about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: dimitris77  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dimitris77 to your Buddy List
Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

50macro
Review Date: Sep 29, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, build quality, color and contrast
Cons:
Silly front cap

Excellent overall lens. Its sharp, has nice contrast and color. Its also very versatile since it can be used for macro and for landscapes. It reminds be of the Zeiss 35mm f2 in terms of rendering only this is a bit less contrasty in a good way. Easy to focus as well.

 
Zeiss 35mm F/1.4 Distagon T*

35f14
Review Date: May 2, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp across frame, bokeh, colors.
Cons:
Thin dof takes a lot of time to get used to

I upgraded to this model from the f2 version. At the beginning I thought I made a mistake but after using it for a while I got used to its narrower dof. It is this feature that makes it stand out. I use it a lot as a portrait lens.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Feb 16, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent lens overall. Sharp, fast focusing, IS helps a lot. Its definitely a keeper. Competes with 200L and the Zeiss 100MP I used to have.
Cons:
Size but you already knew about it. Also price. Its x2 the price of the non-IS version.



 
Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

100mm
Review Date: Dec 14, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, image quality consistent across all apertures and focus distances.
Cons:
Nothing really. It won't AF but you knew that. Also maybe focusing ring could have a longer throw as you get closer to focusing at infinity.

This is probably the best lens I have used. It has unparallel performance at all apertures. If 100mm works for you then don't think about it and just buy it. This has replaced my 85LmkII and I never missed it.

 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Dec 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, image quality, microcontrast, detail, sharp!
Cons:
Distortion, bulky hood.

I bought this to replace my 24 tsemkii and never regretted. Colors, contrast are better on this and consistent with the whole zeiss line. Distortion is pretty evident but I don't shoot architecture as much. Also while lens isn't too big its hood makes it a bulky lens. Impressive design and 16 elements tightly packed for a yummy landscape lens.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Dec 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Superb bokeh, nice colors, excellent build
Cons:
CA wide open, slow focusing, heavy, 1.2 dof hard to master, heart attack anxiety while you mount it so you don't scratch the rear element. Also focusing ring doesn't engage when camera is off.

Overall it's a unique lens. Some might love the isolation and bokeh. For me it didn't really do it especially since I had to put up with annoying things like CA wide open (if it was a little I wouldn't mind but in this it comes in buckets), slow AF and the damn old school ring is not as precise because it has no resistance. I would have prefered a more balanced 1.4 design with nicer manual focus ring and more corrected optics. However 1.2 is really special for the thing it does. Since I sold it I moved to zeiss 100mm which to me is a better lens.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Dec 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Small size, 1.4
Cons:
Inconsistent AF, soft wide open, bokeh with no character, overall dull rendering.

Canon seems to have dropped the ball on this one. Shame because they can make nice non L lenses like the 85mm and 50mm lenses are easy to build. The lack of consistent AF is annoying especially when the image quality isn't something to write home about.

 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: Oct 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast, colors, bokeh, small size and build quality.
Cons:
Vignetting.

I replaced my 35L with this. Needless to say that I haven't regretted it my choice. The Zeiss has a lot better characteristics and it makes the Canon look plain and flat. Build quality is excellent and its pretty easy to use. It makes an excellent walkaround lens coupled with a 5D.

 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

24tse
Review Date: Jan 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness, no CA, great focal distance.
Cons:
None. Maybe a bit bulky but thats what you get for the increased angle of coverage

I have used the old version and this one is much improved. There is no CA at any tilt or shift variation which is amazing. Coupled with the lens sharpness you have a killer wide angle from Canon. I have considered getting the 17mm but this one is much easier to use since you can mount filters on it. Build quality is superb as you would expect from such an expensive lens.

 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L

ts243_1_
Review Date: Oct 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness and lots of perspective control. It can be a creative tool in the right hands. Its the cheapest 24mm you can buy for Canon that is worth considering.
Cons:
Not much really. Maybe a bit of color aberration in the corners when shifted to the extreme. I would rate it similarly to my 35L in terms of CA.

If you want a fun 24mm lens this is it. I have sold mine but now I regret any minute of it. The new version better be much better than the old one. The manual focus forces you to slow down and take better photos. Panoramas are easy to do on the fly or with a tripod.

 
Canon EOS 1Ds

21Ds
Review Date: Oct 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image and build quality, viewfinder, focus speed
Cons:
Weight! Noise compared to newer cameras but see comments

I have been looking around for a FF camera on the cheap. While lurking around for a used 5D and waiting for the prices to go down I have found a minty 1Ds which I bought for a price lower than used 5D's. I can surely say that I am impressed. Image quality is great and the camera is pro quality with a nice viewfinder and very good autofocus. Sure it weights a lot but it balances very well with my lenses. Noise-wise people seem to ditch this camera however I kind of like the noise since it looks very film like. Also coming from a 20D the controls where a bit difficult to figure out and file transfer speeds are slow. However if you are a amateur like me and are interested in a pro body with very good image quality the 1Ds delivers beyond everything I have seen around and at an amazingly low price.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Aug 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, color, bokeh.
Cons:
Size & price.

This is a great lens and must have from the Canon lineup. Makes zooms seem so dull. The results that I get from it on my 20D are nothing close to anything I have seen from another lens. Fast focusing I can't wait to use it on FF when prices go down a bit.

I have bigger lenses (call me 85L) but its amazing how Canon manages to always have the biggest lenses available among other brands. Don't know how it will behave on FF but I am still hoping.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jun 18, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $350.00

 
Pros: Price, Image Quality, Size
Cons:
None

This is THE lense to beat at the price. I am getting amazing results on my 20D with creamy bokeh and very sharp pictures overall. Its size and internal focusing makes this a really nice lense to drag around. I shot this mostly in the f2.2-f2.8 area and it really gives very nice colors, sharpness and bokeh. I have tried it sometimes on f1.8 but the in focus area is so shalow that areas go out of focus. Generally speaking its an amazing lense and delivers better results than a 70-200mm L in a smaller package. It also holds its own against my old trusty Nikor 85mm F1.4.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Feb 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp, cheap.
Cons:
It doesnt come with a hood. Canon could give you a $5 piece of plastic with a lense.

What can i say about this lense?Its focuses fast and picture quality is amazing. Bokeh is amazing and colours are very nice too. Small and light you can go unnoticed shooting people. Extremely cheap and a bargain for the quality you get. Its excellent and i dont see why someone would go for the 1.2 version besides even better bokeh.