about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: ghamden  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ghamden to your Buddy List
Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

lens_1_
Review Date: Jul 23, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: $325.00

 
Pros: Bought ths Lens used from KEH excellent condition I have shot about 50 shots with my D700 all are tack sharp bokeh is very nice
Cons:

Bought ths Lens used from KEH excellent condition I have shot about 50 shots with my D700 all are tack sharp bokeh is very nice

 
Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR AF-S

70-300vr
Review Date: Nov 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $465.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is a great lens IQ is as good as a Pro grade a definite Buy Works FX on mT D700
Cons:

As stated this Lens is a must buy you get 300mm for under 500.00 IQ is excellent no issues so far.

 
Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3 AF APO DG OS

150-500
Review Date: May 9, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $869.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent price very sharp stopped down
Cons:
none so far

Excellent price very sharp stopped down

 
Nikon D700

D700
Review Date: Aug 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent Camera No noise Very well built
Cons:
none so far

1- Better built than d300 feels more solid
2- Image quilty with standard settings looks ok
3- IQ with portrait and landscape pictue controls great
4- Need to customize picture control to personnel liking
5- Focus is good
6-image compression is better my 4g cf on d300 197 images on the D700 around 205 varies
7- Buttons and switches feel more solid durable
8- NO Noise big improvement over D300 which you could find noise even at 200 iso.
9- Battery grip to me is a must
10- Seems like NX2 is sluggish with D700 nef's i see a patch coming?
11- Viewfinder is excellent very large and clear and bright also has a built-in shutter to block stray light when using tripod
12- No blown out reds an issue i had with D300

My humble opinion once you get used to the feel of the D700 and its settings this will most likey be a long term keeper Nikon will have to offer something pretty amazing to get you to replace this camera.


 
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

2139NAS_180
Review Date: Jul 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,749.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality Build quality
Cons:
Pricey

This lens as with most of Nikon Pro grade lens are well built and great image quality
Plus hold their value


 
Tamron 17-35MM F/2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical (IF)

1735mm
Review Date: Jun 25, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $185.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Lens excellent IQ
Cons:
None so far

Bought this lens used it is a gem

 
Sigma 50-500mm f4-6.3 EX APO RF HSM

50_500EX_mdl_1_
Review Date: Jun 25, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This is extremely sharp well built fast focus
Cons:
Needs good light or use tripod or monopod

I purchased this lens used it looks to be new the IQ is great
in good light


 
Nikon D300

d300
Review Date: Dec 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: An amazing camera right out of the box ready to go picture quality excellent ease of use excellent speed excellent
Cons:
None

An amazing camera right out of the box ready to go
picture quality excellent
ease of use excellent
speed excellent


 
Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

1961NAS_180
Review Date: Sep 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: So far excellent IQ good bokeh
Cons:
Pricey

I have only had this lens a few days so far it shows to be a keeper only complaint it is pricey

 
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: Sep 4, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $400.00

 
Pros: Excellent Lens
Cons:
NOne

Anorther Great Tamron Lens excellent

 
Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

lens_1_
Review Date: Sep 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Lens for Macro and Potrait
Cons:
None

Superb Lens Don't le tthe low price fool you I use this lens on a Nikon D80 excellent IQ

 
Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8D ED AF

1986NAS_180
Review Date: Aug 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $870.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ist impression Lens is well built very quick focus
Cons:
No lens hood

Ist impression Lens is well built very quick focus good IQ

 
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

145_small_1_
Review Date: Aug 9, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $800.00

 
Pros: None
Cons:
Temperatue sensitive will lock up when you least expect it

I have purchased two of these lens from different suppliers both seemed to be dead out of the box but if you wait an hour or so(must be heat from shipping after they cool down) they seemed to start working but image quality is not great
Talked to sigma tech said to return to supplier may be an issue with this new version they are researching

Its a shame i used the older version on a canon it was a very impresive lens hopefully they will get it fixed i can't see paying 1700.00 for nikkor.


Apparently this lens is heat sensitive tolerances must be very close
I recall when i talked to Tech Support they were interested in Temperature's when lens stopped functioning.....


 
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

145_small_1_
Review Date: Aug 8, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: At this time i have no postive
Cons:
Two lens from different suppliers dead out of box

I have purchased two of theses new macro lens ??
From differnet suppliers both were dead out of box if you let them sit for a while they would start to function
Contacted Sigma told me to return them to supplier possible
manufacturing defect

Seems to be a tolernce issue hast from shipping causes lens to lock up but even after lens cools down quality of images are very lacking

I would hold off until all bugs are ironed out.


 
Nikon D80

d80
Review Date: Jul 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: THe D80 is a very capable camera i suggest shooting a ;ot to get used the camera
Cons:
No so far just shoot until yuo get used to it's feel and capablities

I used canons for years even the 5D -- i switched to nikon because of ergonomics and consumer lens that shhot like pro lens
My experince so far is that the D80 is a very capable camera also exellent selection of third party lens

Canon has its advantages but i think NIkon has not closed the prosumer gap but has set a standard that even it will really have trouble improving on....



 
Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF]

1750diII
Review Date: Jun 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $419.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Lens crisp images great colors
Cons:



 

Page:  1 · 2  next