about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: dbarthel  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dbarthel to your Buddy List
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM

ef70-300_45-56doisu
Review Date: May 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compact size, quick focus image quality
Cons:
Close focus distance

Got tired of schlepping a 100-400 around, so tried the 70-300DO. People have looked at charts and said why not just go the 70-300 non DO lens, but there is no comparison for sharpness and contrast. Stopping down to f6.3 at 300mm is all you need to do. At shorter lengths, wide open is fine. What a lens this would have been if built with a 77mm front objective, instead of the 58mm. Oh well,

 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II

1D2
Review Date: Aug 17, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Rock solid feel, 8mp, 8fps, battery that won't die, ETTL-2, low noise.
Cons:
Way to much anti-alias filter - highs will lose detail if not careful to underexpose.

This is my first 1 series body. Initially, had serious focusing problems (would not lock on to perfect focus), but after Canon service a very nice body. I really wish that Canon had laid off the AA filter and that images out of the camera would look like 1D images. There are very serious issues with fine detail being lost in the right 1/4 of the histogram. The only thing that saves it is that underexposing and pulling up the shadows works very well.

 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 21, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $560.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Only way to go wide on a 10D
Cons:
Barrel Distortion of course by design

I use the 15mm with ImageAlign from Grasshopper Software in NZ to get really wide architectural shots. The 15mm on the 10D is about the same as the 14mm on a full frame camera, and much less expensive, even including $200 for Imagealign. The nice thing about ImageAlign is it is WYSIWYG. No regrets on this purchase

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nature Photographers bread and butter
Cons:
F5.6 effective Apature

This lens is aways close to me. My current long lens is a 300f2.8 + 2x teleconverter (Soon to be augmented by a 500 f4). Meanwhile, as Matt says, if I go out with one lens, it's the 100-400. Don't even think of the 70-200 and a 2x extender to replace this lens. Image quality is very good, compared to the 75-300 I dumped, unreal. AF is slow on a d60, but on a 1D, not bad. If I had two lenses, this is one, the other on the other extreme, the 16-35 zoom.

 
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM

ef75_300usm_1_
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: absolutely none.
Cons:
everything ben mentioned

I'd be ashamed to give this one away.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Series I advantage
Cons:

For a little better build quality, get a Series I metal mount from e-bay.

 
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Almost no loss of quality
Cons:

This is a jewel. On a 300 f2.8 wide open (f4 effective) it's hard to tell any loss of quality.
On the 100-400f5.6, you have to manually focus, but quality is good.

On the 300 f2.8 with the 2x and the 1.4x results are still quite usable. I think this is 840mm at f8. Lots of length for very little weight.


 
Canon Extender EF 2x II

Extender_2x2_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Works well with long primes
Cons:

Used with a 300f2.8, and stopped down to f8, results are very good. Actually watched Artie Morris regularly stack two 2x converters on his 600 F4. Does the 300 & 2x compare to a 600? No, but cost and weight make this an attractive alternative.

 
Canon EOS D60

D60
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Superb Image Quality
Cons:
Autofocus sucks

What can we say. The D60 was wonderful, even with it's warts until the 10D came along. All in all, I would highly recommend a used D60 for someone who can't go the 10D route. I'm on the fence, do I get a 10D, keep the D60 as a second body, or a 1D, since I do birds.

I don't regret buying this camera at all, even though 9 months later, faster, better, cheaper.