about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: erikff  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add erikff to your Buddy List
Nikon D3

d3
Review Date: Dec 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great camera overall. The autofocus and high ISO performance is out of this world! One hell of a camera!
Cons:
Personally, I would have liked a few more pixels squeezed in there somewhere



 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor

1902NCP_180
Review Date: Jun 13, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, small, ULTRA sharp, fast ... should I go on
Cons:
none

I havent put the lens through its paces yet but from the little I played with it I am totally blown away. It is a great lens and possibly the sharpest lens I own. This is one lens that will probably start living on my camera body.

You cannot go wrong for the price/performance


 
Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

05_03_1_
Review Date: Apr 4, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Value for money, fast lens, sharp,
Cons:

I love my 70-200 HSM EX lens! I own both this lens as well as the Nikon 80-200 ED and although I am no expert on things like abberation, benefits of things like ED glass, or any of the technical stuff my recommendation of this lens comes purely from the results that I am getting from this lens. This lens is in my opinion just as good as the Nikon and is probably the most used lens in my bag

 
Nikon D1X

Nikon_D1X
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A great camera. Rugged build and easy to use. Great software support from Nikon and continued development on the camera (memory upgrade and firmware upgrades)
Cons:
rubber grips.... replaced them twice already and they keep peeling off

I love my D1x !

 
Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

05_105mmEX_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp
Cons:
slow focussing

The first EX Sigma lense I ever bought and loved it since the day I got it. Sometimes i find it a bit slow in focussing but I can live with that or in difficult situations I just set it to MF. A great, affordable macro lens that deffinitely gets my vote

 
Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR AF

1996NAS_180
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: sharp
Cons:
slow focussing, VR problems with D1x

I had this lens for just under a year and hated it from the moment I first bought it. I think that my expectations must have been too high but I found this lens extremely slow and in addition I had compatibility problems with my D1x.

 
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

1987NCP_180
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredibly Sharp
Cons:
none

I found my 60mm f/2.8 AF Micro Nikkor at a second hand shop for $20-00 in immaculate condition! This is an incredible macro lens that I use for macro, portrait and product shoots. I would recommend this lens to anyone in the market for an affordable (especially in my case) macro lens.

 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp and fast
Cons:
heavy

I have owned this lens now for a little under two months and only had a chance to put it through its paces in the last few days. I am blown away both the sharpnesss of the photographs as well as by the speed in which it locks into focus. I dont know much about HSM, SLD, EX, APO, ED, Multicoating vignetting, abborations and all those things but can tell you that I am extremely happy with my lens.

I bought this lens (and a 2X converter) to replace my Nikon 80-400 VR and havent looked back. Simply put - Ilove this lens

The weight of the lens does however become prohibitive to carry around with me wherever I go and I would not recommend it unless one uses it with a monopod. (or a tripod when combining it with a Sigma 2X EX adaptor) Thats my 2c worth...