about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: fozzybear1969  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fozzybear1969 to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: May 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast, color saturation, solid build, weather sealed, USM, f/2.8, 24-70mm.
Cons:
Price (but worth it), weight (will get use to).

This a solid piece of glass. Excellent build and weather sealed not that it matters on my 20D but usefull if I move to a 1D series camera. The images are very sharp and the colours are amazing. This lens is heavy but balances nicely on my 20D with grip. I can get use to the weight and feel of this lens. Focuses fast and quite USM make this lens pricey but worth every penny.

 
Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 EX DC

18-50f28
Review Date: Apr 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $699.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: f2.8, sharp, good contrtast and colours, light weight, wide angle zoom with a nice range, price, nice build, 7 year Canadian Warrenty, free hood and case.
Cons:
Distortion at 24mm and wider, noisey focusing, hard to get lens cap off with hood on.

Great lens from Sigma but I am waiting to see the Tamron 17-50 f2.8 and the Canon 17-55 f2.8 IS EF-S.

 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Apr 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Affordable L lens, sharp, contrasty, great colours, USM, weather sealed, pro-build. Great for shooting in confined spaces.
Cons:
Large hood, distortion below 24mm, noticable distortion at 17mm. 17-50 would be better range. Hunts a bit in low light.

A nice piece of L glass. The colours are great and the images are razor sharp and contrasty. It focuses fast but it hunted a bit in low light. As everyone stated before the hood is annoying so just don't use it. There is noticable distortion at 17mm but that's what wide angles do. It would be an awesome lens if it was a 17-50 f2.8 L. Can't wait to see what the new 17-55 f2.8 EF-S IS lens will be like. I may get that lens and sell the 17-40.

 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Apr 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,599.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 8 megapixels, fast focusing, custom functions, solid build, ISO 400.
Cons:
A little red in the skin tones maybe it's just me. No Spot metering. 1.6 crop factor.

I like this camera, it's a step up from my original D Rebel. I am at looking getting a 5D for the FF sensor only because I am now shooting in my home studio with confined spaces. I don't really like using wide angle lenses on my 20D regardless of the 1.6 conversion. There is still distortion and I don't like distortion when photographing models. Saving up for the 5D.



 
Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 XR Di Zoom AF

28-75mm
Review Date: Apr 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $369.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: f2.8, good walk around lens, nice colour, good bokeh, razor sharp images, ok build, 67mm filter size, comes with lens hood, price.
Cons:
24-75mm would be better, focusing not as fast as USM, focusing a tad noisy, zoom ring not as smooth Canon.

I have a good copy of this lens after hearing that there are quality control issues with Tamron making these lenses. This lens is razor sharp, produces nice colours and has nice bokeh. The build is ok and not as heavy as the 24-70 L it will be my main walk around lens. I have the 70-200 L f4.0 and it's 67mm filter size is perfect for the Tamron 28-75, I don't have to buy new filters...a perfect lens combo. I would prefer 24-75mm but for the price I should not complain plus they include a lens hood, unlike some Canon lenses. Ok so the focusing is not as fast as USM (I sold my 28-135 IS USM) and is bit noisy, I am going to miss the USM. The zoom ring is a bit stiff compared to the better Canon lenses. Overall I like this lens, I would trade off a few minor disadvantages for sharper images and savings over the expensive Canon 24-70 L lens.

 
Sigma 24-60mm f2.8 EX DG Lens

24-60mm
Review Date: Jan 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $699.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:



 
Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

300D-2
Review Date: Jan 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,199.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low price DSLR, CMOS sensor, great colour, 6.3 megapixels, Uses Canon EF lenes and L lenses, optional battery grip, depth of field preview button, on camera flash pops up higher.
Cons:
1.6 crop factor when using wide angle lenses, plastic body (I should not complain for the price paid), the camera turns off when you open the memory card door.

This is my first DSLR camera, I bought from the camera store and thought why not try it out to see if I like it. I have 14 days to return it and guess what...I never returned it. I love this camera. The only thing I would nit-pik about is the plastic built but should not complain for the price paid. I list the 1.6 crop factor as a negative only if you use a wide angle lens but I rarely ever use an extremely wide angle lens. If you open the memory card door the camera turns off, you just have to be sure handed not to do this while the images is recording to tha card. Overall this is great camera to start with if you are going to enter the world of digital photography. For the more serious pro go for the 20D, 1DmkII, 1Ds or 1Ds mkII (the rolls royce of DSLRs).

 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Jan 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: IS, light weight, reasonable sharpness, nice colour and contrast. Good walk around lens. Good range.
Cons:
Not an L lens, front of lens wobbles a bit, soft at the short and long end. A bit pricey for this lens, I paid $650 CAD.

Campared to my 70-200mm f4.0 L lens this lens does not have the same sharpness and contrast. I find it sharp at f 8-11 and very soft at 3.5-5.6. So far there is not zoom creep. I like the range but I will sell this lens and get a 28-70 L.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: Nov 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap, Great bokeh, great for low light, sharp pictures, good contrast, very very light.
Cons:
Not USM, plastic mount.

This is the best bargan lens out there and I am glad that I bought this lens. I use it to photograph models and people and the image quality is comparable to an L lens. I love the fact that it is light which great for my shakey hands holding heavy equipment. At f1.8 this lens produces great bokeh and is a great lens for low light situations. Wish it was USM, but Canon wants you to the more expensive 50mm 1.4 USM. Wish it had a metal mount but that is why this lens is so light, again Canon wants you to buy the 50mm 1.4 USM. For such a low price and a great lens I should not complain.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Nov 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $910.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: L lens, great price, sharp picture, great contrast, light for this type of lens, good bokeh.
Cons:
Does not come with a tripod mount, wish it was a 50-200mm.

After renting the 28-70 L, I saved my money and bought a 70-200 L f4.0 and love this lens. The reason why I didn't buy the 28-70 L is that it is too exspensive, I plan on getting the Tamron 28-75mm XR Di. I tried it out and the image quality is comparable to the 28-70 L. Back to the 70-200 L f4.0, the bokeh is suprisingly nice for f4.0 with the subject nicely sharp. I only wish this was a 50-200, but if Canon did make such a lens it would cost a lot more. I also like the fact that it is fairly light weight but on my digital rebel with my battery grip and flash it weighs a ton. Suprisingly with my shakey hands the pictures still come out sharp. This is my first L lens that I own and I am glad that I got it.