about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: dalephill2  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dalephill2 to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Mar 5, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lighter than MKII and MKIIN, better battery, dedicated iso, 3.0 screen, liveview although manual focus, incredible clean noise even at 6400
Cons:
manual focus in liveview, can live with it.

I've had many cams, 10D,20D,30D,40D,50D,60D, 1D original,1DMKII,1DMKIIN, 1DsMKII, and the Images from the 1D3 out shines all, the noise from the MK3 is usable even at 6400 with alittle noise level from LR it is damn sweet, i do not see me needing another cam, the 60D with 18Mp does not look as good as the MK3, I did like the articulate screen and the live view and the wireless flash, but will forgo all of that for the images this puts out its that good. The cleanest ISO I have seen yet, have not put it agaist the D3s, or others no need.

these are all 6400 ISO
http://phillips.smugmug.com/Portraits/Portraits/i-NCLWBMk/0/L/9E3I8980-L.jpg

http://phillips.smugmug.com/Portraits/Portraits/i-GMQbj5c/0/L/9E3I8968-L.jpg

http://phillips.smugmug.com/Portraits/Portraits/i-NCm6jwm/0/L/9E3I8974-L.jpg


 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II

1dsmarkii
Review Date: Oct 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Incredible resolution, much more so than the 50D, not familar with the 7D. its a joy to use its focus is just as well incredible.
Cons:
I wish they wud make a better battery.

I am blown away everytime I open a file, I am using non L lenses and my pics are incredible, I have never had full frame and all my lenses are now what there soppose to be, my loly 28-105 3.5/4.5 MKII is just killer with this baby, I have had several 1D series bodies, original and MKII but never full frame till now, and the resolution is amazing, the sharpness and clarity all come through, if its this good with my loly lenses my gawd what if with L lenses, the 1Ds' is a fantastic camera I cannot put it down its that good, my 50D brought fun to the table but this 1D's opens a whole new world.
and the gallery
http://phillips.smugmug.com/Cars/1DSMKII-show-gallery/9929861_egk44/1/677372498_Mf99x
http://phillips.smugmug.com/photos/677372498_Mf99x-L.jpg


 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Sep 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Focus on par with MKII, screen by far the best, focus adjust a real plus,live view with face detect a real plus, to be able to control by pc for studio a big plus
Cons:
I just really have not come up with any

I held off for some time on getting the 50D due to it being more

expensive than the 40D, having since getting the 40D and not

noticeing alot of improvment over the 1DMKII, I sold the 40 and

with the canon loyalty program I got a refurb new unit 100

dollars over the 40D, what a deal to be sure, So I compared the

to bodies, 50D&MKII, I am much happier with the 50D, its

incredible as you will see in the pics, I used the same lens on

both(55-250) which by the way is a fantastic lens.) both cameras

are set at 100ISO 5.6 apeture, both shot raw, here is what I cam

up with, sure the 50D has greater resolution but it also caught

alot of more detail due to the greater resolution, it comes down

to image quality and the 50D just captures a far better picture,

the IQ seems par with the MKII,First pic is the gastank with 50D

50D gastank
http://phillips.smugmug.com/photos/642487744_2p3hb-L.jpg
1DMKII gastank
http://phillips.smugmug.com/photos/642485700_7Hk4s-L.jpg

50D meter
http://phillips.smugmug.com/photos/642486102_9re7J-L.jpg
1DMKII meter
http://phillips.smugmug.com/photos/642485077_meXoa-L.jpg

50D postcap
http://phillips.smugmug.com/photos/642486800_sqi4M-L.jpg
1dMKII postcap
http://phillips.smugmug.com/photos/642485352_JM7hy-L.jpg


 
Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

ef_28-105_35
Review Date: Aug 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great walk around, sharp, super build
Cons:
no hood

This is my second 28-105, I sold my other one due to finiancial reasons and missed it ever since. It was superb then as it is now. Its just that good, its every bit as good as some of my other lenses. 55-250, better than the 18-55, and i'd swear its just as good as my 70-200f4, so yeah its a keeper this one, I love it.. not gonna let it go again.

 
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_
Review Date: Mar 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $210.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: it blows me away how darn sharp this lens is without adding any sharpness, I like it better than the 70-200f4
Cons:
little slow focusing, easy to work around

This is an outstanding lens, the 70-200f4 and 2.8 have more saturation or added color, but this lens is on par with both as far as the sharpness, yet the 50-250 is way more versatle and the is gives me way more keepers, and the saturation or color that i do not get in it lightroom 2.2 fixes it right up, and for half the cost or less than the 70-200f4 its a bargain.



 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Jul 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lite, optics are excelent and love the wide wide end...
Cons:
little cheesy build

Just incredible, on the 1*6 crop its like having full frame again.. gotta love it.. optics are just what the doctor orded for a poormans pocket.. It truly is a piece of work. I can see this being my walk around lens 99 percent.

 
Canon EOS 10D

10D
Review Date: Jul 8, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Noise levels excelent, build quality excelent, focus with fast lens excelent, tracking is fair, camera is a must have for amatures or above.
Cons:
Flash is alitte low for long and wide lenses, no problem if you have onboard flash.

:Back to basics and simplicity:

Photographer level=Hobbyist / Proficient Amateur
Moral of the story?? Keep it simple try not to get caught up in the hype.

I would by no means state that I am a professional at this trade, I have on the other hand spent the last 3 years learning a great deal of information and putting it to test. What I have learned in testing equipemt varing 10D,20D,1D,1DMKII, is that the camera is an extension of your creativity, I started off with the 10D and learned on it, itís a fine camera and I loved it, it produced some of my best pics.. 20D also a fine camera that has nicer features than the 10, more pixels, lower noise. Now 1 series camers 1D, I believe this to be the best camera for todays monies, can be bought for $1,000.00 to $1,200 in mint shape and few clicks. The best out of camera jpeg I have seen, 1DMKII An excellent camera again, I found it to be not as good as the original due to all the processing that must go into it to get what your after, the camera is excellent to be sure, its ahead of the original and surpasses it in many ways.

I sold all the cameras and just bought 2 10Dís, and upgraded my glass. I guess I got caught up in all the hype thinking if I had this camera it would make me better, they all still produced the same results. Sure there was better features, more pixels, bigger cameras. I just had to have the latest and greatest, when in fact had I just stayed with the 10D I would have become even more experienced and upgraded my glass as time permited.

This is not for everyone of course, the 10D can do what all these others can do just not as fast or as impressive. For those truly experienced photographers they can create images that will make your mouth drop, and can do it on much simpler camers.

For those newbies or even amateurs, learn your skills of fine tuning your craft and not your cams until youíve truly mastered the craft. Keep it simple and basic. Chasing after the latest and greatest will not make you a better photographer.

Michael Phillips
God Bless.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, sharp sharp...Not as heavy as I heard many say, quality through and through.
Cons:
wish it was weather tight like IS.

I came from the F4 version which is a darn nice lens but felt I needed that extra stop a few times, At dusk it wants to hunt for focus and if you do not have your ISO pushed to its limits then your gonna get some blured images unless you have tripod, with the 2.8 your gonna fare better. and focuses faster as well. Its wider round than the f4 version, which I actually like, more manly, ha ha ha ha. the hood compliments the lens, and acts as a magnafyer for those gawking.. the 1*4 worked good on the f4 and I have yet to try on the 2.8 yet. but am positive its gonna be super.

 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II

1D2
Review Date: Jun 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,700.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Wow factor, amazing. battery life incredible, focus is quick accurate, Many features, 10* view,brighter lcd screen,love it all
Cons:
As I have only hand canons, and 10D, 20D, 1D original now MKII I do not see where there are any negs..

Cannot say enough good things about this cam, bought it used with 11,000 clicks, its just beautiful, looks and feels as if I took it right out of box. comming from the 1D original I must say its leaps ahead, I like the original out of cam pics, but the MKII's jpegs if you bump the to 3-4 there fine, and the raws are huge compared to the original, i'll have to get some 4 gb cards, Oh yeah the sd card input is great. you can get 4gb 150* speed for like 89 dollars as of this time. I have not ventured into the firewire settings of the parameters, perhaps later. for now the colors and skin tones from raw and jepeg are excelent. Oh did I mention battery life.??????? the original was power hungry rarly got 250 shots from bat. have not had a chance to run the battery down yet, but others have said there getting upwards of 700-1000. so this is welcomed..the lcd seems to be more res, and the 10* view is great 1D had none. It is liter as well than the original, not by much but can feel.menu layout is alittle different, but is needed as more features, buttons as well on the back. the battery compartment button is deeper for those that wear gloves. I could go on and on with the features, to many, all I have to say is I will never need another cam.

 
Canon EOS 10D

10D
Review Date: Aug 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast AF Fast start-up Fast continuous shooting
Cons:
Only neg is on my part of buying slower equipment like flash card get a 40+ or get the flash reader I did wish it had a plug in adaptor for power as a package deal

Since I have only had it for alittle over 1 month and comming from a Sony DS75 it Rock and Rolls!!!!! never had so much control in a digi cam and the quality of pics is super even in low JPG. and with a 256K flash card it gives me over 500 pics. I just left Corregidor island in the Philippines and was glad I was in low JPG I took over 400 pics. and after getting home I put on pc, and all were super less maybe 20, and from all my fault. I am learning a great deal here I am by no means a professional, a damn novice to be sure, I just love taking pics. and being here in the Philippines I am never out of models, as the kids and ladies as well as the men love there pics taken. God bless them. So back to the camera I love it. I have three lens others are on oder so the only one I can comment on is the 28-135IS and its a quality lens. very fast, and gives super pics for a general all around walking lens. All I can say is if you were putting it off wait no more. Buy it.!!!! and in HK it is damn cheap.