.
Cons:
Not f/2.8. Distortion at 12mm.

One of the industries first digital specific SLR lenses. It provides an ultra-wide perspective and good zoom range. Fairly light and small compared to f/2.8 glass. Sharpest from 17mm-24mm.

 
Nikon 105mm f/2.8D AF Micro

1988NCP_180
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A small, light, 105mm tele or macro. Sharp and fast. Good working distance for insects. Reasonable price. A nice compromise between the 60mm & 200mm Micros.
Cons:
None worthy of mention. I needed a step up ring. ;)

Well positioned in the Nikkor line up between the 60mm & 200mm Micros, the 105mm provides a sharp macro or telephoto image.

 
Nikon 85mm f/1.4D IF AF Nikkor

1933NAS_180
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp and fast. One beautiful piece of glass.
Cons:
Not a slow focusing lens on a D2~ body, but I'd still like to see it offered with AF-S.

One of Nikon's best prime lenses. Put this in your bag and you won't regret it.

 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor

1902NCP_180
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, light, sharp, fast, inexpensive.
Cons:
While the glass is sharp & fast, the rest of the build quality is not up with the Nikon pro-grade lenses.

Overall a great addition to the Nikon SLR shooter's bag. Small, light fast & sharp. It doesn't feel as rugged as Nikon's pro lenses but well worth the price.

 
Nikon SB-800 AF Speedlight

sb800
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Powerful, quick recycle, flexible, simple to configure & use, multi-flash capabilities are a huge plus, wireless functions very well. iTTL is another step up, almost too easy. All things considered this is an outstanding flash. I now own 3.
Cons:
No serious negatives. Could be cheaper & smaller. Manual could be better. You know, the usual things we complain about when the product is A+.

Nikon's top-of-the-line flash is an excellent performer. Plan on buying a few SB-800's because you're going to love the wireless, multi-flash capabilites.