about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: incdigital  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List
Canon EF 20-35mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

ef20_35mm_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $275.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: USM, Good Build/Size, Sharp stopped down
Cons:
Soft wide open, Slow, Tiny MF ring, Distortion

Overall i was not that impressed with this lens. Images do need some processing in PS to get the most out of them. I also hate the MF ring on this lens. BTW if your thinking of getting this for your 1.6x DSLR...32-56mm is not a very good range for most people. Id only recomend it for FF cameras.

 
Sigma 28-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DF

28_70df_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $199.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Value, 2.8 is sharp, very sharp from F4 and up, tight zoom ring, smooth manual focus, nice color and contrast, common 77mm filter thread
Cons:
Noisy AF...but i hardly ever use AF so its not a neg for me



 
Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

15_30f35_45_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $399.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Huge value,Useful range on FF and cropped SLRs, Sharpness is L-ish , Good AF
Cons:
Flare, No HSM, Using filters causes vignetting, Heavy lens, not 2.8

Aside from the flare, noisy AF, and stupid filter system...i love this lens. I've used this lens on my 1Ds for commerical use for years and have had no compaints....as long as you control the flare that is. Also works well on my 20D camera body.

You can see some examples i shot here:

http://www.pbase.com/incdigital/interiors
http://www.pbase.com/incdigital/aeronautical



 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $389.99 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great range on FF film or digital SLRs, USM ,IS
Cons:
Bad range for 1.6x crop digital SLRs, inconsistent results, SOFT, loose feeling zoom, slow

Great range with IS but...i've got nothing but so-so results w/ this lens...on film or digital. Pics are sharp from 35-105 range @F8 or higher. At full tele the images are pretty soft.

For digital shooters...the 17-85 EF-S is a much better lens for the 20D or Digital Rebel IMO.



 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $545.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What a value! Sharpness is excellent even wide open, Nice weight compared to the heavier 2.8 and IS versions, USM is quick, silky smooth zoom and focus.
Cons:
none

Definatly the best L value in the lineup. I use the non-IS 2.8L version also ...but only if i need the extra stop to get the job done. Overall this lens can't be beat for the price.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $475.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp Sharp!, Images *pop*, great contrast and color. Fast USM, Soild Build ,weight is "just right" for handheld macros, value
Cons:
none

A fine piece of glass in every aspect! If you shoot macro, its a must buy.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp from 2.8, 1.4 useable if focus is dead on, Much better build than 50 1.8MKII, USM, Size/weight, nice bokeh
Cons:
Foucs ring not silky smooth

The 50 1.4 is a great "normal" lens for any canon shooter. Its one of my favorite photographic tools.

 
Sigma 24-60mm f2.8 EX DG Lens

24-60mm
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Close to the Sharpness and contrast of my 28-70L...actually got it as a backup for that lens. I found myself taking it along on most shoots because of its small size/weight. Build is very solid for the price...not L quality but still excellent.
Cons:
no distance scale, no HSM, only 24mm lock, broke hood first day(sigma did replace it free of charge though)

Great lens for those looking for L-ish quality on a budget or as a backup. For the price you can't go wrong...although i did end up selling this lens for the popular 24-70 2.8 Sigma EX because of its larger range.

 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3