about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: dehowie  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dehowie to your Buddy List
Canon EF 200-400mm f/4L IS USM 1.4x Extender

Screen_Shot_2013-09-10_at_2_10_26_PM
Review Date: Sep 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $10,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ with the internal and external TC's. Great combination of IQ and ability to zoom the rivals prime IQ's giving flexibility with little loss.
Cons:
Learning curve for zoom use hand held..high price.

Having used big primes now for 9 years and owning or owned the 300/400/500/600 and 800 i think i am in a position to speak about a comparison of these great lenses.
The IQ is wonderful and extremely usable with both an internal and external TC engaged.
It really is the ultimate luxury to not have to sacrifice IQ when using a zoom and I cannot speak to highly of its combination of performance and flexibility.
Getting older the desire and ability to haul multiple big lenses around the world is waning and the 200-400 is a real solution to that issue.
For those after quality plus flexibility it is your dream lens.
On a trans America trip we used it exclusively shooting everything from Bears to float planes.
Its performance was better than i expected particularly at 784mm ie two converters.
If you dont need maximum focal length continually this is the lens to own.
Quality..flexibility..IQ..AF performance.
I have since sold my 500 and have a 300 on the market as they are made to me redundant for my type of shooting.
Brilliant lens.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark III

5DIIIs
Review Date: Jun 7, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Autofocus,build,battery life,viewfinder,weight.
Cons:
Pricey.

Having used the camera now over a few months in every condition from bright to full night at hi ISO I love this camera.
I've got 2 1Dmk4s and other than FPS and weather sealing/build it competes very well on every level winning in some aspects.
Best AF ive ever used..it's accuracy with the 50/1.2 and 85/1.2 still surprises me giving a far higher dead on rate then I've seen.
IQ s beautiful with good to excellent Hi ISO performance.
Buffer is great in JPG but could be bigger in RAW but still sufficient for 98% of the time.
Overall a brilliant tool for a wide variety of subjects, sport to still and from day to night.
Highly recommended but the AF is just brilliant and if you use 1.2 and 1.0 lenses it's a must get camera.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II USM

400f28II
Review Date: Feb 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing weight reductions,beautifully sharp ca free images.
Cons:
Nil..

Picked my series II up two weeks ago and have now used it in differing light and conditions.
In summary a spectacular lens.
The major shock to me is it's incredible performance with converters.
No reduction in visible sharpness with either of the 1.4 or 2x..when stacked extrelemy usable images.
Totally brilliant work by Canons engineers to reduce the weight by such a large amount and then increase the sharpness performance of the lens.
Staggering.

Cannot fault it after around 8000 frames in everything from full night to complete sun.

Love it..


 
Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L

17tse
Review Date: Jun 21, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great build awesome IQ overall super package lens.
Cons:
Protruding front element is a worry..

As my first tilt shift lens its been an awesome learning experience.
I've found its razor sharp and an excellent performer before you start to take advantage of the TS functionality.
Unlike the previous post i found its performance very much inline with reviews with little CA and very sharp until you use a combination of Tilt and Shift towards the extremity's of the image circle.
Even then its still extremely good quality.
Anything less than the extreme boundaries provides excellent IQ and its now my go to lens for all my wide angle shooting.
Highly recommended and a very enjoyable lens to use and learn to explore its unique possibility's.



 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Oct 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Pretty much everything..
Cons:
None

Had my Mk3 since just after release and it is imply the fastest focusing accurate camera ive ever used.
Blows my old MK2N away and every other camera ive seen in use.
Great buffer for action photography so unreservedly recommend this camera..


 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III

1dsmk3
Review Date: Mar 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing IQ, typical rugged Canon 1D series body, great AF and generally amazing performance in every respect.
Cons:
None.

Having never used full frame digital before i have been amazed at just how much i find myself using it. It takes precedence over my Mk3 and only loses out for real long work onthe 600 with the 50D.
Image quality is best i have ever seen and the ability to crop into images still blows me away.
An amazing body..


 
Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS USM

ef600mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Feb 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything except for its weight but that goes with the territory..
Cons:
None

Well its just about worth its weight in gold. Marginally sharper than my 500 this is a killer lens for whatever you want to use it for.
Cant wait to get it to an airshow...
Simply awesome..


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Nov 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons:
none.

Superb piece of glass complemented by a superb IS system.
I cant speak highly enough of this lens and it has allowed me to do stuff like 1/15th panning shots at over 300mm equiv with amazing results.
No other lens available could get near it due tothe combination of greatglass backed up by an amazingly good IS unit.
Awesome and i'd buy it again in a heartbeat.
Darren


 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Nov 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent all around lens.
Cons:
Lens hood.

I've used this lens for over 2 years now and still find it usefull and good quality even up against my big primes.
My sample is exceptionally sharp aound the 300mm mark and takes wonderful shots in both good and poor light.
IS plays up when panning across the sun but this is a pretty well known problem with the 100-400 but really is not a major limitation.
Overall i have been happy since day 1 and am still happy today.
Excellent lens.
Darren Howie


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

1d_mkii_n
Review Date: Oct 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great AF and superb build quality.Really exactly what you expect for the price.
Cons:
Price and less user friendly controls than 20D.

Well having upgraded from a 20D this is exactly what i was expecting.
Amazing AF that works superbly even with my 500F4 and Sigma 2x giving some exceptional results which have staggered me a little.
Blows the 20D into the weeds.
The menu system is not as easy to operate as the 20D's being more messey and not as intuitive.
Blistering speed at 8FPS!!
Built like the proverbial tank and quite weighty this thing is built to live on the edge.
SO in summmary.
Awesome AF.
Great build.
Huge feature list.
Complex menu operation.
Built to last.
One satisfied customer!!


 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Sep 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything!!
Cons:
None.

Well i have to agree with everyone else that this is one awesome lens.
Nothing else really to add apart from you will get what you pay for with this awesome piece of glass.
Unreservedly recommended.
Darren


 
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM

ef500mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Jul 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build,super image quality overall superb!!
Cons:
Price!!

Well i saved my butt off for a year for the 500 and what can i say.
Its more than i expected.
I use it for aviation photography and it is perfect for the job.
Easily handholdable and light enough to move around its simply built for the job.
Image quality is outstanding as you expect from the big L series primes.Totally usable with the 1.4 and capable of producing images i only dreamed of prior to grabbing it.
I really cant say enough about just how good ithink this lens is and how it has changed the way i take aeroplane photo's.
A superb piece of gear.
Darren Howie