about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: jamach  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jamach to your Buddy List
Nikon D7000

D7000
Review Date: Jun 3, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,199.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: full of features that give professional performance low cost image quality
Cons:
getting the most from the configuration takes a bit of testing

Many people say this or that camera is great "for the price". That requires a little restating with the D7000 - a great camera AND a low price.

The feature set offers many pro level options. Once configured the way you want it then the truth emerges. This camera like to do pictures!



 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Oct 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,389.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: With 5D it is very sharp at all apertures. Very fast focus. Nice Bokeh. Focus range limiter. Built like a cannon.
Cons:
tripod collar removal could be improved via new ring. The lens has small screws protruding that help mount the ring.

I do not have anything but praise for this lens. With the 5D the results are stunning. It focuses very fast, colors are superb, very nice bokeh, and it is flexible - just pull or push and the lens responds. I have not had any problems or glitches, am a happy camper. I forgot to add that my copy is sharper than what many reviewers admit, it is very sharp. If I had a quibble it would be my wish that the lens have a lens hood like the 400m F5.6L. The price paid was not too bad for this level of quality and today's market. I should have bought this lens a long time ago.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jul 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: easy to work with
Cons:
none

Stunning sharpness, quick focus, 3 stop stabilizer, neutral color, and now I have many more keepers to process after every outing with this lens. Simply outstanding performance that will take your breath away, even for a zoom. It does people portraits, general photography, and flower shots with equal aplomb. The bokeh can be increased to butter smoothness with addition of the Canon 12mm extension tube. The minimum focusing distance of 1.5 feet is great, and the 500D is a nice addition for super closeups. The performance begins at F4. With 105mm available, sporting events such as rodeos, indoor, and close magnification are all possible with stabilization! The 24mm is not a limiter for me since I do not do ultra wide angle pictures, but does provide a nice perspective that is wide with less distortion. Get this lens because it does most jobs superbly with image stabilization and L quality.

 
Sigma 24-70mm f3.5-5.6 Aspherical HF

24_70HF_med_1_
Review Date: Oct 16, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $120.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Cheap
Cons:
Poor image quality, definitely no L class, not even average Canon class.

I read all the reviews about this lens and jumped on board. I should have saved my money. This lens is junk and no way near in any sense of the word to any L lens produced by Canon. It does not even belong in the same ball park as my 70-200F4L, or 200f2.8L, or many other Canon lenses. I had the 24-70L lens and this Sigma lens is no way even in the same planet. It is junk.

If anyone claims this lens is sharper than their L lens then their L lens has a problem and should be sent for repair.

It may equal the 20D 18-55 kit lens.

I reiterate that the only use this lens has is to maybe replace the 18-55 kit lens and waste money.

Consider that Sigma did not even include this lens in their current catalog.

Buy this piece of junk at your own risk. Shoot at F8 if you want. It won't matter.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Sep 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, color, size, high F32 performance
Cons:
none

This lens is a must have. Why? Because it is sharp, produces great color, and can do people. When you absolutely need the picture sharp or an outstanding short portrait lens, this is it. Yes, it is not usm and the design is old, but it does perform very well. Need sharp F2.5-32? You got it, for about $200.

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Sep 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, color, size and weight, fast focusing
Cons:
none

This lens is built like a tank but is not extremely heavy. It is very sharp and works well with the TC 1.4x. Extension tubes, 1.4x and 500D can make this a close focuser that does intense macro shots at super sharp levels. The lens can also be a superb butterfly lens and with the 1.4 even better!

The lens is also superb for people portrait lens in the park.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM

ef100mmf_2usm_1_
Review Date: Sep 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $387.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, contrast, color, speed of focus, size, skin tone
Cons:
absolutely none

I join the others who praise this lens with the highest recommendations. The results are stunning, color rich, fast focus, superb skin tone, all else. I purchased a nice lens hood and that is a great add on. With a 500D it performs close focus duties at F2.0 with world class results.

Highly recommended.


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM

ef70-300_45-56doisu
Review Date: Apr 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built, precise, 58mm threads so filters cost less, accepts adapters, has IS. Great lens hood.
Cons:
A bit pricey.

I was a bit hesitant when I bought this lens and was excited about trying it out. The test drive was flowers and people. I am not going to worry about it anymore. This lens is very sharp with contrast, the bokeh is beautiful, and the IS definitely works to increase the keeper rate. Out of 129 pictures only 2 were fuzzy, not bad at all. Also the build quality reminds me of an L lens. If you always wanted a great lens hood this lens has one.