about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: iammikie  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add iammikie to your Buddy List
Canon EF 200-400mm f/4L IS USM 1.4x Extender

Screen_Shot_2013-09-10_at_2_10_26_PM
Review Date: Sep 11, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The af is fast and accurate, the zoom range ideal considering the ability to flip the 1.4x in and out, IQ is prime like
Cons:
Slightly high price, but you get what you pay for. Wish the weight was less, but it is extremely well balanced.

I have owned this lens for about a month now, and loving every minute of it. I also own the 300 II, 500 II, and 600 II, so my opinion of this lens takes into consideration the qualities that a long lens should have. The price is high, but given the range, prime like quality of the files, and superb build quality I guess you get what you pay for.

The built in tc is flawless and I have not had a single issue with it. If I want to just take one long lens when out and about, this is the one. I have been using it with and without the external tc, and with the 1Dx and 70D, no issues whatsoever. I wish that every long lens had the built in tc feature; to me this is as important a feature as the zoom range.

YMMV, but to me this is a revolutionary lens and if I had to choose which one to keep of all the lenses this would be the one for me.


 
Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II USM

EF-600mm-F4L-IS-II-USM
Review Date: Dec 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $12,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Weight, balance, Improved IS, AF speed
Cons:
Somewhat pricey

I was very surprised at just how light this lens is, you can read about it but until you actually put it into use, it just does not register. I recently acquired it, but my initial impression is that it is just a fabulous lens, which can be hand held easily, IQ is great, and improvbements to the IS is noticable. If you can afford it, go for it!

 
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS II USM

5004II
Review Date: Jun 20, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The reason to buy this lens is the improved IS (4-stops for sure) and lower weight. I also think that it is better balanced for hand holding.
Cons:
Price is outrageous

I have owned several copies of the Version I 500 IS, but the weight savings and improved IS on Version II has given me the ability to handhold this lens for longer periods of time and with a higher keeper rate. If you always use a tripod, the improvements will not be as meaningful.

 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM

70-300mm
Review Date: Jan 3, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, sharpness, improved IS, fast AF, size
Cons:
None, a little high priced compared to other options, but if you want the best in this range this is it.

I had purchased the new Tamron 70-300 VC as the price was great, and the lens performed very well for a lens in that price range. Somehow it was missing something so I thought that I might as well pick up the new Canon 70-300 L and give it a try. Now I have what I was looking for in a high quality walk around package. I am amazed at the sharpness at all focal lengths, and how well it performed on the Mark IV, 7D, and 5D Mark II.

I consider this one of the best zooms out there, and I believe that it tops the 70-200 f/4 IS with or without the TC at any focal length. YMMV


 
Canon EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM

ef800_f56lisu_586x225_1_
Review Date: Dec 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Balance, weight, improved IS, sharpness
Cons:
None

Truly amazing super-tele. I was surprised at how well balanced and light it is. Sharpness comparable to the legendary 500 IS, great improvement in the IS, and works well with the 1.4x TC. What's not to like except that it is expensive, but with the new version II lenses coming out at even higher prices, this could be a bargain!

 
Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

canon1dmarkiv
Review Date: Feb 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fabulous Fabulous AF, IQ is outstanding, build quality, ability to customize features to suit your shooting style
Cons:
None so far

I have been shooting the Nikon D300s, D3, D300, and D3X since they have been out. My primary focus was with Canon prior to that time but I switched to Nikon during the Mark III disaster. Nikon has some awesome equipment and I like it.

I decided to give the Mark IV a try, as I miss some of the Canon Glass that Nikon does not have. Glad that I did try it out. It's just a great camera, IQ of the D3x, speed of the D3, and for my needs the ISO works for me ( I rarely go above ISO 1600) and crop sensor is to my advantage for nature photography.

Granted, if you shoot in very low light situations and resolution is not an issue and require a fast full frame body, this may not be the best choice for your needs.


 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

224-70
Review Date: Oct 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, balance, build.......Quality all the way
Cons:
Price, but you get what you pay for.

On the D3X it is quite unbelieveable... a match made in Nikon Heaven

 
Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3 AF APO DG OS

150-500
Review Date: Sep 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $888.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Zoom Range, image stablilazion, sharpness, price
Cons:
a little heavy, but anything in this range will be,

I bought this for use on a Nikon, as I wanted to keep something inexpensive in my car for those unexpected moments we all run into when we have no camera handy. Was I shocked to find out that it is a great lens, fantastic zoom range, sharp, and the stabilization actually works and allowed me to get excellent HH images out to 500mm and at 1/90 sec wide open.

I think that this is the deal of the century at it's modest price and great performance. I am starting to look seriously at Sigma, with prices going out of controll on some equipment.


 
Sigma 300-800mm f5.6 EX IF APO HSM

300_800_1_
Review Date: Sep 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Zoom Range, sharpness, quiet focus
Cons:
Weight, no image stabilization

This is the second one I have owned. I purchased the first one in 2003? when they first came out and I was using Canon equipment. I sold that some time ago and have recently purchased the new version of this lens, and I use it with the Nikon D300. It is much better at focusing and is sharper than my first setup, especially at slower shutter speeds and in low light; I credit that to the Nikon system. The new lens coatings used have reduces flair, which was never that big a deal.

Having owned or used all of the Nikon and Canon long lenses, I came back to this as it is so versatile, no need to bring a carload of primes when this does the job of all of them in one package. Like all super-teles you need to have a stable tripod and head, as well as good technique.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/4 DO IS USM

ef400_4dois_1_
Review Date: May 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely Light weight, sharp as can be, very well balanced
Cons:
Contrast needs a bump in photoshop

I owned this lens when I was a Canon guy, sold it a year or so ago when I switched to Nikon, but I got really tired of carrying around the heavy Nikon glass, so I repurchased it new (ouch), and got a 50D to go along with it. Many hate the DO technology, some like me can't live without it.

Yes, it is very expensive, resale value is so-so, but I can carry it along all day with no problem, it is sharp and well balanced.


 
Nikon D3x

25442_D3X_front
Review Date: Apr 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:



 
Nikon 85mm f/2.8 PC Micro-Nikkor

1458NAS_180
Review Date: Jan 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, quality, Sharpness, resolving power, it's just awesome.
Cons:
Works best with a D3 or D3x

I purchased this version (85mm pc-e) specifically for use with the D3X, it did not disappoint. One of the sharpest lenses I have ever used, and with live view, the focus is a snap. Highly recommended.