about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: haringo  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add haringo to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Jun 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,099.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness all over the frame, better contrast at the wider end, $200 rebate :)
Cons:
There will be a mark III in 5 years and have to sell this

I broke down and bought it last week. There is a $200 rebate offered by Canon currently. So hurry...! Smile
better contrast and finally sharp all over the frame at 2.8!!! I love it. I can be more creative.

I was debating whether it is worth upgrading from the original version of this lens but I think it was worth it. I am a wedding photographer and a this zoom is our bread winner. It covers the focal length which we mainly use during weddings. Thus I was extremely excited when I found about this new lens. I have been hesitant to jump because the older lens is pretty awesome.
This lens is clearly better. Please note that most of your client's won't notice the difference but you and your professional photographer friends will!

I can repeat all what the reviews say but I think the bottom line is: the photo will look better! You will see samples here in the most recent posts: www.haringphotography.com


 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Mar 17, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: wow - sharpness! price!!! image quality, bookeh
Cons:
slow AF - however I always focus manually. This is a macro lens!

This is my favorite lens! It is sharp and I love the working distance for macro work. Please note that this lens is for macro work though!
Color and contrast are awesome and you can get close to you subject easily.
I have owned the Canon 100mm USM and the Sigma 100mm. This is much better than the other ones. A Canon or Nikon macro lens would cost you twice without delivering superior results! You won't regret it! You will find more photos here taken with this lens: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Haring-Photography/154205936576


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Mar 17, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, build quality, great overall image quality, color
Cons:
none

I used to have the older version of this lens. It is called Canon EF 28-70mm F2.8. Both the older version and this one are amazing. I use it every weekend for professional photography. You need this one and the 70-200mm 2.8 or 4.0 and you are covered. You may need to add the 17-40 if you want to shoot wide and you are set!

Be careful when you buy a used one because my friend photographer ended up with a "soft" copy. Buy it new and send it back if colors and sharpness is not top. You will be happy for ever if you get a good copy of it.

Anyway! It is an amazing and very versatile lens. You won't regret of buying it. I use it for all types of photography scenarios. You can find photo samples here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Haring-Photography/154205936576


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Mar 10, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: image quality at 200mm finally! sharpness
Cons:
heavy, my wife sometimes struggles holding the whole day, takes up lot of space

I was hesitant to upgrade from the previous version for a long time. I had to admit it was a big mistake! I am glad I did!!!! I think there is a big difference in image quality and mostly in sharpness! Honestly, I never liked the image quality of the Mark I at 200mm wide open. It has changed now! This is a must to have lens, period. You see tons of images with this lens on my facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Haring-Photography/154205936576?ref=nf

 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Apr 24, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Awesome bookeh!
Cons:
not as fast AF as my Nikon 50mm 1.4

I ended up selling it on ebay a year ago after testing my friends Nikon 50mm 1.4 on my D3. The Nikon AF is just much faster! Sigma's colors and contrast is a little bit better than the Nikon 50mm 1.4 G and the Canon 50mm 1.4 and I even dare to say that similar Canon 50mm 1.2 ($1500!). They at the same level of quality. I wish Sigma would improve the AF! Go back a year in my blog and you will see plenty of examples of it: http://www.haringphotography.com/
The bottmo line: get the Nikon 50mm if you need fast AF. Get this if you need a little bit different look and feel to your pictures!


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Apr 23, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, fast on the D3, great colors and contrast
Cons:
it would be aawesome the to have it in a 1.2 version. I love the creamy skin color it produces!

This is the lens which I keep on my D700 (and my D3). It start the day with it. I take it off when I need a different lens but it goes back immediately once I finished with the other lens. This and my 24-70mm are the two lenses I would never ever get rid of. Buy it if you are serious about photography! It is better than the other Nikon 50mm lenses except the 50mm 1.2 but the 50mm 1.2 is not an AF lens... This and the 24mm what I use when it gets dark.
You can see the difference the photos made with the 24-70 and this for sure: http://www.haringphotography.com/blog/
It is sharp and creates beautiful colors. I love the creamy skin color it produces!


 
Nikon 24mm AF-S Nikkor f/1.4G ED

675829
Review Date: Apr 23, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00

 
Pros: Well built, beautiful bookeh, awesome in low light, sharp and superb colors!
Cons:
Price

I love the look it produces! That's why I have it. There is no other Nikon lens which creates pictures like this. Period.
Look for the wide angle photos here: http://www.haringphotography.com/
Most of the wide are with this. The super wides are with the 14-24mm, another awesome lens!
I have a FF camera so I am not sure how it looks on a cropped camera.

I use less and less at night because Nikon high ISO is so good that I can use the 24-70mm without any problem. Ok, I have to admit the 24-70mm is what I use most of the time. Still I just love this lens!

The bottom line is that buy it if you are crazy about the look is produces. Buy the 24-70 if you want to have a general purpose lens!


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark III

5DIIIs
Review Date: Apr 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AF!!!, ISO, They didn't increase pixel, feel in my palm
Cons:

I am a wedding photographer. So I am not the right person if you want to know more about how this camera deals with videography.
For me the most 2 important updates FOR ME are the AF and the ISO.

AF:

Probably the biggest complain about the previous Canon 5Ds is their slow and inaccurate AF in low light. The fact: Canon has corrected this. You no longer have to focus with the center AF point to get good result most of the time!

ISO:

Awesome! What can I say...? One of the best up to date in the market. You don't nee fast prime lenses to get amazing photos at low light! So this way you can save on lenses and buy this camera. I have the Canon 24-70mm and I get amazing results. It is amazing with my 70-200mm!

You may want to look at the Nikon line up. They have great ISO as well!

The camera is slightly higher priced when you compare it to Nikon comparable Nikon models however keep in mind that Canon lenses are generally cheaper!

The point is that this is a great camera for wedding photographers. You can see some Canon 5D Mark III wedding photos from last weekend wedding here: http://www.haringphotography.com/blog/blog-home-wedding-photography/villa-woodbine-wedding-photos/


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

canon1dmarkiv
Review Date: Jul 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Finally Canon built a Camera which can focus fast, Good ISO
Cons:
not full frame, price, with a 70-200 it is very heavy for the whole day

Last weekend I rented one for an Indian wedding. I don't regret it. Without this I would have missed a lot of action. You can see some of the pictures here: http://www.haringphotography.com/blog/

Pros:
- Excellent colors at high ISO, better than 5D Mark II
- It has the best AF I have ever experienced similar to 7D
- you don't need to buy expensive fast prime lenses to shoo in low light so you SAVE a lot of money! At the end, you may be better off buying this one and a 24-70mm.

Cons:
- Not a full frame if you are into the "full frame look"
- it can be heavy to hold for a day long wedding
- The new 1ds Mark IV will be announced soon so you may wait a little bit... Smile:):)
- it can be hard to take candid picture of people. It is hard to be unnoticed with this tank. The worse is when you put the 70-200 on it. The canon 5d with a small lens is better for that purpose.
- I HAVE to buy one Sad Smile


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jul 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide Angle (on full frame) + Zoom in one "L" lens. Cheap compared to other "L" lenses, IS, perfect walk around
Cons:
4.0

The best walk around lens! It is "L" lens quality. I don't think we should compare to other lenses because none of them has the range of 24-105mm.

Pros-

Focus is fast and smooth.
Sharp (can't be compared to prime lenses though)
Well built
Light
Great colors and contrast

Cons -

4.0 aperture. Not the best if you love shallow debt of field.
I wouldn't use it for professional work. For wedding and event photography it is too slow. You can find some images in my earlier wedding photography blog entries: http://www.haringphotography.com/blog/

Some of them are blurry because the lens was slow. Still they look artistic. If you want to have a little bit better, buy the older 28-70mm or the 24-70mm lens. I hope it helps.


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF Nikkor

1906NCP_180
Review Date: Jun 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: cheap, good bokeh (don't stop it down), well built, fast, small, doesn't intimidate people
Cons:
the bookeh is not the best on Nikon d700 or d3 (FX cameras)

This was my very first Nikon prime lens! So have special feelings towards this lens. I can compare it the the Canon EF 50mm 1.8. (I guess Nikon and Canon gets the glass from the same supplier.) For the money this the best lens you can EVER get!
Buy it and get rid of the ugly kit lens right now!!! You can pick one up on ebay for less than $100.
you can see sample pictures on my older blog posts:
www.haringphotography.com/blog
GET it!!!


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jun 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, relatively cheap, bookeh, contrast, deep colors, simply better than the more expensive big brother the 70-200 2.8 IS.
Cons:
not as flexible - no 70mm end, you need a second camera if you don't want to change the lens all the time

I got this lens from somebody who replaced this with a 70-200 2.8 IS. I think he regrets it by now. This is one of my sharpest lens. Nowadays I tend to give the 70-200 to my wife and I keep this one for me whenever I need this range. I hope she doesn't read this review...! Smile
This lens is much faster (even without IS) and sharper than the 70-200. I love the candid street pictures I take with this lens.
the funny thing is that everybody is buying the new 70-200 and the price of this lens further dropped...! This is GOOD news for you! You can get this under $900 nowadays used. Don't hesitate buying it, you wont regret it. This lens creates beautiful magic!!!
You can see some sample images on my blog: www.haringphotography.com/blog
or on my flash website: www.haringphotography.com
I hope it helps!


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: Jun 3, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: CHEAP and one of the best lenses for the money!
Cons:
people don''t seem to believe that they can get a good lens under $100.

You bought an DSLR, right? I guess you bought DSLR camera and not a point and shoot because one day you will want to take off the ugly kit lens, right? This is the right time. Don't hesitate and buy this lens!!! You can't get better lens under $100! There is nothing to think about! (You may want to pay a little bit more and buy the 50mm 1.4. Maybe...It is three times more expensive though.) You will be surprised by the quality! You can find some example pictures in my wedding photography blog: www.haringphotography.com
Buy it! Hit the "SUBMIT" button and order it!!! Smile


 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: May 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness from corner to corner, colors, everything!
Cons:
no filter, heavy

Probably one of the best wide angle lens on the market. It is so good that I am decided to buy it and use it on my Canon cameras. I use a converter so I can attach this lens to my Canon 5D Mark II. This way I have 24megapixel Canon quality with this amazing lens. I have used all Canon's wide angle lens (including the high end prime wide lenses) and none of them can match this one. There is no Canon lens like this. PERIOD. If you have Nikon, you must buy this. If you have Canon, well, wake up (!) get a converter, buy this lens and start shooting high quality wide angle images!
You can see some sample images here: www.haringphotography.com
I hope it helps!
Otto


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Apr 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: CHEAP! Good quality, fast and small
Cons:
none - for the price you can't beat it!

I own the 50 1.4 and used to own the 50mm 1.2.
This is the BEST lens for the money! You can get it under $100 one ebay.

AF is fast maybe a little noisy but this lens is under $100!!! Come on!
I used to take this lens everywhere! It is so small and so convenient. Also, you don't scare away people with this lens. Once you own it you'll take it everywhere in your bag! It is always ready to be thrown on the camera when needed. You don't even need to carry around a flash. You can take pictures with it in very low light without a flash.

At 1.8 it does show vignetting. It gets much better at 2.8, and f4 looks the very best.
You can see some samples in my blog: http://www.haringphotography.com/blog/
How about the 50mm 1.4? Is it worth the upgrade from the nifty fifty 1.8? To tell you the truth it is worth to upgrade. There is not much price difference but the quality of the 1.4 is much better.



You can see tons of sample images on my website: http://www.haringphotography.com/
Some of them are so good I even put them on the main page.

Of course, prime lenses are not quite as flexible as zooms. If you don't like running and moving around, well, than this lens is not for you...

I hope it helps!


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 24, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, cheap compared to other HQ lenses
Cons:
you have to learn how to use it... :)

This is a very good lens for the money!
You can buy the 50mm 1.2 for $1500 but you will be disappointed with the 50mm 1.2 after using this one. I don't think the 1.2 is worth $1200 extra.

I use it primarily as a portrait lens, and it excels at that. The 50mm 1.4 is very sharp from 2.0!

How about the 50mm 1.8? Is it worth the upgrade from the nifty fifty 1.8? To tell you the truth it is worth is to upgrade. There is not much price difference but the quality of the 1.4 is much better.

You can see tons of sample images on my website: http://www.haringphotography.com/
Some of them are so good I even put them on the main page.

Of course, prime lenses are not quite as flexible as zooms. If you don't like running and moving around, well, than this lens is not for you...

I hope it helps!


 

Page:  1 · 2  next