about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: haringo  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add haringo to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Apr 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: AF!!!
Cons:
price, 1.6x

Really good!!!

AF - I have an old 5D and a 5D Mark II and this one.
The auto focus in the 7D is MUCH better than the auto focus on the Canon 5D and 5D Mark II! Canon built the good quality AF into the Canon 7D, the same auto focus they built into the 1D. I do wedding photography and lot of times I use the 7D in weddings rather than the 5Ds because I know that I won't miss the shot. Even the 5D mark II has the inaccurate AF and if I don't want to miss the shot I always use the 7D.

Colors are nice! Really nice colors, great contrast. Beautiful!

ISO - the image quality up to ISO 3200 is fantastic! Look at the pictures I took during the wedding ceremonies: http://www.haringphotography.com/blog
You can't take this with a 5D because of the lack of good AF even if the 5D can handle high ISO as well.

Lens - you can use good glass which you can't put on 5D or 1D. 17-55mm, etc. These are good lenses even if they are not L.

If you wan to see more picture click on the wedding section: http://www.haringphotography.com

All in all: One of the best!!! I love it. I use it more often than the 5Ds. I hope it helps.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Apr 13, 2010 Recommend? no | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: cheap, build quality
Cons:
soft, dull colors, slow

I have owned this lens for a few years. I just sold it yesterday. It is a good lens to start photography because it is cheap. However, I don't think it is an outstanding lens! I tried several copies with the same result.

The bad:
- soft, even stopped down. The best example I have the picture with the bride sitting on the beach getting ready. It is the 10th picture on the flash into page: www.haringphotography.com I put the bride right on the picture and her face is extremely soft. With a better lens this picture would have been outstanding. All the pictures are soft. Compared to cheap lenses the 17-40 is slightly better but not much better.
- dull lifeless colors. I used the colors when I bought it but colors are dull compared to good lenses. Look at the picture where the bride and goorm sign the kotubah: http://www.haringphotography.com/blog/wedding-photography-work/wedding-photos-of-mike-and-nancy-sundy-house-delray-beach-florida/
It explains everything
- slow. I missed a lot of shots because I didn't want to put on the flash and wanted to use natural light. In low light it is pretty slow. If you push up the ISO on the 5D Mark II and you try to soot with the lens the colors are dead.
- because of the f4, there is no bookeh.

Recently, I realized that I only take it out of my bag when it is extremely necessary. I had always been looking for excuses why I shouldn't use it so I sold it. You have to feel good about your lenses! I didn't feel good about this one and I am happy that it is gone.


 
Nikon D3

d3
Review Date: Feb 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AF Speed, built quality
Cons:
colors tend be unnatural, sensor dust removal feature, price compared to Nikon d700, Not as sharp as Canon 5D,

I have always been a Canon shooter. Probably that's why I compare the D3 to the 5D and 5D Mark II.

I was a little bit disappointed with the image quality, to tell you the truth... I think the Canon 5D images are sharper! Focus is fast but images are still not as sharp as the images coming out of my 5Ds. I like the Nikon look on certain images but I can't 100% trust my D3 during weddings. The Canon 5D gets the most important pictures during daylight. In low light the Nikon's AF is clearly better. I mainly use the D3 in low light. I am still learning how to get the most out of it but I wouldn't go to a wedding only with this one.

In addition, I am a little bit disappointed with the Nikon lens selection. I don't see any similar lenses to the Canon 50mm 1.2, 85 1.2 etc. I use a 50mm 1.4 lens on the D3 but the quality is far from what you get out of a Canon 50mm prime lens. You can see some weddings here: www.haringphotography.com Look for the Jewish wedding I have shot recently. I used the Nikon about 35%.

I am thinking about the D3s. At least I could take advantage of the High ISO capabilities of the D3s...


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Dec 13, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: ISO!!!
Cons:
Price, poor focusing for actions and weddings

- What I like is the great picture quality at higher ISO speeds. I think this is what really distinguishes the 5D Mark II from the old 5D.
- The MARK II is a better camera in many respects compared to the old 5D but I don’t think it is worth $1000 to upgrade from the old 5D. If you go to my blog and browse through my pictures you will see the LACK of picture quality difference. http://www.haringphotography.com/blog/
After a wedding when I look at the pictures I notice the image quality difference between pictures due to the lens I use on my cameras (I shoot with a 5D Mark II, an old 5D and a 40D). (My main lenses: 85mm 1.2, 35mm 1.4, 70-200 2.8 IS, etc). I don't really notice the difference between the old and the new 5D when the conditions are similar and I use the same lens. If you shoot the same picture with the same lens with both (new and old 5D) cameras you WON’T notice the difference whatever Canon and all the stores, web shops claim. They just want to sell you the new camera. There is almost no difference!
- Focusing is STILL a struggle in low light! There is no difference between the old and the new 5D. They want you to buy the 1D if you wan to have decent focus.... If you have missed important shoots with your old 5D in low light conditions, I guarantee you are going to miss those pictures with the new 5D as well!
- You can record good quality videos with very expensive lenses only (like 35mm 1.4, etc)!
- Photoshop RAW update needed! It is still not included on the install disk! CS4 won’t open the 5d Mark II RAW files.
- Battery is not compatible with older models (50D, 5D Mark I, etc.) Battery doesn’t last as long as older batteries so you need a second or third battery for weddings.

If I were you I would rather spend the money on an expensive lens and buy a barely used old 5D. You would make better pictures at the end!


 
Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

05_105mmEX_1_
Review Date: Oct 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: cheaper than Canon
Cons:
slow focus

Smile:):)

I guess the reason you are here because you don't want to spen d a lot of money on a Canon 100mm f/2.8, right?

Don't worry, this lens is as good as the Canon 100mm f/2.8!

They say that there is a slight difference but you can't notice. My friend has the Canon 100mm and none of us could tell the difference in image quality...!

It is much cheaper than the Canon!!!!
You can check my ring pictures under the "I do" section: www.haringphotography.com

I hope this help!


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Oct 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: well....it is fast, great bokeh, sharp
Cons:
not meeting the quality of the 35mm l 1.4

I used to own this lens. To be honest it wasn't much better than my 24 70mm 2.8. It is possible that I had a bad copy but none of my friends rave about this lens. Buy a 35mm 1.4 instead or a 24 70. The latter is much cheaper. You can see some samples here in the engagement section under portfolio: www.haringphotography.com
I hope this helps!


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Oct 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: IS, flexibility
Cons:
Heavy, image quality, bokeh as compared to primes, price

I use this lens for pro work.

First the bad: the Canon 135mm 2.0L beats this one in almost all areas except, of course, flexibility. It is slower, has slightly worse details, bokeh, etc…. Autofocus is as good as the 135mm prime. It does have some chromatic aberrations and bokeh fringing as well. It is heavy even compared to the non IS version. I mainly shoot weddings so it is important for me. It is not as sharp as the 135mm prime either. This is not the walk around or travelling lens you dream about. Believe me, you will leave it home after a while and you don’t want the extra weight in your bag. In addition, it is big and white. People immediately notice it and start posing so it is hard to get the natural candid shots...

The good: The IS blows you away. You can handheld it at 200mm at 1/50 without any problem. This is what makes the big difference! I can handheld it in a dark church. I almost exclusively use primes such as the 35 1.4L, 85mm 1.2L… and I can use them without missing anything in their range. On my website, all the nice detailed pictures are taken with the Canon 135mm prime. These are mainly the posing pictures when I had time to run around with the 135. All the rest is taken with this one and you CAN tell the difference:
www.haringphotography.com.
The truth is that in the 70 – 200 range this lens has saved me a few images!!! The ability to focus does matter! At least at weddings…

The point is: forget this lens if you don’t need the focusing flexibility and the IS and buy the Canon primes!!!


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Oct 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything...except price and weight
Cons:
NONE, ok...big and bulky

As you see in my previous posts I am totally in love with this lens!

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Oct 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp, bokeh is silky smooth, solid build
Cons:
Slow AF, Price, Man this is heavy! :)

I have been using this lens for a while. I am going to put on ebay because I have thei II. But I am not sure it was a good decision to buy it because the AF is still slow. The old one was equally good.
Having said that, probable this is the best lens I have owned. OK, the Canon 135mm 2L is equally good. There is nothing about the image quality I could complain about. I can take pictures of people in almost complete dark. The colors are crazy!!!!
Look at the bride dancing with the groom in the wedding portfolio: http://www.haringphotography.com/
You can only see her face and his face. I took it on a 40D in almost complete dark. Not kidding. You can see that every aspect of the image is crazy sharp. As you see this lens is PERFECT even in low light conditions.

The good thing that you can put it on a 1.6 frame body as well without any image quality loss.
It is slightly better than the previous version: Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM. The AF is slow compared to other prime lenses (Canon 85mm 1.8)

I know it is crazy expensive. You can buy it second hand but it is still crazy expensive, I know. Buy it cry for 5 minutes and don't tell your wife the price. She will love the pictures at the end!!! Smile


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Oct 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely Sharp, magical bokeh, colors are silky smooth, solid build, just everything
Cons:
price, weight, extending front element, AF is slow

I have been using this lens for over two months. Probable this is the best lens I have owned. OK, the Canon 135mm 2L is equally good. There is nothing about the image quality I could complain about. I can take pictures of people in almost complete dark. The colors are crazy!!!!
Look at the bride on my opening page on my site: http://www.haringphotography.com/
Look at the image where the bride is sitting on a bench. I think it is the second picture on the flash site. You can see that every aspect of the image is crazy sharp. (Most of the time I don't need to use the sharpen tool!) Look at the bokeh and the colors! I hardly had to change the sky. It is nice and blue. As you see this lens is PERFECT.

The good thing that you can put it on a 1.6 frame body as well without any image quality loss.

It is slightly better than the previous version: Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM. The AF is faster but it is still slow compared to other prime lenses (Canon 85mm 1.8)

I know it is crazy expensive. Buy it cry for 5 minutes and don't tell your wife the price. She will love the pictures at the end!!! Smile


 

Page:  1 · 2