about | support

  Reviews by: erikff  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add erikff to your Buddy List
Nikon D3

Review Date: Dec 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great camera overall. The autofocus and high ISO performance is out of this world! One hell of a camera!
Personally, I would have liked a few more pixels squeezed in there somewhere

Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor

Review Date: Jun 13, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light, small, ULTRA sharp, fast ... should I go on

I havent put the lens through its paces yet but from the little I played with it I am totally blown away. It is a great lens and possibly the sharpest lens I own. This is one lens that will probably start living on my camera body.

You cannot go wrong for the price/performance

Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

Review Date: Apr 4, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Value for money, fast lens, sharp,

I love my 70-200 HSM EX lens! I own both this lens as well as the Nikon 80-200 ED and although I am no expert on things like abberation, benefits of things like ED glass, or any of the technical stuff my recommendation of this lens comes purely from the results that I am getting from this lens. This lens is in my opinion just as good as the Nikon and is probably the most used lens in my bag

Nikon D1X

Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: A great camera. Rugged build and easy to use. Great software support from Nikon and continued development on the camera (memory upgrade and firmware upgrades)
rubber grips.... replaced them twice already and they keep peeling off

I love my D1x !

Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: very sharp
slow focussing

The first EX Sigma lense I ever bought and loved it since the day I got it. Sometimes i find it a bit slow in focussing but I can live with that or in difficult situations I just set it to MF. A great, affordable macro lens that deffinitely gets my vote

Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR AF

Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 4 

Pros: sharp
slow focussing, VR problems with D1x

I had this lens for just under a year and hated it from the moment I first bought it. I think that my expectations must have been too high but I found this lens extremely slow and in addition I had compatibility problems with my D1x.

Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Incredibly Sharp

I found my 60mm f/2.8 AF Micro Nikkor at a second hand shop for $20-00 in immaculate condition! This is an incredible macro lens that I use for macro, portrait and product shoots. I would recommend this lens to anyone in the market for an affordable (especially in my case) macro lens.

Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: very sharp and fast

I have owned this lens now for a little under two months and only had a chance to put it through its paces in the last few days. I am blown away both the sharpnesss of the photographs as well as by the speed in which it locks into focus. I dont know much about HSM, SLD, EX, APO, ED, Multicoating vignetting, abborations and all those things but can tell you that I am extremely happy with my lens.

I bought this lens (and a 2X converter) to replace my Nikon 80-400 VR and havent looked back. Simply put - Ilove this lens

The weight of the lens does however become prohibitive to carry around with me wherever I go and I would not recommend it unless one uses it with a monopod. (or a tripod when combining it with a Sigma 2X EX adaptor) Thats my 2c worth...