about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: incdigital  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Mar 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Out of this world bokeh, Tack sharp at all stops, Border quailty is excellent, Solid "L" Build , If you shoot street fashion this lens is a no brainer
Cons:
AF Speed not as quick as canon 85 1.8

Price is worth every penny to me. Simply outstanding! .

 
Canon EF 35-350mm f/3.5-5.6L USM

ef35_350_1_
Review Date: Mar 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: HUGE RANGE! , Great used price, L color and contrast, Build, Sharp for 10x zoom
Cons:
No IS, Push/Pull Zoom not my fav...but it does the job



 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, AF Speed, Flare Control, Sharp Center, Works great on 5D(UWA) or 20D(Standard Zoom)
Cons:
Border sharpness is soft on FF wide open, Vignetting @ F4 - F8

With the other UWA L zooms canon makes...this is the cheapest...but its a performer. I have tested this lens vs. the pricey 17-35L 2.8 on the 5D and 20D....the 17-40 holds its own and even outperforms the 17-35L at some focal lengths. Flare control is better on the 17-40L, which is important for highcontast landscapes shot into the sun. In conclusion...a outstanding buy for FF or Crop sensors!

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $425.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quick AF, Sharpness is outstanding in the center and on the extreme borders, Lightweight enough to hand hold
Cons:
tripod ring optional

Shocking lens...i went in the camera shop to buy a new 70-200L IS 2.8 for my other camera body...when i saw this little used gem on sale for $425.00...i put it on my 5D and compared the 2 lenses @ 200mm at several stops. I knew the prime would perform better but i was surprised to see the extra sharpness extend all the way to the borders....from what i could see...border sharpness is 90% of the middle wide open...what a performer. Cant argue w/ results so i now own the 200L.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jan 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $329.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Soild, Compact, Sharp, Quick focus on 5d, Nice 135 1.8 on 20D, Value Value
Cons:
Some CA but that can be fixed when im doing raw conversions

What a bargain. Wish i would have gotten this lens sooner. Very versatile lens when used on FF / Crop combo.

 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Jan 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price , FF, Image Quality , Decent Buffer for Raw/Jpeg , ISO in viewfinder , High ISO Performance , Pleasant Shutter Noise vs. 20D "Clunk"
Cons:
Doesn't make me coffee in the morning...other than that...for the price im happy



 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Jan 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, Quick USM, Weather Sealed, Sharp @ 2.8, tack sharp @ F4, Smooth MF
Cons:
Heavy, Price, CA wide open

I've owned at one point almost all the fast standard zooms(F2.8 24-75mm range)...this lens is by far my favorite of them. MF is a breeze. AF is very fast compared to sigmas. Build is better than my old 28-70L. I get consistant sharp results from the lens...hasn't let me down unless its user error. Highly recommended!

 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Jan 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $479.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP, excellent sigma build , good amt of working distance for macro subjects, HSM, doubles as a great portrait lens w/ very pleasing bokeh
Cons:
None for price paid

For me , owning the canon macro 2.8 USM i found i needed a little more working distance for my macro subjects. The sigma ,especially for the price does the job. It took a lot of comparisons and testing to decide on the sigma over the canon 180L macro...in the end...after having both mounted on my camera...i found the sigma size/weight exactly what i wanted...the canon for me is not worth the extra $$$ or weight.

 
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

111_small
Review Date: Jan 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $349.95 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Perfect UWA Zoom for 1.6x crop camera, Very Sharp at all stops, Compact, HSM, Solid Build, Price
Cons:
Light fall off wide open till F8 or even F11, Dark in viewfinder...hard to MF in low light, takes a while to break in zoom and focus ring

It has a few problems as stated above...the dark viewfinder i find the most anoying of them. The light fall off i expect w/ UWA zooms so that doesnt bother me much. Overall i highly recommend this new sigma lens. The sharpness is outstanding wide open and even better stopped down. The 10-20 and 30 1.4 sigmas are great new additions to any photogs camera bag.

 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Dec 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size/Weight, Great combo w/ 1Ds or 5D, Battery Power, High ISO Performance, 4.5fps, better PU flash than 10D, Easy to use , EF&EF-S Mount
Cons:
Battery Grip Accessory is the worst in years, Banding High ISO, Raw buffer is 2 small for serious Raw users, Not 5fps as advertised,

I use this w/ my 1Ds and it makes a great combo. Love the crop factor for my L telephoto lenses. Couldn't ask for anything more for the price...untill the 20D replacement is anounced at least:)



 
Canon Speedlite 550EX TTL

CA550EXU_1_
Review Date: Dec 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: HS Sync, Stong, Full Manual, Good Balance on 1 series camera
Cons:
Battery Door Build, Price vs. 3ed Party

good for all users...can be set up for amateurs all the way to pro users. I own 3 550EX units and use them along w/ 3 gary fong lightshere IIs as my portable studio. I'll be buying a 4th very soon. Highly Recommend!

 
Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

24_70EX_med_1_
Review Date: Dec 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $340.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP LENS(better than my 28-70L 2.8 at all lenghts), Sharp @ 2.8, Good build for price, AF better than older standard zoom EX models (28-70EX 2.8), Color above average
Cons:
2 steps 4 MF, AF noise...but i always MF so this is no concern for me.

I got this for my fiance's 20D to replace a worn out 28-70EX 2.8 Lens...from the first picture i could tell this was a great deal. Best bang for the buck zoom besides the Tamron "Goldfinger". I find myself using it more than my beloveded 28-70L. I think ill be selling my "L" and getting this lens and another 550EX flash w/ the extra cash.

 
Canon EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_28-70_28s_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent optics makes great combo w/ 70-200L 2.8, Workhorse Lens, Color , Contrast , Bokeh, Build ,77mm filters
Cons:
Not weather sealed, AF not quite as good as 24-70L

Boh-Yah! this lens is an outstanding buy now that the 24-70L has brought down the price a bit. Bought mine used a year ago and have had it on my camera 75% of the time since. I love its near prime sharpness quality. Contrast has a nice *pop* to it.



 
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM

EF17-85
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $599.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Best normal range lens for rebel or 20D, 3ed Gen IS, Compact, 5X zoom, Sharper than old 28-135IS, Above average color and contrast, Great Travel Lens
Cons:
Slow lens, CA, Vignetting, low light AF, Price, EF-S

Overall this lens is kinda a niche lens...w/ nothing in its class to really compare it to...the 24-105L IS F4 being the closest and almost double the price. The lens covers a very usefull range for any shooter using a 20D or digital rebel. I highly recommend it.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Solid performer for a tiny price tag, Sharpness is close to or equal to Canon 50mm 1.4, Compact
Cons:
Cheap Build



 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Workhorse Lens, Build, AF, Sharpness, Bokeh
Cons:
Weight, but thats why i own the F4 version as well



 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next