about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: gerrit p  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gerrit p to your Buddy List
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM

EF14
Review Date: Apr 21, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The most beautiful wideangle Canon has ever produced. little distortion and very sharp.
Cons:
CA, but that can be solved in Photoshop or Lightroom 3

I had to wait one month for the delivery of the 17mm TSE.
Tried the 14mm in the store.
Wondered whether this lens would be a good choice instead of the 17mm.
Decided to take the 14mm lens.
Do not regret my choice.
This lens has autofocus, which is really an advantage.



 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Sep 18, 2010 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: the menu, Dual Axis Electronic level, af speed in daylight, the q menu, high speed drive, the af works very good with 300mm and 400 mm tele.
Cons:
autofocus not accurate in low light, support af-beam of the flash or transmitter st-e2 is necessary.

The 7D does work very well with my 300mm and 400mm lenses.
That is the main reason I bought the camera, so i'll keep it.
I was hoping it would work well in combination with my 35mm in low light.
My 4 years old 5D in combination with a 50mm works better in these circumstances.

The 7D has been repaired by the official service-centre in the Netherlands and now the af works better, but only in combination with the support from the af-beam of my flash.
The 5D works without extra help.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: give good results on a full frame
Cons:
at 16mm the corners stay behind in sharpness.

I made a choice out of 4 lenses that were available in the shop of my local dealer.
two of them were 16-35 lenses and two of them were 17-40 lenses. After testing I simply made a choice for the best performer, in this case my sample of the 16-35 L (mark 1)
It is my daily workhorse.
Sold my 20mm ef and the 24 TSE.
It works so fine that I dont feel the need for an upgrade (mark 2).
VERY IMPORTANT: it does not like a filter, even a pro filter ads unsharpness in the corners......



 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L

ts243_1_
Review Date: Apr 6, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: no vignetting when used properly. very suitable for architecture
Cons:
cromatic abbberation! not as sharp and contrasty as i would like.

Now I mainly work with the 1Ds mII and this lens when I make architectural pictures. It can not completely replace my Cambo wide. When shifted, the lens has to much CA in the corners, and that can only be removed in PS and this is taking much time.
The images taken with this lens also need extra sharpening. The contrast is also on the low side.
But it is a keeper, there is nothing else on the market.
Work precise and you get good results.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Apr 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp from f4, weathersealing, fast AF. Good alround lens for 1Ds
Cons:
weight, vignettes wide open.

This one I use when the weather and circumstances are bad for changing lenses. Still I prefer primes when I can.
All in all I'm very satified with this lens. Can stand rain, dust and bad environments like building sites.


 
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM

ef_180_35_1_
Review Date: Apr 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, bokeh is beautiful, can be used wide open. AF is fast when the limiter is used.
Cons:
the bajonet has no sealing, I expected this feature for an L lens

This lens is used by me as normal tele, got it second-hand, when I was looking for a 200mm lens. This one stays, because it so good!!
together with the 100mm f2.0 this one makes a good combination.
Not sure if I need a zoom anymore; these two give me flexibility, usable wide apertures and exellent quality.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Apr 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, no distortion
Cons:
wish it had usm

I use it for reproductions and architecture, if it had usm I would use it for general purpose also.

 
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM

ef100mmf_2usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, fast af, can be used wide open.
Cons:
none

highly recommended

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Mar 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: can be used almost wide open, fast AF, exellent quality.
Cons:
none



 
Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM

ef20mmf_28usm_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: USM, very low distortion, can be used for architecture.
Cons:
the contast is not so high, but that can be corrected in PS

On the 10D this one becomes a semiwideangle, very good for everyday use. Because the AF of my 10D is not so precise I close the apertue at least at f4 to compensate for the little misfocussing. But not a big problem for me. Sharpness and contrast are at the low side but the lens gives very usable results. I could not find much differance in quality with the 17-40. As the 20mm fits better in weight and size in combination withe 10D; I prefer the 20mm instead of the 17-40.
In combination with the 1Ds the 20mm works great. Contrast and sharpness are almost equal with the 17-40. Big Pro is that the barrel distortion is less than with 17-40. At fullframe there is vignetting, but this is can be removed with a plug-in in PS.
When in need for a real wideangle this one is my favourite on full-frame.


 
Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM

ef28mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good quality for the price paid. selective focus with the lens wide open. fast focus
Cons:
the corners need closing the aperture, but when used as a lens for reportage is not a big issue.

got the lens fot my 10D, it is one of the lenses that fits very well with this camera; its almost a standard lens, but a little bit on the wide side; perfect for reportage.
Focussing is accurate and the sharpness is good.
There is some CA in the corners, but it has no L price, so the quality is OK for me.
With the 1Ds mark II this lens is fantastic, less CA than with the 10D and can be used almost wide open!
One of my favourites, because it has less weight than the L lenses and a very good quality.