about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: dbiela  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dbiela to your Buddy List
Sony 70-400mm f/4-5.6G SAL-70400G

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_49_44_PM_copy
Review Date: Dec 1, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Can take very sharp images much better then my Canon 100-400mm L lens. Focus has good focus speed
Cons:
Lens shade attachment is not great I have had the shade fall off when walking in crowds and it gets bumped by someone passing by. Do not care for the lens silver finish.

I use this lens with great results for aviation and motorsport photography. Good zoom range and takes sharp images, becomes a 105-600mm with the Sony a77 aps camera.

 
Sony 24-70mm f/2.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* SAL-2470Z

Screen_Shot_2013-11-18_at_7_05_51_PM
Review Date: Nov 19, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great color, contrast and sharpness. Good Bokeh, nice zoom range, has that Zeiss 3D snap. Nice built and metal lens shade.
Cons:
Heavy and large.

Great lens. At first I was not sure about it having bought the lens used off someone else, I shot some quick photos around the house and thought it was good but not outstanding. The following day I went to Chicago and used it with my Sony a99 and just love the images it captured. Smooth Bokeh great color and sharp images I would not go out without this lens in my bag. I wish it was lighter but the upside it is built like a tank. Try it you will not be disappointed.

 
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T*

Screendd_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_09_32_PM_copy
Review Date: Nov 18, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great color and bokeh. Almost no color fringing wide open. Has that Zeiss 3D look or snap. Great build quality and finish. Balance on camera fairly well when used with Sony a99. Metal lens shade.
Cons:
Heavy and a large. Focus is a tad slow on older Sony cameras on a77-a99 it has decent focus speed. Its fairly quiet for a screw-focus lens but a update to SSM drive would be better.

I really enjoy using this lens. Its great for portraiture or shooting at low light events. Sharp, great color, and boken its my go to lens for shallow depth of field. Its a little long for some peoples taste but I love the images it can capture and try to find a photo to use it for. Downside is that its large and heavy with the hood attached some people think its a 200mm.

 
Sony Alpha SLT-A99 DSLR

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_4_03_30_PM_copy
Review Date: Nov 17, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Camera has a solid build but pretty light weight. Very good focus accuracy, wide dynamic range, images have very good color. In-body image stabilization works with all lenses. EVF with the ability to program what ever information you wish to view. The articulated rear LCD is great for both stills and video. Dual SD card slots. Built in GPS. Output uncompressed HD video to external recorder. Continuous AF when shooting video or photos at 6 fps. Magnified live view for manual focus.
Cons:
Not enough memory buffer when shooting in high speed. Can take some time to navigate threw the menus. Cost is a bit high compare to the competition. Uses SD cards.

There are many items I love about the Sony A99, I use this camera all the time for both personal and work. Pair it with the right lenses and you can create images that will make any client happy. In camera stabilization, great dynamic range, a good full time focusing system for both video or stills and selectable camera information that you want displayed in the viewfinder adds up to a powerful tool. Sony make some very innovated features for their cameras most way before of the other manufactures. The other Sony advantage is Zeiss lenses though you can get Zeiss optics for Nikon or Canon with Sony you keep autofocusing. The Sony G lenses are no slouch either. The negatives, I wish the camera had a user customized menu layout so I could have a main menu that would display what is most important to me. A larger image buffer so I could shoot a longer burst of photos. Finally more lens selection though if your not a lens hog they have a lens to fit in most categories. Japanese innovation with German design optics make for a great camera system. If you would like to see some images made with the A99
check out my website at www.dbiela.com