about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: fusionphoto  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fusionphoto to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jul 31, 2011 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Lightweight, super sharp @ 1 stop down but usable wide open, great DOF and Bokeh. Nice colors and great detail. Price
Cons:
Canons hidden GEM, none IMO

This is a super lens, great color, bokeh and sharpness even wide open (better 1 stop down), It is lightweight and focuses well, not super fast but accurately (faster than its big brother).

I use this lens on the Canon 1D Mk IV and the 1Ds Mk1 with excellent richely colored and sharp results with great detail even in the corners (when used stopped down)

I consider this one of Canons hidden gems and it goes wherever I go it is that GOOD... but don't tell everyone or the price may go up....


 
Canon EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_28-70_28s_1_
Review Date: Sep 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $980.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, reliability,quick focusing, color, bokeh all superior
Cons:
weight

I use this lens mainly on my 1Ds where its range is good. It sharp wide open but does improve if stopped down a touch. Color and bokeh are great and its a super general lens just a shame they don't build it anymore. I would certainlt recommend it for a FF camera where 28mm is truely WA..

 
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX Nikkor

18-55VR
Review Date: Sep 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast focus,lightweight
Cons:
Plastic mount

This is an excellent little walkaround lens that gives good performance and sharpness plus VR. It all plastic but seems reasonably put together but I don't really like plastic mounts but for the price of this one I can forgive it.

Recommended...


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

canon1dmarkiv
Review Date: Jun 15, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, IQ, focusing, speed, durability,
Cons:
Weight, its heavy

I have read with interest many reviews on this camera, positive and negative, but I have nothing negative to say about it. It is a superb professional machine that produces results. I have used it in good and bad light and have found absolutely no problem with the AF, it snaps on and sticks. I take many pictures in dark night clubs of bands and performer where the light can be extremely difficult and have had absolutely no problems with AF as others have described. The IQ up to 12500 ASA is usable with a little PP. Battery performance is excellent.
I have used, and still use, 1Ds and 1D Mk1 & 2 and see this camera as an improvement. The images I get from it need less PP than the 1Ds or the Mk1 & 2. Simply fantastic, maybe I am from the second group and in denial, I think not..and neither do my publishers.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Mar 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $379.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cost, quick AF, good DOF, sharpness across the board
Cons:
Some CA wide open

I bought this lens a few days ago for a great price. After some initial testing I have found it to be a pleasing lens to use, usable wide open at 1.8 but get even sharper stopped down a little.
I had considered the L 85 f1.2 but the extra price did not warrant the purchase so I went with this, and I'm glad I did it will surely become one of my favs.

Built quality although no L is still very good and the lens feels solid and well built.

It does, as has been reported in other reviews, suffer from some vignetting when used wide open and some CA is apparent but nothing that will cause me a problem. A good lens I would recommend to a friend.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Feb 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,340.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp,fast focusing and well built. Plus its an L
Cons:
Heavy

Only picked up this lens yesterday but my first pictures taken with it have impressed me. Will report more later.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Feb 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light and well built
Cons:
None yet

I have had this lens only a few weeks after having a rather major accident with my 28-70 f2.8 which was terminal (for the lens, bo hoo, but up to now I have not been dissapointed with this purchase. It sharp and usable even at f4 and the IS is good in low light situation without moving subject. Have not give it a full run down yet but will write a further review when I have had the opportunity to scrag it...

 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Oct 9, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Built quality good, focusing quick and precise,color are good.
Cons:
No yet.

I must say I was a little worried about the reported QC issues and number of soft lenses out there. This lens quite expensive new here in UK and I don't think I would have bought it at that price but I came across this immaculate copy used for a very good price and I must say I am very pleased with the sharpness and overall quality of the lens on my 1Ds FF. 12mm is wide, really wide and will take a little getting used to but should be able to get some really funky images with this.

 
Canon EF 20-35mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

ef20_35mm_1_
Review Date: Sep 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $180.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight, quick and accurate USM focusing, price.
Cons:
Images a little flat and lacking in contrast but easily trewwkable in PS

I just bought this little lens off ebay for a great price. I have noticed so poor reviews here but at the price I thought I would give it a try. Some of the observations made by others are quite correct and I found from my initial test that the images tend to lack a little contrast straight from the camera but IMO nothing that can't be easily adjust in PP. The images I have taken appear sharp, not world class, but again for the price very good.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2555/3884650936_b3a9c163b5_o.jpg

Some minor barrel distortion evident at 20mm but nothing I would worry about for my type of shooting. This will make a great little walkabout lens on my 1D accepting that it has some limitations.

Recommended....


 
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: Aug 28, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Quick, great AF and cheap
Cons:
Battery. 400 shots max.

Have been using this camera for a while now and I love it. The AF is superb and the file size is just enough for my laptop to work with and still get excellent images. Overexposure by 1/3 stop seems to work well for me as the camera does not like underexposure. Planning on picking up another one of these when I can find a good one. Obsolete it may be but it still gives great pictures if you use it properly and understand its limitation. Cropping in camera makes me think as there is little room for PP cropping if you want to maintain full quality images. I would recommend this camera to a friend... 9/10 for performance and picture quality 10/10 for todays prices... Get one.

 
Canon EOS 1Ds

21Ds
Review Date: Jul 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ is superb. Handling, ergonomics are great. No chance of changing settings by accident. Built like a brick, good waterproofing
Cons:
Very heavy. Need good lenses. (not really a negative, only to be expected).

I have had this camera for about 12 months now and after a reasonable steep learning curve I think its a superb machine. Careful exposure for the best results is required and its not a quick camera to use and has a rather slow buffer but for my Landscape work it is second to none.

The 11MP sensor is more than enough for my purposes and give excellent print quality.

No a camera to use when speed is at a premium, as in sports, but when you have time to think this is the camera to get the shot and give great IQ to boot. AF is excellent and once yu set it up to the way you work its great. Be prepared to learn how to find your way thru the menu system which can be a little confusing at first but is soon learned.

A GREAT CAMERA...


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II

1D2
Review Date: Jun 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great handling, superb IQ, fast,fast,fast.
Cons:
Boy is it heavy, but it balances well with L lenses.

I have not had this camera long so this is an initial assessment. So far I am very positive. The camera function well, focus is quicj and accurate and IQ is superb. The 1D mk1 my long time favourite has now been knocked of its pedistal but not compleyely replaced as I love it for portrait and street work, but I think this camera with its smooth CMOS image will give me another string to my bow.

 
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: Feb 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Speed, image quality for a Low MP camera is amazing. Solid build and weather sealing.
Cons:
Uses lots of battery power.

I have wanted one of these cameras for ages and finally found an excellent un battered sample for me to play with. The feel of quality in this camera is outstanding and the quality of the images it produces are great considering it is only 4.8MP.
The gatlling gun speed of the drive is a sound to be mavelled at but used wisely as it fills the buffer quite quickly. Buffer speed is OK but slower than some newer cameras. This will be used as a backup to my 1Ds and for street photography.

The images are sharp and clean and the exposure system and AF are second to none. I do not regret this purchase even though some would consider this machine obsolete. Try one and you will see its an ace picture machine.