about | support

  Reviews by: incdigital  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

Review Date: Mar 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Out of this world bokeh, Tack sharp at all stops, Border quailty is excellent, Solid "L" Build , If you shoot street fashion this lens is a no brainer
AF Speed not as quick as canon 85 1.8

Price is worth every penny to me. Simply outstanding! .

Canon EF 35-350mm f/3.5-5.6L USM

Review Date: Mar 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: HUGE RANGE! , Great used price, L color and contrast, Build, Sharp for 10x zoom
No IS, Push/Pull Zoom not my fav...but it does the job

Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

Review Date: Feb 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build, AF Speed, Flare Control, Sharp Center, Works great on 5D(UWA) or 20D(Standard Zoom)
Border sharpness is soft on FF wide open, Vignetting @ F4 - F8

With the other UWA L zooms canon makes...this is the cheapest...but its a performer. I have tested this lens vs. the pricey 17-35L 2.8 on the 5D and 20D....the 17-40 holds its own and even outperforms the 17-35L at some focal lengths. Flare control is better on the 17-40L, which is important for highcontast landscapes shot into the sun. In conclusion...a outstanding buy for FF or Crop sensors!

Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

Review Date: Feb 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $425.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Quick AF, Sharpness is outstanding in the center and on the extreme borders, Lightweight enough to hand hold
tripod ring optional

Shocking lens...i went in the camera shop to buy a new 70-200L IS 2.8 for my other camera body...when i saw this little used gem on sale for $425.00...i put it on my 5D and compared the 2 lenses @ 200mm at several stops. I knew the prime would perform better but i was surprised to see the extra sharpness extend all the way to the borders....from what i could see...border sharpness is 90% of the middle wide open...what a performer. Cant argue w/ results so i now own the 200L.

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Review Date: Jan 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $329.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Soild, Compact, Sharp, Quick focus on 5d, Nice 135 1.8 on 20D, Value Value
Some CA but that can be fixed when im doing raw conversions

What a bargain. Wish i would have gotten this lens sooner. Very versatile lens when used on FF / Crop combo.

Canon EOS 5D

Review Date: Jan 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Price , FF, Image Quality , Decent Buffer for Raw/Jpeg , ISO in viewfinder , High ISO Performance , Pleasant Shutter Noise vs. 20D "Clunk"
Doesn't make me coffee in the morning...other than that...for the price im happy

Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

Review Date: Jan 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.99 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build, Quick USM, Weather Sealed, Sharp @ 2.8, tack sharp @ F4, Smooth MF
Heavy, Price, CA wide open

I've owned at one point almost all the fast standard zooms(F2.8 24-75mm range)...this lens is by far my favorite of them. MF is a breeze. AF is very fast compared to sigmas. Build is better than my old 28-70L. I get consistant sharp results from the lens...hasn't let me down unless its user error. Highly recommended!

Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Review Date: Jan 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $479.95 | Rating: 10 

Pros: SHARP, excellent sigma build , good amt of working distance for macro subjects, HSM, doubles as a great portrait lens w/ very pleasing bokeh
None for price paid

For me , owning the canon macro 2.8 USM i found i needed a little more working distance for my macro subjects. The sigma ,especially for the price does the job. It took a lot of comparisons and testing to decide on the sigma over the canon 180L macro...in the end...after having both mounted on my camera...i found the sigma size/weight exactly what i wanted...the canon for me is not worth the extra $$$ or weight.

Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

Review Date: Jan 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $349.95 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Perfect UWA Zoom for 1.6x crop camera, Very Sharp at all stops, Compact, HSM, Solid Build, Price
Light fall off wide open till F8 or even F11, Dark in viewfinder...hard to MF in low light, takes a while to break in zoom and focus ring

It has a few problems as stated above...the dark viewfinder i find the most anoying of them. The light fall off i expect w/ UWA zooms so that doesnt bother me much. Overall i highly recommend this new sigma lens. The sharpness is outstanding wide open and even better stopped down. The 10-20 and 30 1.4 sigmas are great new additions to any photogs camera bag.

Canon EOS 20D

Review Date: Dec 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Size/Weight, Great combo w/ 1Ds or 5D, Battery Power, High ISO Performance, 4.5fps, better PU flash than 10D, Easy to use , EF&EF-S Mount
Battery Grip Accessory is the worst in years, Banding High ISO, Raw buffer is 2 small for serious Raw users, Not 5fps as advertised,

I use this w/ my 1Ds and it makes a great combo. Love the crop factor for my L telephoto lenses. Couldn't ask for anything more for the price...untill the 20D replacement is anounced at least:)

Canon Speedlite 550EX TTL

Review Date: Dec 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.99 | Rating: 9 

Pros: HS Sync, Stong, Full Manual, Good Balance on 1 series camera
Battery Door Build, Price vs. 3ed Party

good for all users...can be set up for amateurs all the way to pro users. I own 3 550EX units and use them along w/ 3 gary fong lightshere IIs as my portable studio. I'll be buying a 4th very soon. Highly Recommend!

Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

Review Date: Dec 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $340.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: SHARP LENS(better than my 28-70L 2.8 at all lenghts), Sharp @ 2.8, Good build for price, AF better than older standard zoom EX models (28-70EX 2.8), Color above average
2 steps 4 MF, AF noise...but i always MF so this is no concern for me.

I got this for my fiance's 20D to replace a worn out 28-70EX 2.8 Lens...from the first picture i could tell this was a great deal. Best bang for the buck zoom besides the Tamron "Goldfinger". I find myself using it more than my beloveded 28-70L. I think ill be selling my "L" and getting this lens and another 550EX flash w/ the extra cash.

Canon EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM

Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.99 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent optics makes great combo w/ 70-200L 2.8, Workhorse Lens, Color , Contrast , Bokeh, Build ,77mm filters
Not weather sealed, AF not quite as good as 24-70L

Boh-Yah! this lens is an outstanding buy now that the 24-70L has brought down the price a bit. Bought mine used a year ago and have had it on my camera 75% of the time since. I love its near prime sharpness quality. Contrast has a nice *pop* to it.

Canon EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM

Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $599.99 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Best normal range lens for rebel or 20D, 3ed Gen IS, Compact, 5X zoom, Sharper than old 28-135IS, Above average color and contrast, Great Travel Lens
Slow lens, CA, Vignetting, low light AF, Price, EF-S

Overall this lens is kinda a niche lens...w/ nothing in its class to really compare it to...the 24-105L IS F4 being the closest and almost double the price. The lens covers a very usefull range for any shooter using a 20D or digital rebel. I highly recommend it.

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Solid performer for a tiny price tag, Sharpness is close to or equal to Canon 50mm 1.4, Compact
Cheap Build

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.99 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Workhorse Lens, Build, AF, Sharpness, Bokeh
Weight, but thats why i own the F4 version as well


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next