about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: grueber34  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add grueber34 to your Buddy List
Canon EOS Rebel SL1 DSLR Camera

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_59_39_PM
Review Date: Jul 28, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small and light
Cons:
Know its limitations

On recent trips to Europe, I paired the SL1 with a Canon EF 15-85 IS, and found the ideal walk-around combination. The light weight is truly liberating, and the IQ is all you could ask for with this particular setup. No, it's not a 5D3, but it does excel at what it was meant to do. Do not under estimate this little gem.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS

35f2is
Review Date: Jul 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons:
Nothing

This thing performs like the best of Canon's L-series. Gorgeous images wide-open and the IS is flawless.

 
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM A1

sigma35
Review Date: Jul 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, Bokeh, Snappy focus
Cons:
Heavy

Can't say enough good things about this one. Got mine refurbished from the Sigma outlet store and have had no issues whatsoever. It is now my standard walk-around lens, especially at dusk/night.

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Jul 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful
Cons:
Kinda large-ish

The results are simply gorgeous. The lens is a bit large and lacks IS, but, hey, who cares?

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L IS USM

Screen_Shot_2014-07-21_at_8_05_15_PM_copy
Review Date: Jul 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Gorgeous
Cons:
A little large

Wow. If you can swing it, just get this thing and never look back.

 
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_8_56_56_AM_copy
Review Date: Jul 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, weight, overall performance
Cons:
Wish it were "faster"

Took this lens with me on an Antarctica trip, coupled to a 70D most of the time, and found the combination excellent. The equivalent focal length of 90-400 was perfect for picking out subjects from a bobbing Zodiac, and the weight was never an issue climbing in and out of the boat. Very impressed with the results from this unheralded little gem. I have also heard that the previous non-STM is just as good optically. Do not hesitate in trying this out, and ignore whatever you may hear about the plastic mount - it works and functions beautifully.

 
Sigma 10mm F2.8 EX DC HSM Fisheye

image_copy
Review Date: Dec 19, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

Note that the photo above does not match the lens in question. Also, the written descriptiion above refers to a zoom (?).

 
Sigma 10mm F2.8 EX DC HSM Fisheye

image_copy
Review Date: Dec 12, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Nice and sharp.
Cons:
Big and heavy.

I really like the results of this lens on my Canon T4i and appreciate the 2.8 aperture. However, due to its disproportionate size and weight, I opt to leave it at home most of the time. It is considerably larger and heavier than the Canon 15/2.8 for full frame, and nearly the same size as the very good Sigma 18-250 Macro. No idea why Sigma needed to design such a formidable thing. Another minor gripe is that due to Canon's 1.6x crop factor, you will not get a 180-degree diagonal view as with Nikon.

 
Tamron 28-300MM F/3.5-6.3 XR Di LD VC AF

28-300vr
Review Date: Apr 1, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $580.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, versatility, VC feature, all-in-one lens, quiet, build and optical quality, warranty, small filter size
Cons:
Could be better from 200-300mm

This has become my walk-around lens for international travels. I am able to get the shot I want while others are busy changing lenses from wide to telephoto and back again. Of course, this is not a premium lens, nor did I pay the price for one; for what is advertised to do, it does it very well. It could be sharper at longer focal lengths, but that is easily fixed in Photoshop, and is typical of even some very expensive zooms. When dust creeps into the lens, Tamron does an excellent job of servicing this product with quick turnaround. (The 6-year warranty is definitely worth it.) I am very pleased with my purchase.