about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: eduardvdk  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add eduardvdk to your Buddy List
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Sep 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharpness, zoom.
Cons:
Weight, size.

From my point of view as a wedding photographer, I like to take shots with this lens ON the dancefloor, standing in between the people dancing. It gives such a feeling like 'you were there' if you see the pictures afterwards. Check out a few shots that I did on the dancefloot at http://www.bruidsfotograaf.nl/trouwfotograaf

The size and weight aren't really a pro here, but it always gives me the feeling that there's quality in the palm of my hand and that makes me happy.

Hope it helps by your desiscion,
Eduard


 
Nikon 70-200mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_11_36_47_AM
Review Date: Sep 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: incredible zoom
Cons:
Weight

This is an amazing lens, I have been comparing this to the 70-200 2.8 for a long time now. Since the zoom on this lens is so much better, I love to use it during my work, it gives the images so much depth, see some examples here: http://www.bruidsfotograaf.nl

I recommend to try them both before investing, either way, it will make you very happy!

Eduard


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Sep 30, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $420.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: F-stop, weight.
Cons:
Autofocus sometimes slow.

I shoot weddings in Holland and other places in europe and I have been using this lens for some time now. Its weight is a very big plus, and the low F-stop makes it a lens that I pop out every wedding. I use it with off camera flashes for stunning light effects with a shallow depth of field, so cool.

I would recommend this lens since 1.4 can give such incredible depth of field, the 85 mm is also very nice at 1.4!


 
Nikon 105mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor

pic_001-1
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharp, quick focus.
Cons:
Too my liking a little much off focus

I like this lens, its quick, its sharp. Although im experiencing some problems with the focussing lately.

I had a shoot where I shot some bridal picture's with this lens and the lens got too many 'off-shots'. It was just too many times out of focus, there was enough light to focus so Im not sure what the problem was, maybe one of you guys know whats the problem, please let me know through my website http://ww.bruidsfotograaf.nl I would really really like to know.

Nevertheless its a good lens that I would definitely recommend.


 
Nikon D800

d800s
Review Date: Jul 15, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,800.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: What I love about this camera is the basically the 36MP and the huge dynamic range.
Cons:
The menu structure isnt that logical in my eyes and the Low noise ISO could be a little higher to my liking.

This camera is doing all my heavy duty in the field (wedding photographer). It works awesome havind this dynamic range and amount of pixels. Although when it comes to low light situation it could have a little better Low noise ISO. I did post some examples on http://www.bruidsfotograaf.nl/trouwfotograaf.

The screen/buttons are good, but maybe thats because I'm used to it. I would definetley recommend this camera.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Jun 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: quick AF-system and sharp picture's
Cons:
Lots distortion

Hello all,

I recently did some shots with this lens, looked gret at first, but back in my studio I could see quiet some distortion, do you guys have the same problem? Check a few of my shots at http://www.bruidsfotograaf.nl

Looking forward to hear from you.

Eduard


 
Nikon 85mm AF-S NIKKOR f/1.8G

nikon85f18
Review Date: Jun 9, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Its full frame, Nice AF system.
Cons:
Less sharp then the expensive 85mm 1.4, wich is my favorite

I must say that I def prefer the other 85, but also due to the 1.4 light sensitivity. For the price its def a good lens, such as the 50mm 1.4 that is just 350 euro and take's very descent picture's. For the real depth of field shots I use the 70-200 2.8.... stunning.

The picture's on my homepage are shot with this 85mm, please check it out at http://www.bruidsfotograaf.nl and if you can recommend more lenses to me, please do!

Thank you, Eduard - Forevering Studios