about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: ebiggs  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ebiggs to your Buddy List
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Sep 11, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This lens is a sweetheart.
Cons:
Absolutely nothing.

If you have a Canon camera, you need this lens. Especially good for the FF body but nice on a crop.
I think it has been around for nearly 20 years. That says something and makes a lot of good used copies out there.


 
Tamron 150-600MM F/5-6.3 DI VC USD

884479
Review Date: Jul 6, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,099.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Of course price. It is light and has 600mm.
Cons:
It is not an "L" lens. It is not even in consumer Canon quality level.

Of course you buy this lens because of price and want 600mm. And for that reason, it is a buy. But if you are expecting Canon quality, you are going to be disappointed. This lens is never going to take the abuse that a Canon L lens will. But it doesn't cost what an "L" does.

I want to live will it for a while but right out of the box, my copy is working well.

It's focus is fast and silent on my 1D Mk IV. It is spot on, too.

Just the few shots I have taken from my deck, show is is reasonably sharp but starts to show difficulties at 100%.

Who buys a 100mm f5? So I don't know how much benefit that is going to be as most people will use this lens on the long end. But I guess it's nice to be able to frame shots and this zoom range is huge.

An update review after I use it for some time

Update from today. 07/06/2014
I spent all day today with the 150-600mm on my 1D MkIV.
The lens worked without a hitch all day. It was 91 degrees and 90% humidity. The results were very good but you must remember to use 400-800 ISO because the lens is so slow.
This lens is going to take more careful handling as compared to my "L" series. i am more pleased than at first. More later.


 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Jun 22, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well built. Outstanding IQ through out. Keeps it length when zoomed. Keeps it aperture when zoomed. What's not to like?
Cons:
Well this guy is heavy. I mean tripod heavy and it is not a cheap lens.

I got this Siggy simply because I can't afford Canon big lenses. But this thing is amazing. It is heavy and you are not going to shoot hand held. Not for very many shots that is.
On my 1D Mk IV it is truly a tripod or monopod situation.
The build is great. It is very sharp.
I intend to get Sigma's 1.4x for it. I have a Canon EF 1.4x but it looks kinda doppy on a big black lens. Did I mention this lens is big?
Anyone needing or buying this lens is going to be happy with it's pictures.


 
Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM

583_17-50mm_f28_EX_DC_OS_HSM_copy
Review Date: Apr 1, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $469.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: What else, price! Sigma has a instant $200 rebate right now. Comes with hood, a pinch lens cap and a soft case. Lately any Sigma lens with at least the EX or Art rating is a very nice lens and a good buy.
Cons:
The front focus ring moves as the lens focuses. Not a deal breaker but you must be aware of it and keep your hands off.

In real world shooting you will not likely be able to tell the difference between this lens and Canon's.
If, on the other hand, you are a pixel peeper you can see some difference.
There is some CA on the right side of mine at f2.8 but you need a 100% crop to see it at all.
Mine is very sharp. Better than it's price would indicate.
I use mine on a 7D and I have the Sigma 50-150mm f2.8 to go along with it. Makes a nice combo.


 
Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM APO

Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_11_20_05_AM
Review Date: Dec 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $949.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Gives the popular 70-200mm equivalent to crop sensor bodies. Very sharp, good build.
Cons:
It is heavy and it is not weather proof.

This lens is a no brainer. It is simply fabulous on my 7D.
I highly recommend it to any crop sensor owner.
It is a little long and it has 'good' weight to it but seems to handle easily. Comes with a useful hood and nice padded case that Sigma uses for a shipping container.
There was a time when this ole boy would never consider a of brand lens but a few from Sigma, recently, has begun to change my mind.
The focus and zoom rings are reversed to my way of thinking and it took me a day or two to adjust.
My copy is sharp and no complaints on focus. It is fast and spot on.
This lens is a very good buy.


 
Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 IF EX DG HSM

image-1_copy
Review Date: Dec 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $749.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price
Cons:
If you are expecting a Canon 24-70mm f2.8 L, forget it.

Let's face the facts. This is not a Canon 24-70mm f2.8 L and if you expect it to be, than you will be disappointed. If you want a very good 24-70mm f2.8, that preforms very well, this is it!
It is not weather proof. It misses focus occasionally. f2.8 is not as sharp as f4 on. It is nearly 1/3rd the cost of the Canon! It is a very good buy and especially a very good buy if you are not a pixel peeper.
If you are planning on using it on a 7D or Rebel or other crop sensor body, most of the softness is gone.