about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: inukshuk  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add inukshuk to your Buddy List
Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3 AF APO DG OS

150-500
Review Date: Aug 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built Like a tank, Super smooth zooming, Great OS and HSM, Hand holdable, Great range
Cons:
Considering it's a 500mm. NONE

This is my first super telephoto lens. So when I got it I found it big and heavy compared to my 70-200 f/2.8. But then it's not in the same ball park.
HSM is great and so is the OS and you can hear feel it work.
I'm slowly getting to understand this beast and it's getting more and more comfortable now that I'm learning how to work with it. Which is something you have to give time to do.
I love where the manual focus ring is centered with it's handle making doing MF super easy just with my thumb while hand holding. Images in full frame are really nice even at 500mm.
Now it just stays on my camera waiting for nice weather.
Bottom Line: Built Like a tank, Super smooth zooming, Great OS and HSM, Hand holdable, Great range,
A must have.
Oh yea and comes with a 10 year warranty in Canada.


 
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D

AT-XM100PRO_D
Review Date: Apr 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Really Nicely Built, Sharp and rich. Pro Feel.
Cons:
NONE

I'm not going to get into details here. But only have to say that I love this lens.Feels real comfy in the hands, super smooth mechanism, Really a Pro feel. Images nice and sharp and love the color rendition. I had a Sigma macro before, but prefer this one by far.

 
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX SD

atx124afprodx
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank. Smooth, Pro Quality
Cons:
NONE

Simple! I don't know where to begin. I just love this lens. As far as I'm concerned it's worth more than what it sells for. Pro quality, Tough as nails, super smooth, great pictures, and on and on and on...
If I'd loose it, I'd go right out and get another one asap.
As for more detailed impressions, well there's already lots posted here. Now all you have to do is get one.


 
Tokina 28-80mm f/2.8 AT-X 280 AF PRO

atx280afpro
Review Date: Feb 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Pro Build Quality, Smooth and fast Focus and Built like a tank.
Cons:
None Yet.

Have to admit that after reading some revues especialy concerning the weight, I was stunned at how heavy it is. Weight wise I can compare it to my 70-200 f/2.8. One thing for sure is you feel like you've got something in your hands. Doesn't feel like a toy. It has a lot of oumph. I just got it so have only tried it indoors with and without the flash. So far very smooth and fast focusing. I like the pull-push for the AF-MF. Nice and fast when you need it. The zoom has a slight delay or loosness when you start but gone immediately.

After I get used to it I'll have to decide if I part with my 18-50 f/2.8?
No rush though.
Hard to find new oe used ones. I got this new from Microlobe in the UK.


 
Nikon D100

D100
Review Date: May 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Love it Period. Has a Pro feel to it and if you take the time to study it you'll get fab results.
Cons:
LCD to small for my eyes, and I got humidity inside once when out by boat for a few hrs

I've had it since December 2005 and after going through the manual extensively I was able to get all good shots pretty much anywhere inside or out. Manual WB is great, AF very fast with all my lens. I noticed somebody complaining about the buffer speed, well it's 20mbs in Raw and with an extreme III card I get 4 continuos shots shooting Raw and it takes but a couple seconds and ready again. I found that pretty fast when shooting hockey. I'm not going to go on cause I wouldn't have any room to give all it's qualities. My only problem was the LCD being to small for my eyes. Gotta carry my reading glasses. I will eventually get a D200 mainly because of the 2.5" LCD. If it wasn't for that I'd get a second D100.

 
Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 EX DC

18-50f28
Review Date: Feb 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Love it. Great pictures and light.
Cons:
NONE

I just bought a D100 and added the 18-50mm F2.8 EX DC and just love it. It's now my main lens. A pleasure to work with and color is great. Just can't think anything negative. There is none.

 
Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

05_03_1_
Review Date: Feb 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AWSOME Period.
Cons:
Non except that the lens cover is a bit loose.

I just got this APO 70-200mm F 2.8 EX DG/HSM IF a couple weeks ago for my D100 and it freaks me right out. Every picture I've taken with it are incredible. In a hockey arena no flash and the colors are unbelievable. great detail. And it's built like a tank. I could go on and on and on, but simply get it.