about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: gaalpoel  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gaalpoel to your Buddy List
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Sep 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light, sharp wide open, affordable
Cons:

A joy to use, it's fast, even for a lens without USM. The lens is extremely sharp even wide-open and when stopped down it's a real killer.

This is my walk-around lens from now on, makes an ideal set with the Rebel Xti (400D) and 430EX.


 
Canon EF 28-90mm f/4-5.6 II USM

ef_28-90_4u_1_
Review Date: Aug 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Lightweight, cheap.
Cons:
Plastic mount.

Recently I got the EF 28-90 F/4-5.6 II (non USM) as a present. Actually I didn't think I would be using this little lens, I did have a Sigma 24-70 F/2.8 EX DG altogether.

But to my surprise this lens is a real killer. It's very, very lightweight. It's extremely sharp corner to corner, and most of all, it made me realise I didn't need the F/2.8 of the Sigma at all. So I sold the Sigma and now I am shooting happily with this magnificent piece of technique.

It's even sharper than my EF 50 1.8 II at F/5.6 (wich is wide-open at certain apertures on the 28-90). So, therefore I think I can say this is one very good lens.

I'm glad I gave it a fair chance, and can't understand the bad comments on it.


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: May 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, great contrast, lightweight.
Cons:
None

Highly recommended lens. It's fast, sharp and extremely portable. Just the right lens for landscape, birds and portraits. The bokeh is creamy, almost like silk. Sharpness is great corner to corner. Handling is easy due to it's light weight.

This lens makes you happy every time you use it, it's my first L-class lens and I'm simply addicted to it. I have the mkI, wich I prefer because of the build-in lenshood (although it's a bit small sometimes).

I would recommend it to anyone looking for a fast prime-lens at the tele-side of photography.


 
Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

rebel_xti
Review Date: Oct 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Size, speed, large display, information on display. Almost every setting has its own button.
Cons:
None so far

Finally decided to upgrade from my Digital Rebel (300D) and got me a Rebel XTi. The camera is superior on every front when compared to the 300D. Size is better (Yes, I actually love the smaller size), handling is great with BG-E3 attached. The large display is superb, and the best part is that all your settings are on 1 display now. Changing your settings is easy, because almost every setting can be reached by just pushing one button, and you don't need to confirm by pressing SET.

Noise reduction is brilliant on the 400D, ISO 800 shots are finally useable wich is a big plus when shooting in low-light often. This was one point I doubted because of the 10MP, but the detail it gives is enormous.

Just the perfect cam for my type of business (portraits/fashion). I'm in love with it.


 
Sigma Electronic Flash EF 500 DG Super

EF_500_DG_Super_Flash
Review Date: Aug 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Easy to use.
Cons:
Flash-head "falls" back to normal position, doesn't lock in tilted position.

I'm using this flash for about half a year now, and I am very pleased with it. It gives me total freedom when I need to use a external flash. Great control on flash exposure, very useful.

Using the flash with my Canon digital rebel (300D), and never had any problems. Upgraded from a EF 500 DG ST, wich was as great as this one, although it lacked some necessary features.

Best flash for your bucks!


 
Sigma 20-40mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

20_40F28_1_
Review Date: Aug 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Buildquality, size, very useable wide open.
Cons:
Very sensitive for flares.

Got me this lens about two months ago, seemed to me the best lens instead of an Canon 17-40, and proved right. This lens is a real killer, very useable wide open, and extremely sharp from F4 and up. Size and weight could be a problem to some, to me it seems just fine, has a fine balance with my Digital Rebel with batterygrip.

Only negative aspect I can find is that the lens is very sensitive for flares, you should keep in mind that shooting against the sun is not-done, I'm not sure why this lens creates so much flare. But when you get used to the lens, you should get to know when and how to work with it.

I am really pleased with this lens, and I think this is the one lens that will never leave my bag again.


 
Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

ef_28-105_35
Review Date: Feb 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $178.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Nice build, light, neutral colors, USM
Cons:
Somewhat stiff zoomring

Although not an L-lens, this is one hell of a lens to own for me. Needed an allrounder for digital and analog photography, and vould buy this lens used for a very nice price. And from the beginning it never let me down. The lens produces sharp, neutral pictures, just as I expect a lens to do.

Unfortunately the lens is damaged in some sort of way, at the FTMring the lens can move, which it isn't supposed to do, and sometimes this results in internal movement of the elements, but even with this little 'failure' the lens is still very good.

For those who can't or won't afford an L-grade lens, this is a very good buy, USM makes it fast and secure. Since the replacement with an Sigma 24-70 2.8 EX the Canon transferred to my analog camera, and will never leave that one.


 
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

111_small
Review Date: Feb 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Compact, firm build, sharp.
Cons:
Little heavy.

Recently buyed this lens, because I wanted to go really wide. The Canon EF-S 10-22 was no option, because of being an EF-S lens, and possible transfer to non EF-S camera. Overall this is a great lens for it's value, my copy is mainly sharp, but shows some softness at the sides when used full open. Stopped down the softness disappears.

Would recommend this one to everyone considering an UWA.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Oct 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $107.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Cheap, fast, sharp. Light to take with you where ever you go. Useable at f1.8.
Cons:
Plastic (feeling).

Very good lens for the money, buyed my copy for 90 ($107) and it's worth every cent. Sharp at 1.8 and even sharper when stopped down. Saved many shots in low light conditions where other lenses failed, and the use of flashlight was not possible.

Should be in your bag everywhere you go.