about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: hogband  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hogband to your Buddy List
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Dec 23, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size. Weight. well-built. Love the IS even though it took some time getting used to it.
Cons:
None

I bought this lens in October 2011. I shoot Arkansas Razorbacks football and high school football but couldn't justify trying to purchase a 300 2.8. I had been shooting the games, mostly in daytime, with my 70-200 nonIS with a 1.4 extender. After switching to the 300, I can't believe I hadn't got one earlier. This is a great lens and with a 7D and higher ISOs, I don't have any problems using this combo at 6400 or higher.

 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

1d_mkii_n
Review Date: Jan 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $925.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AF Speed, color accuracy, AF speed (did I say that already?)
Cons:
Confusing use of menu-review buttons.

This is the sixth digital SLR I've owned but the first in the 1D series. I've had a D30, D60, 10D, 20D and 40D and I wanted to find a good deal on a 1D Mark II N and got one on Ebay.

I absolutely love the AF speed and it feels like a real camera but I'm still having trouble using the buttons on the back of the camera. I'm real spoiled by the joy stick deal on the 20D and 40D and having a single button for chimping on the non 1D cameras is nice but, that said, I shoot sports and have for 15 years and the AF speed on this camera blows all the others away. I absolutely love it.


 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Jun 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 10MP, 6fps, solid build.
Cons:
Confusing menus. Had a hard time setting up backbutton * focus w/o using the AF-ON button.

This is the best camera I've ever owned. It is quieter than than the 20D and I've owned the D30, D60, 10D, 20D and now the 40D. I will use this camera for a long time.

 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: May 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great AF, 8 MP, 5 frames per second.
Cons:
The size of the vertical grip. Like the grip on the 10D better.

I bought this camera in late May and love it. Since most stores are trying to get rid of the 20D because of the 30D, I took advantage of the price slash.

I love the autofocus and the 5 fps. I shot a baseball game for the first time with the camera and it worked tremendously well, better than the 10D. I did have to hold off on the shutter. The 5 fps are a little overwhelming for me. The only time I had 5 fps was on my A2 film camera.

This is a great camera. I love it.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Oct 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Autofocus speed with USM. 2.8 constant aperature. Ability to take teleconverters.
Cons:
None, other than heavy tripod ring

I had an 80-200 2.8L -- the magic drainpipe -- for eight years and three weeks ago, it stopped locking a focus at 200mm. Canon said they couldn't fix it and I had been looking at a 70-200 for some time. CPS sent me the IS version to use and it was ok...just too darn heavy. I ordered the non IS version and I like it better than the IS.

I absolutely love that lens. I have so many more photos in focus with it than I did with the 80-200 but that was a good lens for what I paid for it used. I have no complaints.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM

ef100mmf_2usm_1_
Review Date: Jul 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: USM, lightweight, 2.0 speed
Cons:
None that I can think of

I purchased this lens in October 1995, two months after I attempted shooting football with a 35-80 4.0-5.6 lens after I got out college.

I used this lens with my Rebel II and loved it...In fact, I will use it during basketball season...It is always in my bag. I use it also, during baseball season, on my D60 when i'm shooting a 300 on my 10D.

Great lens.


 
Canon EOS 10D

10D
Review Date: Jul 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: File size, 6MP. Auto rotate on files in camera. Will take the same grip as D30 and D60. Ability to back button focus, unlike D30 and D60.
Cons:
Relatively slow AF speed, despite being better than D30 and D60.

I started digital photography with a used D30 then went to a used D60 then a new 10D. I absolutely love this camera. I just wish I had waited a month because the 20D was announced the month after a I bought the 10D.

I will use this camera for a long time to come.


 
Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

ef_28-105_35
Review Date: May 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, nice sharpness, smooth focusing.
Cons:
Wish it were a 2.8 but I can't afford that!

I just used this lense for a wedding. I had to send in my 10D and 24-90 POS lense and Canon CPS sent me a 10D and this lense. I absolutely loved it. I'm shooting another wedding this week and will purchase one real soon.