about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: incdigital  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP

Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_10_26_09_AM
Review Date: Aug 9, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I LOVE THIS LENS! Color/Sharpness/Contrast is in very good range @ f/2.8 - Color/Sharpness/Contrast is in excellent range from @ f/3.5 on up - Build quality for Tamron is very good but not up to the 24-70L build quality- VC works great for hand holding shots @ 1/5th sec @ 70mm - VC works much better for video than the non IS Canon 24-70L - Worth every penny of the $1200 asking price - Bokeh is smooth and pleasing to the eyes - Smooth zoom/focus rings work good for video - AF focuses great on my 5D Mark II/III and my 1D Mark III- Overall Score 9/10!!!
Cons:
For price/quality comparison to the Canon 24-70L MKI I have no complaints at all. My 24-70L needed servicing every 9 months or so due to focus plane shift from the heavy front element wobbling. The Tamron 24-70 VC has no wobble when extended like my old Canon 24-70L.

I was initially skeptical about the $1200 price for a Tamron but its no contest that this lens out performs the Canon L in every aspect except for build quality. 6 year factory warranty is a great bonus as well. If you shoot video this is the only choice that makes sense!

Overall Score is 9/10!!!


 
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

pancake-1
Review Date: Aug 9, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $199.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: $199 = bargain! - Smooth AF - Contrast/color/sharpness is in the very good range @ F/2.8 - @ F/3.5 on up sharpness/color/contrast is in the excellent range - Fits in almost any pocket - Can't wait for more pancake lenses by Canon - Cheap filter costs - Solid build quality - OVERALL SCORE is 9/10!!!
Cons:
Lens hood is a waste of money IMO.

I've taken over 3000 shots with this lens and have found zero problems with it. Buy it! You will not regret it:)

 
Tamron 28-105MM F/2.8 LD Aspherical (IF)

28105mm_1_
Review Date: Aug 16, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $345.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Unmatched Zoom Range , Great Value , Sharp , CA is well controlled , Pleasing Bokeh , Slow but dead on focus
Cons:
AF Motor not fast enough for action shots , No weather sealing , 82mm Filter

Like the sigma 12-24 on a full frame canon, this lens has no comparison. Sharpness drops near the 105mm mark wide open but this makes for pleasing dreamy like portraits. I paid 345 for it but I'd be just as happy with it if i paid $700.

 
Sigma 20mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical RF

20_f1_8_1_
Review Date: Apr 25, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $325.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing sigma lens yet again! Sharp! Nice bokeh! Macro!
Cons:
Yellow Tint , Out of date focus motor

It took awhile but I finally found a great copy of this lens. Its wide open sharpness rivals my 135L and 85L easily...which I never thought would be possible from a sigma lens. Great Buy!

 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Jul 1, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: $995.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: DigicIII 14bit, 6.5FPS, Live View,Better menu system from 1 series, Image Quality is Excellent for price
Cons:
6 copies of this camera and still haven't gotten one that AFs perfect, High ISO performance is no where near as good as 5D or 1DmIII(own both so thats what i can compare it 2),6.5FPS is good but considering the comp with nikon...8FPS would be more what I would want(and would use), Live View is useless unless you have your tripod handy, High iso color is not great IMO, Build quality is still not up to D300 standards,

Untill canon gets the AF issues fixed id steer clear of this latest entry of the xxD series. After going back to the store I got it at I checked all 5 copies ...all had front focus issues with pretty much every lens in the store , Canon Ls and 3ed party. Seem like quality control is nonexistant with canon lately, my MKIII got fixed finally after 3 services for focus issues as well. I understand why canon is now discounting these cameras ....


 
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

145_small_1_
Review Date: Jun 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $735.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great price and value...its a sigma after all... Color and Contrast are excellent. Sharpness wide open is more than acceptable @ any focal length. Closer working distance is very nice compared to other 70-200 offerings. HSM AF is spot on with my 5D/1D.
Cons:
Build quality is very good but still not L quality...cant win em all. Focus and Zoom ring are a bit stiff compared to canon...have to use my whole hand to rotate vs canon where i can use a single finger to move the rings. Rings may loosen up after more use...only time will tell.

Got this on sale locally for a good price , so i bought it for my other camera body. I own the canon 70-200L 2.8 as well but wanted the closer focusing distance so i wouldn't have to switch lenses as much for a really tight close up. After a month of testing im more than happy. Overall much better than the older sigma 70-200mm models IMO which I have all tried at one time or another. *HIGHLY RECOMMENDED*

 
Nikon 28mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor

1922NCP_180
Review Date: Mar 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Compact/Lightweight, Sharp, Quick AF, Price
Cons:
FOV not that great on DX sensors, Slow prime, CA @ 2.8

Not a particularly useful lens if you already have a standard f/2.8 zoom. I got this lens in a lot on eBay so I only bought it for resale...can't justify keeping since my tamron 17-50 set @ 28mm is better than this prime. If your a prime only user then it may make sense to pick it up if you don't need the extreme speed of the sigma 30 1.4.

 
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: Mar 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $340.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Sharp, Lightweight, Compact, Perfect range for DX sensor
Cons:
CA in high contrast areas, Build is plastic and feels plastic, AF is only "ok"...improves if used on D200 or D2X

For my needs(light compact lens that performs well) I can really look over the negative aspects of the lens. I have never bought a Tamron lens before this and after I evaluated the 17-50 I can say I would certainly buy other products from them in the future. Overall a bargain buy IMO.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jun 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $720.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfect size/weight on 1 Series, Razor sharp from f/2 up, Corner sharpness is near center quality at all stops, Blazing fast AF, L build, Perfect portrait lens
Cons:
Nope no negative here...

After 5 years working w/ EOS camera bodies i just finally bought this lens...now im wishing i bought this gem years ago. I find this and my 85L are my primary workers now a days. I shoot mostly fashion so the focal length is just right on my 5D or 1D. Cant praise this lens enough!

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Jun 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $945.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, L Color/Contrast, Sharp wide open, Very sharp from f/2 up, Compact(compared to other Ls), Low CA
Cons:
Hood hard to get on/off, Edge sharpness not as good as 35L, Not weather sealed



 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: May 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,249.95 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Decent Buffer, 5 or 3FPS , Spot metering, Softer shutter noise vs 20D, Picture styles from 5D, Crystal clear 2.5in LCD, ISO 1/3 stops, ISO in viewfinder
Cons:
Noise issues on my copy of 30D, Uses the horid BG-E2 for vGrip, Not much of an upgrade for 20D users



 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: May 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wide...but you knew that already, FF, Sharp wide open(atleast on my 2ed copy of the lens), Color and Contrast are very good for sigma, Build is top notch for 3ed party, Quick and Silent HSM AF
Cons:
Filter system stinks....other than that none.

Wow what a difference! My first copy(bought from sigma4less) of this lens was as soft as a babys behind...but , my second copy(bought from dell on sale) rivals the sharpness of my 16-35L. Glad i gave this lens a second chance. Its really sad the amt of sample variations that sigma has...id say nearly 50% of my Sigma EX line that i have bought over the years needed to be serviced for either AF problems or Soft pics.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM

ef100mmf_2usm_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: As good as or better than canon 85 1.8, Excellent build for non L, Sharp at all stops, Works well w/ 250D Close-Up filter, Quick AF ...almost as fast as 85 1.8, Compact design, 58mm filters, Bargin
Cons:
Not best FOV on 1.6x DSLR, CA wide open, Shorter working distance would be nice

This is one of those win-win canon lenses...price is a bargin and the image quality is outstanding.

 
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: May 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $175.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best 1.4x tele converter for canon L glass, Retains most of the IQ that the lens its mounted on, WeatherProof, L Build
Cons:
none



 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Apr 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $895.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One of canons finest L primes. Excellent @ all stops. Perfect L Build.
Cons:
CA wide open.



 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent center sharpness @ all stops, constant 2.8, outstanding weather sealed L build, produces images w/ better contrast than 17-40, close focusing
Cons:
Cost & border sharpness only good when stopped down



 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next