about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: fotojev  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add fotojev to your Buddy List
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Aug 28, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Bought it again :-)
Cons:
The same as before but I can now overlook and manage them

See my previous review also but this lens is great. I have used it als a walk around lens in Italy (like Venice) on a d3x and it is do-able and recommendable.

 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very high IQ, fast, nice reach, weather seal, build quality.
Cons:
Vulnarable front, bulky, very very heavy.

I bought this lens second hand and used it for about 2 months. This lens produces very beautifull images and is fast and tops in several regards.

What I did not like was it's weight and I did definitely not like the vulnarable bulb on the front. I constantly needed to think about not scratching it. I could have lived with the weight but not with that bulb. So I sold it.


 
Nikon 600mm f/4D IF-ED AF-S II Nikkor

2133_180
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, robust, high IQ, handles well, weather seal.
Cons:
Setting of switch for VR is hard to see, hood is overly difficult because of the 2 parts.

This lens I used for about 1 year for bird photography. In combination with a D300s the reach is fine. But when I switched to a D3s the length deteriorated too much for me.

Apart from that this lens is a beauty to hold and a pleasure to use. Better looking than the white Canons I think. Image quality is superb.


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Robust, light weight, weather seal, good IQ, works with little light.
Cons:
A bit soft at F 1.4, a bit slow sometimes.

This is my standard lens for everything. What can I say more. It can be improved in several regards but in general it is very good especially given the relatively low price.

Very much recommended.


 
Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor

1940NAS_180
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, very sharp, robust.
Cons:
No weather seal, a bit heavy and long.

I love this lens for outdoor use. Very nice to picture people.

It is somewhat long when carrying around. Also people will notice you! Definitely a lens I recommend.


 
Nikon 18mm f/2.8D AF Nikkor

1911NAS_180
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light weight, very compact, fast, good IQ.
Cons:
Rotation of grip at AF, no weather sealing, not so good hood.

This lens I use a lot. The reach on FF is very nice for indoor photography. But also outside it is very usable. This length is difficult to master. Everything at close is overly large.

The premium of this lens is it's compactness and speed. I had the 14-24mm first and that lens is way to heavy for me and very vulnerable.

The lens hood comes loose too quickly and can ruin the image. Also the hood is narrow and therefor the lens front is exposed. I use a filter all the time.

In the longer term I may replace it with something else but I would not know what. Maybe the 16-35mm but that is such a big lens. For now I use it and use it frequently with pleasure!


 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, relatively light weight, fast.
Cons:
No weather seal, no IS.

This lens was my first lens for bird photography. With a 50D it was a nice compact solution. Of course it was not perfect because of the limited reach. For birds in flight with enough light it is perfect because it is hand holdable.

I do no longer have this lens and I doubt whether I will buy it again. IS is a must have I think as well as weather sealing.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef400mmf_28l_1_
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very fast, robust, weather proof, highest IQ possible.
Cons:
Very big, very heavy, the heavyness makes it a bit vulnarable in use.

This lens I used some time for bird photography. When I switched form a 50D to 1D it became to short in reach. With the 2x extender it was OK but images became to fuzzy. I sold it and went to 600mm from Nikon.

For everything you need this length it is amazing!


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Functions in low light, robust, weatherproof, nice warm glow.
Cons:
Bulky, heavy, pricey, a bit slow (with 5d mk2)

I had this lens for several months until I decided to sell all my Canon gear and switch to Nikon. This lens I liked a lot because it is so robust and gives such warm colors. It was somewhat less sharp than is possible I think. This can be corrected in post-processing.

If I start using Canons again this will be on my wanted list! 50mm fixed is a must have in my opinion and this is the most serious thing Canon has.


 
Canon EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM

ef800_f56lisu_586x225_1_
Review Date: Nov 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, IQ, weight is considerable less than other super tele's, robust.
Cons:
Minimal focus distance, prices, F 5.6 is minimum sometimes a bit too dark in viewfinder. Slow with 1.4 extender.

This is simply the best lens at this moment for bird photography. I had the Canon 400mm 2.8 IS and Nikom 600mm VR before this lens.

This lens is clearly the best for me because of the reach. The high-end Nikon bodies have no crop that does not help for the reach. With the 1.4 extender and the 1D mk4 body focussing is rather slow and not really reliable. Manual is better then.

My keepers rate with birds and image quality in general has never been better. For the first time I do not long for another lens which is a really good thing considering the amounts of money one needs to pay!